We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Located near train station, nice breakfast, room too small”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center
Ranked #175 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Located near train station, nice breakfast, room too small”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This hotel was nice, it is located near the Munich HBF train station. It is a good idea to get a metro day pass if you are going to Munich. It is a huge city, and it is difficult to walk everywhere. The breakfast was really nice and the rooms are clean. The room is definitely too small. I felt like I was in a closet. Otherwise everything else was fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ora90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    202
    113
    42
    39
See reviews for
70
173
19
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
138 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We found the room small and the street noisy as 2 youth hotels across the road.Price was ok and the service good.This must be viewed as a central hotel due to its location but not for a longer stay than 1night.We stayed in the same groups hotel near anomaly pita and it was superb.I am looking to stay one more night near the station but won't make use of this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBLEROUX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed for four nights in this beautiful hotel in the centre of Munich. To be honest we were positively surprised. Usually hotel rooms look much better on the photos but this one appeared to be more nice in reality. It's located in a quite street with private parking(a little pricey though). Our room was really cosy. Very clean. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Hotel Leonardo is an excellent budget hotel in Munich. The location is convenient as 5 minute walk from the Central train station. Very easy to walk to the museums and Central square. Front of house staff were very pleasant, well informed and organised. The hotel room was modern and very tidy. All staff, including charming breakfast waiter, seemed committed to make our stay as pleasant as possible.Based on my experience, I would recommend Leonardo Hotels as a chain to use whilst traveling in Europe.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mlms5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

When choosing this hotel you gotta make it clear for yourself, what are you expecting from it. The hotels location is not for relaxing time and enjoying marvellous views. Its for travellers and maybe large conference groups of builders. Neighbourhood is a ghetto-like, and 15 meters across are numbers of hostels...numberless number, I might say. To tell the truth, it was kinda chilling walking there after 11 in the evening. And it was my 1st impression of Muchen. Not the best one.
Room we had was the SMALLEST room I've ever came across in the hotels. No 4 stars of that I'm shure. Simply bed and roots to it - not even a room for case to be opened, not to tell 2 cases. Still clean and tidy, but need repainting walls.
Shower room is comfortable and clean. But lacks simple things such as a place to put your toothbrush in and a tower-dryer. They ask you to save the nature by not changing towels every day and yet no dryer.
Bathrobe - 25 euro deposit, and no slippers. I mean, hello! Is it a 4 stars hotel or what?
Other "impressive" thing is WiFi....PAYED Wifi! 15 euro for a day?! Guys, what are you smoking?
Now good stuff.
Breakfast was good, with fresh fruits and bakery, eggs, pancakes and numbers of meats. Its not the best I saw but it was good and fulfilling.
Hotel staff was the best part of the hotel - they did their jobs, and they did it good. On some level I think they know that this place is not what everyone expect from Leonardo hotels and try their best to make you feel better.
Overall positives were: comfortable bed, nice shower, good breakfast, kind staff. 1 star for people working there, 1 star for breakfast and 1 star for pre-payed adult films =)))

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Booked a non smoking room but were not given one. Atmosphere smoky and air conditioning did not go. Checked in late first night so went with the flow but it spoilt our stay.Nice room aesthetically, excellent bathroom, authentic and extensive German breakfast, friendly staff. Environs not great.

Room Tip: Always insist on a nonsmoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

"Leonardo Hotel München City Center" is the most horrible experience of hundreds of hotels I've ever stayed in my live that ranged between 3 - 5 stars, that's why I have to write this to warn other travelers that want to enjoy a comfortable stay in Munich:

- They gave me a smokers room although I booked non-smoking! A DISGUSTING SMELL was in the room that made a good night's sleep impossible!!! I was waking up with a horrible headache the next day.

- NEVER EVER 4 Star Hotel!!! Very tiny and mediocre room, outlets not working, transparent blinds.

- No hotel parking lots but stating in their hotel information.

People at the reception are very friendly but the guest relationship manager completly arrogant and ignorent!

Pick another hotel if you want to make sure to have a good time in Munich!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalPlayer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoram B, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Sir,
thank you for your feedback here.
I am surprised to read from you here, although we have had a long email conversation.
Neverless, I would like to answer also here:
In our hotel we have still a few smoking rooms left because of our regular guests who prefer those. Sometimes we are fully booked, then we need to give those also to other guests. As we did not have any preference of your wish (reservation was made through travel agent), and the check in was late, we did not have any other chance.
We have parking lots, but not too many. We offer also the public parking for nearly the same rate (1,-€ more).
For any questions please do not hesitate to contact me or my team.

Greatings from Munich!
Helena Bachmann
Guest Relation Manager
Leonardo Hotels Munich & Nürnberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Maritim Hotel Munchen
Maritim Hotel Munchen
#107 of 383 in Munich
826 reviews
0.1 mi away
Drei Loewen Hotel
Drei Loewen Hotel
#101 of 383 in Munich
558 reviews
0.1 mi away
Conrad Hotel de Ville
Conrad Hotel de Ville
#113 of 383 in Munich
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
0.1 mi away
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#207 of 383 in Munich
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
IntercityHotel Munich
IntercityHotel Munich
#127 of 383 in Munich
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center

Property: Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center
Address: Senefelderstr. 4, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Munich
Leonardo Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing