We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, neat and friendly!”
Review of Garagen-Hotel

Garagen-Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garagen-Hotel
Ranked #277 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice, neat and friendly!”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

It was a bit hard to find as the hotel is tucked in behind a car dealership. The staff were SUPER friendly and helpful and the rooms were very neat and tidy. Bathrooms are on the small side, but they are clean and serve their purpose! There is some parking available for guests but the underground station is right out the front! Very close to the Oktoberfest grounds if you are looking for somewhere to stagger home too!!! There is no lift so be aware if you have alot of bags you will be carrying them up a few flights of stairs.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melly_web
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    9
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
7
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
JKMillerInc
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

First, one should remember that 'you get what you pay for'. We were desperate to find a room during Oktoberfest, and because the room rates in Munich were at least double the normal, we were forced to book this hotel. We would have NEVER booked such a hotel if it weren't for our budget constraints.
That being said...
The hotel is located in an odd little area of town, away from any sort of tourist-centric places, and tucked behind a Saab dealership. I mean, one must literally walk between cars to get to the hotel's door!
The hotel itself is dark and somber, almost clinical in feel. Our room was stark white and beige, with hardly any comfort. Bed springs poked at us in the middle of the night and the pillows were falling apart. The room was, however, clean and quiet.
This is really just a place to crash on a budget.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JKMillerInc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, all the staff were very friendly (especially the lady who served breakfast). 2 minute walk to the metro. Rooms are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldmate03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2010

This hotel is clean and comfortable, and is in an excellent location for visiting the city. It's about 50m from the Goetheplatz U-bahn and has a free garage.
Our room was on the small side, but the bed was comfortable and the shower was powerful.
Breakfast lacked variety, but the rolls were fresh and there was plenty of it.
The owner was very friendly and her dog Wiki came and watched us have breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dolomite_Daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

The garagen hotel is a nice place to stay. The people were friendly and helpful enough, the breakfast was adequate and the rooms were not bad. If you are a traveller looking for a reliable hotel near the oktoberfest ground then this is the perfect place. The garagen is about 3 blocks from the festivities, but not so close that you have noise issues. If you are looking to visit other sites in Munich then there is an underground station right on the corner and very convenient. The prices for this place were much lower than what we found at other conveniently located hotels for the oktoberfest.

A few other notes, the bathrooms were very new and well done, but he pillows were not very nice. We were with a group and all three rooms were comparable. I don't like the german tradition of two single beds pushed together in a "double" room but it is like this all over germany.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Djibrilduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Herzog
Hotel Herzog
#148 of 383 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bold Hotel Munich Center
Bold Hotel Munich Center
#84 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Andra Muenchen Hotel
Andra Muenchen Hotel
#112 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mons am Gotheplatz
Hotel Mons am Gotheplatz
#358 of 383 in Munich
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Brack
Hotel Brack
#49 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Pension Schmellergarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garagen-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garagen-Hotel

Property: Garagen-Hotel
Address: Lindwurmstrasse 24, 80337 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #277 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Garagen-Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Garagen-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing