We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Deutsches Theater Stadtmitte
Ranked #338 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value for price”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

The hotel is pretty basic in its offering, however the staff was friendly, breakfast was good and the rooms clean. The construction site nearby did not disturb our stay.

Overall a good value for 58 euros per night.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrei_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    42
    37
    27
    16
See reviews for
49
26
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We didnt like being woken up at 7.00am due to workers working on scafolding directly outside of our window. The girls on reception were more interested in talking to each other, than checking us in. But the old nightman was very friendly. The shower screen and floor was all cracked and broken. would not recomend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

It is very well located, but prices do not even include even wifi. Luckily had an offer for 45 Euros/night which is correct for the room and the hotel. It is just a place to overnight. If you have chargers to plug it might be an issue: only 1 plug in the room. Must switch off others.
Bathroom is small, and shower is very mini even for a petite person (I could not even turn around).

It is acceptable because it was a "special" deal (when i look at their actual prices) but certainly not worth more than 45 Euros a night for a single. My concern is more on their pricing policy. I did check various dates and did not find any correlation: so called 80% discount announcing Euros 770 discounted into Euros 110!!! So would recommend to check and re-cross-check on various sites at least. 45 Euros is just ok. Don't pay more, certainly not 770 for 2 nights!!

The best of this hotel is the location: 5 mins. walking from railway station.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sultanetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We stayed at the hotel with 2 young children and found that although they had a high chair for breakfast and a cot for our little one, the hotel was not family friendly for the following reasons:
*we had to keep the windows shut at night due to accessible scaffolding outside the entire rear of the hotel and outside each window.
*You had to use stairs to enter the hotel and then more stairs to move from the reception to anywhere else.
*The lift would not fit our buggy in and we were up 2 flights of stairs
*The bathroom had a raised shower (no bath) with just a curtain, not enclosed.
*It was in a street lined with 'adult' bars and strip joints
*The elderly man on reception rolled his eyes, glared and tutted on a number of occasions when my children were in the reception area talking as we waited to leave etc.

We were treated very badly upon checking out as the man on the desk all but accused us of trying to leave without paying for breakfast even though we were standing there expecting to pay for it then. He was rude when we dared to comment to him that breakfast had almost run out that morning.

We were not told when we made the reservation that the outside was under rennovation and would be covered in scaffolding.

The hotel's location was fairly central with easy access to stations and Marrionplatz but I would certainly not return with children or without them due to the attitaude of some staff members.

Room Tip: Ask for one without scaffolding access outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012 via mobile

Cool, almost unfriendly Staff, certainly not children welcoming. Breakfast ran out an hour before it should have finished on 2 of our 3 nights and we were told it was up to the Staff not the guests what they offered for breakfast. Good location but there must be better hotels close by

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

The Opera house has been under renovations for years and there is no reason to believe that the noise will stop any time soon.
Every concrete truckl has a beeper and it starts very early in the morning.
Parking anywhere close is non-existent and the traffic cones makes it worse.

For the same location, rather book into Best Western Cristal Hotel across the street. Same price, a few hundred meter away from the noise, more modern, more spacious & closer to the station.

Reception is unfriendly and not helpful at all. The hotel spends thousands of Euros in advertising - to have it wiped out by the sour face of the aged male attendant that makes milk sour by looking at it!

Breakfast staff is friendly and efficient.
Breakfast is average.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deon-keyser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Room on street-side: sleep with your window closed. Otherwise use earplugs. This hotel is a very nice place, with nice staff and a big room. 300 meters from Karlszplatsz and central station. When I return to Munchen it will be at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank SusanPMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Deutsches Theater
Hotel Deutsches Theater
#289 of 383 in Munich
379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Wallis
Hotel Wallis
#223 of 383 in Munich
392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Demas City
Hotel Demas City
#162 of 383 in Munich
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cocoon Stachus
Cocoon Stachus
#48 of 383 in Munich
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#133 of 383 in Munich
610 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#215 of 383 in Munich
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deutsches Theater Stadtmitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deutsches Theater Stadtmitte

Property: Hotel Deutsches Theater Stadtmitte
Address: Schwanthalerstr. 15, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #338 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Deutsches Theater Stadtmitte 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Deutsches Theater Stadtmitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing