We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for Castle, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Hohenschwangau
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good location for Castle, but...”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Very Good location for the Castle, but.... would only recommend these accommodations for one night only. We had a room with an in-suite bathroom, but we were unfortunately right across the hall from communal bathrooms/shower and walls were very thin= very noisy. Everything shuts down after 5pm. No food/drinks available and if you miss that small window for dinner you have to drive into town for a meal. I liked how we received a coupon when we checked in for a discount entrance into the castle-which is within a short walk up the hill. This meant that in the morning we just walked up the hill to the castle and got right in for a tour and we didn't have to wait in the long lines down at the bottom of the mountain "in town" for tickets. This saves you a great deal of time during your stay and is very convenient for guests. The Neuschwanstein castle is AMAZING and the tour is highly recommended. This is by far the most interesting & best preserved German castle we have visited.

Room Tip: Request room away from the communal bathroom & showers... very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luxpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    95
    42
    11
    10
See reviews for
67
119
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Long branch, NJ
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The advantage of this hotel is that it is within 150 meters of the castle entrance....the next closest hotwl is at the bottom of the hill...a mile away. It does save you from taking the horse and buggy up the hill or walking it. We had a car so it was easy to drive up the hill( you get a pass that allows you to do so because no other cars are allowed uo the hill) The drawback is that you need to buy you tickets at the bottom of the hill so do that first before you drive up to the hotel. In the winter the hours are very limited for viewing the castle and because of that the free breakfast is not served until 9am and only for an hour. Thje resturant has great foos but closes at 5pm during the winter! The rooms were okay...make sure to ask for a room with a bathroom in it!!! Our room had a very comfortanle bed and a sitting room ( room #2) ..our travel oartners had room #11 and the showere was in the room with the bed and the bathroom was in a clost in the room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taj4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

There are ups and downs to staying at this hotel. The downs are that they only serve food between 9 am and 5 pm and after 5 pm, everything is shut down! I'm not even sure there was any staff at the hotel after the restaurant portion shut down. This means that there's not really anything to do in the evening and you need to eat dinner before they close or drive down into town. The ups outweighed these factors for us though. Since we were there to visit the castle, we were able to drive up the long steep road and park at the restaurant. Then, it was only a very short walk up to the castle from there. It was also convenient to walk back up to the castle area at night to take photos of the castle. If you do stay here, be sure to purchase your tickets before driving up to the restaurant as tickets are only sold at the visitor center in town! You do get a 10% discount off tickets for staying at the restaurant, but its not worth having to drive up and down the road avoiding tourists and horse-drawn carriages just to get tickets. I would not recommend staying for more than one night.

Room Tip: Book a room which includes a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIAMI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed here 1 night. The walls are paper thin !! We asked for a private room but our room was in front of the shared bathrooms and showers!!! We couldn't sleep and could hear everyone in the hallway!! Ask x a room away from the shared bathroom!! Service was good!! Food great!! After 5pm you are in your own, no one will b there to assist you.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JUICELLA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night during our trip to Germany, and overall we enjoyed our experience. I should note that we were backpacking during our trip with no car and it's a steep walk up for nearly a mile with a heavy bag, for anyone in a similar situation. However, it is SUPER close to the castle! We showed up at a busy time, but were helped and shown to our room quickly. I think we were in room 3 (whichever one is the Linderhof room), and really the only noise we heard were people going to/from the shared bathrooms across the hallway. We had private facilities, which were sufficient although the shower was tiny. We had standard German fare for lunch, and tried the quattro formaggi pizza for dinner which wasn't what I was used to in the states - they put the cheeses in their own sections, vs. mixing them altogether.

We followed the advice of another reviewer and didn't get our castle tickets at the bottom; we got the discount voucher from the inn and went to the info desk at the castle which was super easy.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I was taught that unless I had nothing nice to say, not to say it at all, but in this case, I will make an exception. I never stayed at this hotel. We arrived at 18:15, exactly 15 minutes after the check-in time of 18:00. No one answered the 'night bell', and no one answered the phone, despite our numerous attempts to reach someone. We had been in a (thankfully minor) car accident, gotten lost, and frankly it was a miracle we were only 15 minutes late. We were charged the 48euro no-show/cancellation fee despite the fact that we were 15 minutes late. Not a soul to be found to help us. What an incredible disappointment and poor showing in hospitality management. Major disappointment. Don't stay here if you think you may be even a minute past 18:00 in arriving, or you'll be out of luck.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fourturtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed one night to visit the castle. Couldn't have asked for a better location, as you can drive up the hill to the restaurant (if you're staying there), and then it's a 5-7 minute walk up to the castle. We were even able to walk up there at night. The hotel room was small, with the shower and sink in the bedroom, and the toilet in a small closet type room, but it was clean and we slept comfortably. Breakfast was okay, nothing great. Also, the restaurant closes at six, so you need to check in before then as the waiters check you in. Once there, you get a key to come and go as you please.

Room Tip: Only three of the rooms have on suite facilities. The rest are shared.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastwestUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hohenschwangau
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mueller
Hotel Mueller
#2 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
655 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Hotel Villa Ludwig
#1 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
427 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenstuben
Hotel Alpenstuben
#3 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garni Schlossblick
Hotel Garni Schlossblick
#5 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
238 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 40 in Fussen
1,579 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#3 of 40 in Fussen
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein

Property: Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein
Address: Neuschwansteinstr. 17, 87645 Hohenschwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Hohenschwangau
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Hohenschwangau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein Hotel Hohenschwangau
Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein Hohenschwangau, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing