We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast was excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Deutsches Theater Stadtmitte
Ranked #342 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Breakfast was excellent!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed in this hotel for two nights. We had a room at the very top of the hotelm, it looked like an attic. The elevator only goes to the fourth floor, so we had to go up the stairs afterwards, whcih was fine. It was comfortable, but no double bed. They had two single beds joined together. The room was clena, but the carpet by the entrance was wet.... We never figured out why.
The staff was very friendly. Internet is available in one computer at the lobby, but is extremely slow.
Location is very convenient, we found a laundrymat nearby too.

Room Tip: Don't book rooms in the attic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liliana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    41
    37
    27
    16
See reviews for
49
25
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

The main issue I have with this hotel is that it advertises itself as a four star hotel. It's not. It lacks the basic services to call itself a three-star hotel, let alone four.

Specifically, reception closes at midnight. When I booked on Holiday City, I was asked to state what time I would arrive, yet I was given no warning about this. So I arrive off the train at 1am to find a note on the door telling me to go to a different hotel and get my key. My taxi from the station has already gone, so I am standing in the street of an unfamiliar city at 1am with my luggage and no idea where this second hotel is or how to get to it (the receptionist left an address but no map or directions.) Fortunately a taxi appears soon and knows how to get to the address given. 10 minutes later, key in hand, I go in through the night door...and discover that the elevators are in the closed part of the hotel. My gym instructors will be very impressed that I managed to get my 25kg suitcase and other luggage up four flights of stairs on my own.

So then I get out my computer and attempt to send a document that is due urgently. I had checked the website and confirmed that the hotel had internet, but I couldn't see any sign of it in my room. No LAN cable, no instructions on how to set up wifi. No reception to ask for help, no instructions on how to dial out on the phone to ask the other hotel's reception for help. I had to get in a taxi, carrying a flash drive with my document, and go back to the second hotel. The night receptionist could not give me instructions for the wifi OR find a computer that would allow me to send my file, and got defensive with me when I complained. Had I known that this would be the case I would have made alternative arrangements, but the hotel's website had led me to believe that I would be able to use internet in my room. That's what bothers me. Same with the reception/elevators closing: had I booked expecting a 2-star hotel, it would have been different, but this hotel advertises itself on several websites as a four-star hotel. Round-the-clock assistance is a staple feature of a THREE-star hotel, let alone a four-star one.

In the end, it was the taxi driver who helped me, by recommending another hotel. Initially he thought I was just comparing Germany to my own country...he quickly changed his mind after he saw the place. When I returned my key, the morning receptionist was polite and the man from the second hotel had obviously filled her in on my situation.

I was in the room for five minutes tops, but from what I saw it was spacious but shabby.

To summarise, it wasn't the hotel's practices themselves that bothered me, it was the fact that I was promised things that were not delivered:
*Four-star service: If you have big chunks of time when nobody is available to help your guests, you are not a four-star hotel. If your guests have no access to an elevator - even for part of the day - you are not a four-star hotel.
*I was not warned that reception would be closed, even though I specifically stated on the booking form that I would arrive at 1am.
*Internet: the hotel's website stated that it would be available, yet I had no access to it, which could have had serious consequences for me. As I said, I would have happily made alternative arrangements if I had been given the whole truth.

By the way, the Westin Grand Munich Arabellapark took me at 2am and were excellent for the entire duration of my stay. It was more expensive than I had planned to pay, but it was much better value for money than the €100 per night I was going to be charged at Hotel Deutsches Theater.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kiwimusume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

I chose this hotel because it is in walking distance of the main train station and terribly convenient. The building is located in a very seedy street, but it is a gracious old hotel. The staff couldn't be more delightful and helpful and the room we had was incredibly generous in size. Didn't eat there. The proximity to a busy street would make it too noisy to leave the windows open. Marienplatz is about 15 mins walk away and there are many lovely places to eat along that route. Very handy to all public transport. About a 70 euro cab trip to the airport.

Room Tip: Just ask for a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AandBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
229 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

The location of this hotel is very good, but it is gennerally run down and the service leaves much to be desired.

I arrived early and waited a couple of minutes for Rehan, the young female receptionist to keep prattling on her cell phone in Turkish. She clearly had no intention of paying attention to me until I made my presence known. Then Rehan told me there was no room ready, which was fine, as it was early in the morning. She had me do the paperwork and said it was OK to leave the luggage. The only challenge is that they have no secure area for the luggage and the reception area is very small. I left the suitcase by her desk, and informed her that I would be coming back very late that day.

When I came back later that evening, the elderly gentleman was pulling double duty, tending to the bar and minding the reception area. After he was able to tear himself away from the bar, he was totally unable to find my room and booking. He was quite positive that the hotel was totally booked and there was no room for me, which totally baffled me, as I had made the reservation months ahead, and had checked in that morning, with my luggage sitting there in the lobby.

He kept trying to leave me there so he could go and attend to his bar customers. I was finally able to convince him to look really hard, and he found my room. The room was at the top floor, which meant I had to carry the suitcase up a flight of stairs through rather desolate hallways. The room was very basic. The hotel would really benefit from a major renovation. There are much better hotels in the same area, so I would choose another one.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasmineMarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2011

We found this hotel on TripAdvisor and I have to say I really appreciate all the reviews. We loved this hotel. The older gentleman who was the night clerk was extremely helpful. We stayed on the 5th floor so we had to take the elevator to the 4th floor and walk up one flight of steps - not a big deal. The room was neat and clean. It viewed the main street and with the snow falling it was beautiful. I have already recommended this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tillmanism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights in July and we were pleased with the services it provide.

The location was almost perfect. We were able to walk to all major sights in Munich during our stay (except the Olympic Stadium and the Schloss Nymphenburg; there is a metro station and a tram station very close to the hotel). Although the area at nights made us sometimes feel not so safe to walk through...

The room and the bathroom were spacious enough and very clean. We liked the breakfast ( we felt that nothing was missing).

Upon our arrival at the reception desk there was a young woman. She wasn't friendly or professional at all. Didn't even informed us about the hours the breakfast was served.. But the older man in the afternoon was great. He was very helpful with everything we asked.

The only things we didn't like: were the constructions taking place just outside the hotel and the fact that the reception closes at night so you have to get in with your own key from a door at the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellethwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

We stayed in this hotel for two nights in December. We were very happy with the value for money. We were in a five bed room that backed on to the scaffolding mentioned in a previous review. There was no work being carried out while we were there. Otherwise, I could imagine it would be quite noisy in addition to a lack of privacy. We had almost no noise at all because we faced the "under renovation theatre in the back of the building".

The room was spacious compared to other similar set ups we experienced. The toilet was smelly with that urine in the grout type of smell. The toilet was slightly removed from the beds, so it was only an issue when we were in there. The sheets were clean and everything else was fine. It was very convenient and we would stay there again. One point to keep in mind, there is no wifi. This is a bit of a pain. Also, no bar fridge. But, value for money was terrific. The service was not very friendly, but the girl allowed a slightly late check out to fit in with our plans. They were quite flexible. You can eat breakfast in the cafe downstairs. We chose to take care of our own breakfast. Oh, and the lift is tiny and fits on three people in at a time....fine for short trips.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Deutsches Theater
Hotel Deutsches Theater
#271 of 382 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Praesident
Hotel Praesident
#124 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Wallis
Hotel Wallis
#199 of 382 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#49 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cocoon Stachus
Cocoon Stachus
#48 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Demas City
Hotel Demas City
#159 of 382 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deutsches Theater Stadtmitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deutsches Theater Stadtmitte

Property: Hotel Deutsches Theater Stadtmitte
Address: Schwanthalerstr. 15, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #342 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Deutsches Theater Stadtmitte 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Deutsches Theater Stadtmitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing