We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location but .....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Romantic Pension Albrecht
Reviewed 18 June 2011

in need of a good tidy up and clean. Our bathroom wasn't as clean as it could be, the shower was broken and the towels were very thin. The small verandah was very unsafe looking & we daren't stand on it together. Breakfast was very nice but overall wouldn't recommend staying here unless you have no other option.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onahau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2011

My husband and I stayed here 5-6 years ago and were pleasantly pleased. Although, dated, it was clean and the upkeep was good - great value for our money. We returned this past April with friends and were shocked at the difference 5-6 years can make.

Filthy bathroom and the entire pension was very run down (the balconies were not safe!). We had to air out our rooms as they smelled extremly musty. Breakfast was not fresh. Way too expensive for what the place has become. On the upside, the host was still very pleasant and of course, the location perfect. But the positives are not not strong enough to validate a return visit.

We do not require fancy or modern decor - but I do insist on clean and good-value. Unfortunately we received neither.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghresort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

My husband and I just got back from a trip to Germany and Austria. We stayed at the Romantic Pension Albrecht for one night before touring the Castles Hohenschwangau and Neuschwanstein. Initially we thought we could save some money by staying here, but in retrospect, we wished we had spent our money on a nicer place.

PROS:
-inexpensive - we paid 70 euros for one night with double bed and breakfast
-close to all the action - a 5 minute walk to the ticket booth for entrance to the castles
-quiet
-decent breakfast, laid out for us before we arrived to eat
-free parking

CONS:
-late check in
-the hallway leading to our room smelled moldy
-the bathroom was horrible and looked like it hadn't been truly cleaned in quite some time:
-other people's hairs all over the place
-a moldy shower curtain
-a dirty floor
-dirty drinking cups(!)
-no amenities to speak of (thank goodness we brought our own soap and shampoo)
-tiny bathroom towels

We were too grossed out to enjoy the fact that this was a cheaper place to stay than most of the other hotels in the region. We were happy to leave.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandavds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

I have sayed in lots of really nice hotels and some awful ones. This is a simple "pension" in a small town that's famous because of its castles. So, if you know what you're getting then I think you'll be happy with this choice. The rate was good, the staff friendly, the location ideal. The room was simple but clean and we had a fantastic view of Mad King Ludwig's folly right out the window! Breakfast was nice and the breakfast room was filled with cheerful visitors. Would I stay here again? Sure! You get what you're paying for!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASASG_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

Clean, Quiet, Nice, Cheap Hostel, with nice breakfast & friendly owner....

Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
1  Thank Muliadi26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

Our room was nice and clean. We had a lovely castle view from balcony.
The breakfast was good with a selection of cheese, ham, eggs and yoghurt. We didn't have any communication problems with the owner, although we read earlier her English was not very good.
Great location as well with short walking distance to the castles and restaurants.
Note that you can't check in before 5.30pm.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magdared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2009

We just stayed there last night and very disapointed! first of all there is no shampoo provided, not hairdryer. when we asked the owner to give us the hairdryer she said that she has only one and it is taken by guests in room 1 and WE have to go and ask them to give it. okay, we took it. then I asked for shampoo she said that she doesn't have it and looked very annoyed. fine, we turned on the TV and guess... it doesn't show any channels, in both our rooms. Shower was broken and very flow was very slow. Breakfast was very poor, just glass of orange juice, few slices of ham, one egg each and bread. Do not expect to find cereals. and finally when we came down to pay for our stay the land lady just wrote number to pay for our rooms and gone away so we had to leave money and leave without any goodbye. Me and my wife travel a lot and so far this is the worst place we ever stayed in. Do not ruin your stay, we were lucky to stay there for one night only.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xfolder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hohenschwangau
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mueller
Hotel Mueller
#2 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
700 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenstuben
Hotel Alpenstuben
#3 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
420 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Hotel Villa Ludwig
#1 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Hanselewirt
Hotel Hanselewirt
#11 of 16 in Schwangau
122 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 41 in Fussen
1,662 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Waldmann
Hotel Waldmann
#5 of 16 in Schwangau
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantic Pension Albrecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantic Pension Albrecht

Address: Pfleger-Rothut-Weg 2, 87645 Hohenschwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Hohenschwangau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hohenschwangau
Price Range: £59 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Romantic Pension Albrecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantic Pension Albrecht Hotel Hohenschwangau
Romantic Pension Albrecht Hohenschwangau, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing