We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
Ranked #86 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights this month and were extremely pleased with our stay. Value for money was extraordinary. The rooms were clean with nice shower room, balcony and cool little kitchen area hidden away. The staff were polite and helpful. We used the spa which was well looked after and all in all had a great stay.
There is a u bahn station literally two minutes away. For the price paid it was faultless.
We had a late flight and they were very happy to store our bags.
My husband and I usually travel to more expensive hotels but our son booked this one and it was just great. If I had to be picky the rooms are a little small but still represent great value.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    544
    228
    60
    54
See reviews for
277
339
43
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Have stayed at this hotel twice and I like the convenient location near the U2 line especially for trips to the Messe. Breakfast room is crowded in the mornings but selection was good. Wifi extra$. Avoid rooms above main exit because smoke goes in your room with window open (I had room 203). Makes nice balcony unpleasant for nonsmokers.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dugong1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domaso, Italy
Level Contributor
150 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

I was in this hotel for 4 nights and I found it wel positioned for City CENTER (3 stations) and exhibition.
The metro station is just few walks from the hotel
Clean, sober and with small but well working services.
If I need to found negative points, I just report a small Halle that when people are doing check in/out people need to make gimkana.
Breakfast good and with a nice selection. I suggest it and I will return when again in Munic

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank nikinTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Phone had no menu so could not work out how to call reception when TV didn't work when first arrived. Wifi was 12 Euros and didn't work in my room.. Staff knew and didn't care about anything. They would not come up to see if they could fix wifi... Breakfast was the only ok thing about the place.. Full of loud kids in school trips. Hideous views from the room as well.. Massively overpriced

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshnathan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoram B, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Joshnathan,
thank you for your feedback.
First I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you had during your stay.
The telephone numbers are listed in our information map.
The internet connection is not explainable for me, but of course we have had a meeting with our staff, as you are absolutely right in this case. I am sorry for this!
Still we are very happy for your feedback, because only with this, we can get better!
For any questions please do not hesitate to contact me.
Helena Bachmann
Guest Relation Manager
Leonaro Hotels Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed here during the holiday season for several nights and thought the hotel was okay. We got a good deal at around 100 euro a night which is about the right value for this hotel. The hotel and our room were clean, it is close to a subway station (5 mins max walking distance) and about 3 stations from the city center in a rather unspectacular Munich residential neighborhood - i.e. quiet.

What we didn't like - our bed was really two twin beds pushed together, including a gap between the two mattresses. not very romantic. The mattresses were a tad too hard even for us - and we do like firmer mattresses. There also was no nightstand on one side of the bed and no reading lamp.

The bathroom shower had poor water pressure and the temperature was not constant so you had to deal with too hot or too cold water while you were showering.

We also frequently smelled smoke from an unknown source in the hallway seeping into our room which is rather annoying.

What we liked - our room had a kitchenette, there was a door between the room's hallway and the actual bedroom - that is very nice if you don't want to be woken up by housekeeping taking care of the other rooms on your floor in the morning. Overall it was very functional.

Given the deal we got we weren't expecting too much but for a four point review i want a more comfortable bed at least. I think this makes a very practical hotel for business people during the week.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cosmodrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, Ukraine
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

The hotel is clean, staff is friendly. It is situated in the sleeping area, but not far from city center, just opposite the U-bahn station and a small supermarket in case you need something.
The small kitchen in the wardrobe maked me laughing out loud. The only problem is with the internet, but you can have a deal with someone on reception to get it free (anyway, connection is poor). Breakfast was also very good

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viktor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Positive aspects:
- Big variety of items in breakfast buffet, nice employees serving delicious coffee, many
- Nice location, 1 block from U-Bahn, very quiet neighborhood
- Fair prices for long stays

Negative aspects:
- Shower temperature changes a lot during the bath from extremely hot to extremely cold
- Too soft pillows
- Not too nice employees at reception when we request extra soap bar or ask about Wi-Fi high speed plans

Room Tip: I prefer to stay in 2nd floor as I prefer to use the stairs instead of elevators that can take a whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcia_makino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
1.1 mi away
Novotel Munich City
Novotel Munich City
#54 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,483 reviews
4.6 mi away
Novotel Suites Munich Parkstadt Schwabing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Munchen Ost-Messe
2.1 mi away
K+K Hotel am Harras
K+K Hotel am Harras
#24 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#25 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich

Property: Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
Address: Heimgartenstrasse 14, 81539 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only several stops on the underground into the city centre or the Fairground and convention centre. Leonardo Hotel & Residenz Munich has a central yet tranquil location, making it a home-away-from-home not only for Munich fans, but especially for long-term guests. Whether you are here for business or leasure, you will feel at home with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonardo Hotel And Residence Munich
Leonardo Hotel Residence Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing