We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic, ok for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Altstadthotel Grauer Wolf
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Erlangen
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Pros: Location - easy to walk everywhere. Check in was easy.

Cons: The rooms are very basic - I am a single traveller but paid a bit more for a double room, but even then my room was very small and basic. Think 1980s university dorm room complete with Ikea lamps. Very dated bathroom with some mould on the corners and dusty radiators. Old style TV with no Engliah channels.

No curtains in the rooms, or rtaher the curtains are so narrow they do not cover the window so not sure of the point of them

Also note that the hotel is close to a church so the bells start ringing at 6am (I think) and then every quarter past the hour

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitts123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klanghammer, General Manager at Altstadthotel Grauer Wolf, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Hello Sir,

thank you for your feedback.
It is true, we have different standards in our rooms.
There are Economy, which are small and undernaeth the roof.
The Standard ones, which are located in the main building.
They have a middle size of 12 till 20 sqm and basicly equipped.
There is one thing I need to correct:
We do have curtains in every room, but they are just for decoration. There are also roller blinds in every room to dark them.
And the Comfort rooms, which are already been refurbished and very large.

We are a family owned hotel and we try to refurbish everything as fast as we can.

I regret that there was mould and dusk in the bathroom. Some of our bathrooms are old, but usually aerations are been vacuum cleaned and we change the silicone gaps when we reconize it needs to be done.

And the bell of our historical city church is really loud, when I was testing some of our hotel rooms it was waking me up, too.

But this is something we can´t change!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed here for one night for business. Location is very good. Service was very friendly. So why still a poor? First, the single bed: never like it. Plus the pillow was terrible. Second, the curtains were not wide enough to blind the entire window. Third, the shower could not be positioned as the shower head holder was defective. Fourth, came back quarter past twelve and the keycard did not work. Turned out I got an old one that they should have thrown away. Took about ten minutes though for someone to come and open the door. Fifth, the restaurant was not open. Plenty of restaurants in the direct area but still... So all in all not a place I would return to.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeKokkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed here for a complete week while visiting/working at the Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg. Was recommended by to stay in the city center as it was close to shops, restaurants and along a bus route direct to the university (approx. 20mins by bus).
Was happy with the stay and had no major problems to speak of. The room was in the converted(?) building across the courtyard and was clean and spacious. Continental breakfast in the morning was also very nice and there was a large choice.
Some of the minor issues I had were that I wasn't told that the reception and front door was completely closed at 10pm, so arriving back after 10pm on my first night I was a bit panicked to find it shut and there was no answer from the emergency contact phone for about 1hr. I was finally informed that I could gain access to the hotel using a code or keycard (which I hadn't been provided with at check-in) or using my room key to unlock the main door to the second building from the street behind the hotel (again I was never told at check-in). Also, I was staying at the hotel during very warm weather and unfortunately there was no air-conditioning and the refrigerator in the room didn't work.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Stayed there during Nuremberg toy fair this February. It's obviously not the best hotel ever but not a bad one at all. The rooms (at least some of them) are rather spacious and the ones we stayed in had a kitchenette. The furniture is a bit outdated but rather than that rooms are OK and pretty clean.
Breakfast is great. Good choice of anything you might want and everything is very fresh.
The restaurant in there is also good, nice menu, nice food.
The hotel itself is very conveniently located, everything in Erlangen is within your reach and you can easily get to any other town nearby by a short ride from train station.
Probably the only inconvenience I can think of is a small church nearby. Every morning and especially on Sundays their bells ring very loud. Seems like over your head almost. So in case you like to sleep a bit longer that might be a problem for you.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lailonniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

The other reviews on this site (in German) scared me a bit, but the hotel really isn't so bad.

The Pros:
The location is excellent; virtually everything in Erlangen is within walking distance.
The rooms are clean and reasonably spacious.
Breakfast is above average, with various cold choices, including the standard rolls and cheese, but also smoked fish, various yoghurts, and fresh fruit. It doesn't change from day to day, however, so after a while it gets a bit boring.
Wireless internet is free and works without any problems whatsoever.
The staff is cordial and helpful.

The Cons:
The beds are laughably uncomfortable. Even though I was a solo traveler, I was put in a room with two single beds that could hardly have been three feet across.
The walls are very thin. You can hear everything on the street and in the inner courtyard, and at times the noise woke me up in the middle of the night. One time, some kind of alarm went off at 4:30 in the morning, and didn't stop until after 6. People stay out late in Erlangen, so be prepared to hear some drunken carousers.
The hotel, including the front desk, closes at 10 P.M. You can still get in with your key, but I'm not even sure of what you're supposed to do if there's an emergency.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrGoldin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank roy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meeuw_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erlangen hotels
0.8 mi away
NH Erlangen
NH Erlangen
#1 of 36 in Erlangen
398 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Erlangen
Novotel Erlangen
#4 of 36 in Erlangen
483 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zeitwohnhaus Suite Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Boutique Hotel Villa Soy
Boutique Hotel Villa Soy
#34 of 36 in Erlangen
64 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Erlangen
Quality Hotel Erlangen
#24 of 36 in Erlangen
125 reviews
0.9 mi away
Creativhotel Luise
Creativhotel Luise
#5 of 36 in Erlangen
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altstadthotel Grauer Wolf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altstadthotel Grauer Wolf

Address: Hauptstrasse 80, 91054 Erlangen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Erlangen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Erlangen
Price Range: £65 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Altstadthotel Grauer Wolf 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Grauer Wolf has best location of Erlangen's historical city center. The hotel offers 43 comfortable single to triple rooms. We can place many of the rooms extra beds or cots. There are 10 own paid car parking in the courtyard. Public parking, such as "Fuchsenwiese" or theatre square are within walking distance. An extensive breakfast buffet is daily. We also prepare breakfast for food intolerances, please let us know before arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Altstadthotel Grauer Wolf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing