We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine but no frills”
Review of Atlas City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atlas City Hotel
Ranked #350 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 22 April 2013

This is a pretty basic hotel. Small everything, and not much in the way of home comforts... Put it like this, it's not the sort of hotel where you'll want to be hanging around relaxing in your room. If there were two of you, you'd probably have to take turns.

But it has lots of positives. Nice, friendly staff, good breakfast, decent showers & bathroom and a good location near the main station and Oktoberfest site. Not the most glitzy end of town, but there are some nice bars and restaurants to be found within a block or two.

Another big positive is that it has FREE Wifi, which based on previous experience, is practically illegal among German hoteliers.

I was there with a few other people. Some found it hard to sllep, as the hotel is on a mian road and the curtains are thin, but I dodn't have any problems myself.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel/not facing the street for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrissleight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 153 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2013

The location was the main selling feature of the hotel - it was only about a 5-10 minute walk to the main train station which is where all of the tours and day trips meet and start in the mornings. And about a 30 minute walk to the main city center. There is not much to see or do around the hotel and the room was quite small. Our tv didn't work but we did have free wifi which was nice. It was very basic but in a good enough location to allow you to get around to everything easily enough.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachBum093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Everybody knows that exhibitions are a kind of visitors hunting. But this is overeaching. Our travel agency located it (300 EUR/night), and they didn't hit. The only positive things to be said is that this hotel is nearby the railway station (and then downtown) and that the breakfast buffet could be worse. But the rooms were shabby, also the corridors. Frayed towels. Plateless cabinets, only a small drawer. Dust. Old, dirty, drilled, neglected walls (they were once white). Bath plate without insulation enough, and then flooded floor in the whole bathroom. No towels hanger. Sink not swallowing water enough. Small and loose chair. TV almost invisible from the bed (LCD in the same direction and close to the ceiling. Frightening lift (and almost unusable at rush hour). Uff, that was really bad.

Room Tip: A good room can't be found in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luis_de_Zaragoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Went away with a group of lads for the weekend. Hotel is basic but was fine for a base. Brekkie was ok and the free WiFi was a big help. Nothing to do here so it was simply a base for us whilst in Munich but it was cheap enough so no complaints in that respect.

Only negatives is the room did smell of smoke at check in (as most seem to do) and are not the biggest. Also they are very limited on English TV channels (but not their for TV so not really a problem). We paid 90e for 3 nights so overall it did exactly what we needed.

If your after cheap digs its just the job. If your after something a bit smarter then probably best to avoid but as they say "you get what you pay for", Don't expect 5 star for 90e !

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheGingerPrince08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 Nights here. It has seen better days. Just adequate. Room very basic. Maybe good if you are on a budget. However better value to be had with hotels. I love Munich and when I return I will not stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dublinbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

When I arrived I was a little concerned because of all the reviews about noise. My twin room was at the back of the hotel and I found noise not to be a problem at all.

The room was small and no-frills, but it was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was fine but the holder for the shower head was broken so I had to hold the shower head the whole time thus making showering quite annoying. There was a screen to keep the water from wetting the floor of the whole bathroom. There were plenty of towels and toilet paper.

For the money this hotel is good value. It's only a short walk from the central station and perfect if you need to set off early by train. I didn't try the breakfast so I can't comment on it.

I want to pick holes in this hotel as so many others have done, but I just can't find much to complain about. The rooms are basic and small so not really suitable for romantic couples, but for people needing a comfortable bed to sleep in at night it is ideal. Perfect for stag and hen parties.

Room Tip: When it is warm in the summer and you need to have the windows open at night, request a room at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank powermetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

this hotel is within walking distance of train station and sightseeing. , this hotel is well priced for a budget hotel therefore groups use it often. We had 10 rooms while over for the Arsenal game and at £60 for a double room including breakfast was pretty good. There were a few larger groups from other countries who were rather noisy, but when on holiday in a city dont think you can get such a thing as a quiet hotel. The rooms are very very small so be warned., we missed tea/coffee in room but there is a cafe next door.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fayrequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Westend
Hotel Westend
#278 of 385 in Munich
281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#352 of 385 in Munich
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
#363 of 385 in Munich
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-City
0.2 mi away
Litty's Hotel
Litty's Hotel
#259 of 385 in Munich
201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlas City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas City Hotel

Address: Paul-Heyse-Str. 18, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #350 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £48 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlas City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Atlas City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing