We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel; Dreadful Staff”
Review of Schlosshotel Lisl

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Schlosshotel Lisl
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Hohenschwangau
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Hotel; Dreadful Staff”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

On a cycling holiday, we had stayed at 3 really fantastic family-run pension-type hotels in Bavaria: in Lenggries, Kochel and Garmisch. Then we came to Hohenschwangau: touristy ++++: buses, campervans, and huge queues for both castles. However, worst was the spectacularly indifferent welcome we received from the Hotel Lisl and Jagerhof: quite offhand, and such a disappointment after our first experiences of Bavarian hospitality. We don't expect much, but here there was no interest, no pleasantries, no smiles from either receptionists or waiting staff. Nice rooms in the Jagerhof annexe over the road from the main hotel. Reception staff bordering on rude. Waitress in the breakfast restaurant just tired, and not really interested in the job. The rooms were kept clean and tidy, so the housekeeping staff was efficient. If the front-of-house staff matched the location and room quality, this would be a first rate hotel: it isn't, or certainly consistently wasn't when we were there in August 2013.

Room Tip: Jagerhof Annexe: we paid extra and stayed there and our 3 boys had a fantastic corner room with view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Porteye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    58
    16
    7
    7
See reviews for
22
68
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We ended our week long tour to Hohenschwangau and a visit to The Neuschwanstein castle.

The hotel was very well located and very nice - a bit busy and the parking was not the greatest (the bus stop to the Neuschwanstein castle was next to the hotel) and there was no parking available right next door. Also the big tourist group busses blocked the front of the hotel, so we were not even able to unload our bags there - we had to hall them up the hill from the parking lot.

The room was nice. No AC, which was a bit of a problem on a hot summer day. Luckily the night got much cooler, so we got a good nights sleep.

Our room was large and the attached bath room was VERY grand. The room was dominated by a GIGANTIC WOODEN TUB!!! and even the shower cubicle floor was wooden! I have to say this was the most unique bath room I had seen :)

The breakfast was great and served for several hour (we went and purchased our tickets to the castle first thing in the morning and had our breakfast afterwards. The breakfast was GREAT. lots of different things to choose from and they even prepared an omelette (with your choise of fillings). The hotel parking permit covers parking for the next day (during the visit to the castle) so we didn't have to look for alternative parking, or pay for it separately.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miranna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We loved the charm of this place. We stayed for 2 nights in August in two double rooms, numbers 10 and 11. There was a big difference between the two rooms. Number 10, the corner room, was quite large, and you could see both the castles from the windows. Number 11 had a somewhat outdated bathroom with no shower screen, and was significantly smaller with a CRT TV. I think we were lucky and got both rooms for the cheaper room rate, but it would definitely be worth paying the bit extra to get the corner room. My rating for this review is based on having had that room. The 'Nuts and Bolts' - Breakfast is not included and is 14 Euro per person. We chose to go to Fussen and get supplies from Aldi instead (5 mins drive). Parking was free and at a nearby car park. Their restaurant shuts around 6:30pm, but there are other options nearby. The location is fantastic! You can walk up to both castles from this hotel. On that note, I'd advise that you line up at the ticket office by around 8:30am as you can only buy tickets for that day, not advance days. We found the reception staff at the hotel to be very informative and accommodating. The beds were soft. The towels were very good. No air conditioning, but it wasn't needed. Just open the window at the top and shut the shutters, which allows airflow. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandbmilner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We were booked in here by our travel agency on a cycling tour, not out of interest for the fairy tale castles. If you are interested in those, the location and view from room and breakfast parlour are excellent. If not, Fuessen is much more interesting, and less of a tourist hell. A redeeming feature of Hohenschwangau was the beautiful Alpsee, with nice bathing opportunities.
Our room was quite dated and a bit stuffy, the bathroom small. WiFi wasn't working that day. Breakfast however was nice, and in a lovely room. Restaurant closes at 18.30...
However, the staff was absolutely brilliant in solving the problem with our luggage transport service. Very helpful, accommodating, resourceful and capable. They located the missing luggage, phoned the people responsible, and stayed on the ball until the luggage arrived. That absolutely saved the day for us!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coffeecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
97 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I stayed one night at Schlosshotel Lisl, on the occasion of my visit to the Neuschwanstein castle. Hotel guests are provided a parking permit for the parking lot that is just 50 metres away, so I left my motorcycle there. The bus stop to the castle is right in front of the hotel. (Prepare for long lines, though. It may be faster just to walk up the hill.)

My room was spacious and clean, and there was plenty of space to put my things in the bathroom. There was one impractical design choice which was very annoying: the liquid soap dispenser was mounted on the bathroom wall one meter away from the washbasin, and the bathroom door had to be closed in order to reach it.

This hotel provided a convenient place to stay overnight while in Hohenschwangau, but there were a few annoying things that made my stay not so great. Internet connection was available for extra charge only. The lights were not on in the corridor in the evening, and it was very dark there, making it difficult to find the room door and the keyhole. The hotel's restaurant got closed quite early in the evening, and I did not have a chance to have a dinner. (I did not try the breakfast either, which was available for an extra charge.)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackXJ6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed there for a day in early June. Out of the blue, we decided to stay overnight after seeing the castles, but didn't have a hotel reservation. We stopped in to this hotel, and the front desk person was very helpful....she spoke perfect English, and helped us get a very nice room. The rate was really reasonable, and we felt the room was absolutely incredible. We just got through visiting London and Paris, and this hotel room was 3 times the size of the ones there. We were a very short distance from the castles, and the view from our room was spectacular. We could see one castle in one window and the other castle in the other window. Amazing!!

The bathroom was very modern, with an amazing tub. I took a bath while looking at the castles out the windows, all lit up at night. The bed was very comfortable and we slept great. We woke early to the castles draped in fog, which made the stay all the more incredible. A must stay at hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to stay at the Jagerhouse for the view and spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_S33324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

can't say enough about the lodging, location and staff - wonderful in every way. the beauty of the area is world renowned. the hotel is in the valley below the Neuschwanstein castle and just in front of Hohenschwangau castle. both walkable from the hotel, both dramatic and totally worth experiencing. we stayed in the Villa Jägerhaus portion of the hotel, which is just across the street from the main building. we had a junior suite with a castle view that was replete with sitting area and an over-the-top ornate bathroom. charming decor, soft comforter, chocolates at turn down, great food in the hotel restaurant, very capable and friendly staff. I recall that we even received an upgrade without asking. the train station in Fussen (also a great town) is a short taxi ride. will no doubt book here again when the time comes. winter-time splendor!

Room Tip: I recall that we had room 41, a junior suite with a view of the top of Neuschwanstein castle - prett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiaOraDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hohenschwangau
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mueller
Hotel Mueller
#2 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Hotel Villa Ludwig
#1 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenstuben
Hotel Alpenstuben
#3 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein
Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein
#4 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garni Schlossblick
Hotel Garni Schlossblick
#5 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#3 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schlosshotel Lisl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlosshotel Lisl

Property: Schlosshotel Lisl
Address: Neuschwansteinstrasse 1-3, 87645 Hohenschwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Hohenschwangau
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Hohenschwangau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Schlosshotel Lisl 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Schlosshotel Lisl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlosshotel Lisl Hohenschwangau, Germany - Bavaria
Schlosshotel Lisl Hotel Hohenschwangau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing