We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place to eat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpenrose am See

Alpenrose am See
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, International, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was a very good restaurant. We were looking for a more upscale restaurant and this fit our needs perfectly. The food was very good wait staff very friendly and attentive. I found the food and wine selections nice and had a very pleasant evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rl1926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    73
    21
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
132 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Restaurant has a nice view on alp lake. Located between 2 famous castles. Food was excellent portions were small in big and modern plates. Worth to have a lunch after visiting the castles.

Helpful?
Thank csancak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food and an amazing view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

My family and I stumbled across Alpenrose am See after our hike up to Neuschwanstein. It was almost 3pm when we were looking for a place for lunch and a lot of the restaurants in the area were closed.

The dining experience was great; the waiters were attentive, the view of the lake was stunning and the wait for food was short. The potato soup is one of the best I have ever had, highly recommend it. The beef ravioli was also quite good.

Helpful?
Thank JessicaW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livorno, Italy
Level Contributor
301 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Too expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

The position is unbeatable, with view on the Hohenschwangay castle and lake. But we had to wait very long to have our meal served (and the place was not full). When we got the bill, we could not believe it was so expensive, and since it was not detailed (just the total) we asked the waiter if maybe there was a mistake, but there wasn't: simply, food was reasonably priced, while drinks and desserts (cokes, coffees, mineral water... ) were very expensive.
I would not recomment this place: better to buy a sandwich and eat it close to the lake.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
1,217 reviews
799 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,678 helpful votes
“A Nice Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We visited this restaurant while waiting on a tour of Neuschwanstein Castle. The service was attentive and the food was very good. We elected to eat outside on a patio area overlooking a beautiful lake. Based on my initial experience at this restaurant, I would be inclined to return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CJTravelerTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alpenrose am See also viewed

 

Been to Alpenrose am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing