We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and Cheerful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlas City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Atlas City Hotel
Ranked #345 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cheap and Cheerful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Went away with a group of lads for the weekend. Hotel is basic but was fine for a base. Brekkie was ok and the free WiFi was a big help. Nothing to do here so it was simply a base for us whilst in Munich but it was cheap enough so no complaints in that respect.

Only negatives is the room did smell of smoke at check in (as most seem to do) and are not the biggest. Also they are very limited on English TV channels (but not their for TV so not really a problem). We paid 90e for 3 nights so overall it did exactly what we needed.

If your after cheap digs its just the job. If your after something a bit smarter then probably best to avoid but as they say "you get what you pay for", Don't expect 5 star for 90e !

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGingerPrince08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    132
    155
    74
    59
See reviews for
34
154
51
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 Nights here. It has seen better days. Just adequate. Room very basic. Maybe good if you are on a budget. However better value to be had with hotels. I love Munich and when I return I will not stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dublinbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

When I arrived I was a little concerned because of all the reviews about noise. My twin room was at the back of the hotel and I found noise not to be a problem at all.

The room was small and no-frills, but it was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was fine but the holder for the shower head was broken so I had to hold the shower head the whole time thus making showering quite annoying. There was a screen to keep the water from wetting the floor of the whole bathroom. There were plenty of towels and toilet paper.

For the money this hotel is good value. It's only a short walk from the central station and perfect if you need to set off early by train. I didn't try the breakfast so I can't comment on it.

I want to pick holes in this hotel as so many others have done, but I just can't find much to complain about. The rooms are basic and small so not really suitable for romantic couples, but for people needing a comfortable bed to sleep in at night it is ideal. Perfect for stag and hen parties.

Room Tip: When it is warm in the summer and you need to have the windows open at night, request a room at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank powermetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

this hotel is within walking distance of train station and sightseeing. , this hotel is well priced for a budget hotel therefore groups use it often. We had 10 rooms while over for the Arsenal game and at £60 for a double room including breakfast was pretty good. There were a few larger groups from other countries who were rather noisy, but when on holiday in a city dont think you can get such a thing as a quiet hotel. The rooms are very very small so be warned., we missed tea/coffee in room but there is a cafe next door.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fayrequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breisach am Rhein, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

The hotel is very clean and comfortable. the staff very friendly and helpful. the hotel is situated ten minutes walk from the main railway station and very convenient for most of munichs attractions.
Rooms are small but adequate. I was given a choice of smoking or non smoking rooms. Good free internet in all rooms
the main drawback to the hotel is lack of parking. although they have 120 rooms they only have parking for 4 cars. I was lucky and got one place and left the car there the whole time. easy to do everything I needed by foot.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a main road so rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolyonjamieson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

I spent three nights in this hotel. In the first room I got there was such a overwhelming smoking smell that I could not stay in it. Next room was very dirty with mold in the windows and the window mechanism was broken so you could only have it open(and there is a fire escape next to the window) or closed. The third room was OK but lacked normal convenience like a closet to keep your clothes. Breakfast was sub par with room temperature to cold sausage, three kinds of egg(none eatable). Overall a bad hotel that I cannot recommend to anybody especially at the price they charge when the Messa(trait fair) is in town.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beikon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

I spent 2 nights here with a friend at the beginning of Decemberwhilst we visited the Christmas markets. Although it is certainly not fancy, the hotel has everything you need and is great value. The location is superb, just a short walk from the Marienplatz. Our room was very clean, and although it was small it was pleasant enough.

The best thing for us was the staff, all of whom were very friendly and helpful. We spoke with a few of them about Munich and the weather and found them to be lovely.

All in all, if you're looking for a romantic weekend or a hotel in which you want to spend a lot of the, then spend a bit more money and go more upmarket. However, if you just want a comfortable and clean place to sleep then Atlas City is great.

Room Tip: If you need quiet to sleep, then ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#338 of 381 in Munich
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
#358 of 381 in Munich
3.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Westend
Hotel Westend
#270 of 381 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dolomit
Hotel Dolomit
#252 of 381 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Verdi
Hotel Verdi
#278 of 381 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlas City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas City Hotel

Property: Atlas City Hotel
Address: Paul-Heyse-Str. 18, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #345 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlas City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Atlas City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing