We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly happy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
A&O Munich Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #359 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Surprisingly happy”
Reviewed 14 September 2008

After staying in a similar arrangement in Berlin we were not expecting much with this hotel, but were pleasantly surprised.

The room & adjoining bathroom were big & nicely decorated. The hotel is close to some restaurants & a 10 min walk to the main train station. A little further to Marienplatz. The staff were helpful. Internet worked in our room (1 Euro/hr). We didn't realise the continental breakfast was included & it was very reasonable.

  • Liked — The location, nice room/bathroom
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank havegotthetravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    75
    81
    46
    60
See reviews for
53
77
45
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
milano
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2008

We spent 40 euro for 2 people for 1 night.
The room was very clean and confortable. The position is acceptable (near public transports). The breakfast-buffet was very good.

  • Liked — Breakfast, room, price
  • Disliked — girl at the reception
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Fabio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2008

Booked two nights in Munich to take in Aberdeens UEFA cup match against Bayern Munich, Wanted as cheap as possible and found this place for 44 Euro per night with breakfast included. Wasnt really expecting much, but for what i needed it for (Sleeping). its was ideal.

Location was fine as its only about 400 yds ish from the hauptbahnhof. Going into the town couldnt be easier, just come out of the hotel turn right and walk down past the station and your basically into the city center.

First impression from the outside was probably a bit "oh dear", but the lassie on the desk was spot on and spoke english better than me, small lift to my 4th floor single room. the room was modern and imaculately clean, some people would complain about the size but unless your taking your Cat for swinging then you should'nt really have a problem with it. Dont expect a bath unless your 3 foot tall but the shower more than made up for it, powerfull and hot. I found the bed to be remarkably comfortable, but then quite a few of Munichs large steins might have assisted. The breakfast (included in price) was a typical german one with Rolls, Eggs, cold meats, Jams, Cheeses, eggs coffee and fresh juice, i love this anyway and had more than enough to see me through the day.

I would use this hotel again without hesitation, including taking the family, If you tend to spend a lot of time in your hotel (strange people) then this would not be for you, but for a clean, comfortable friendly, cheap place then you could do a lot worse

  • Liked — Bed
  • Disliked — Exterior
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aberdeen-exile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights during the Oktoberfest (which was fantastic btw) - and found this hotel/hostel to be fine. We got the train from the airport to Munich (Hauptbahnhof), and when you get off the train its just a few blocks down on Bayerstrasse, less than 10 minutes walk so no real hassle. Just turn right when you come out of the station, that's the only problem we had, knowing which way to turn. If I had to point out the negatives 1) Our room was small, we are a family of 4 adults, and had a room with 2 twin beds & 1 bunk bed - with our luggage it was tight. 2) Our room wasn't anything like the photos on the websites, it had thin (old?) carpet and not timber floors ... and 3) you need to climb a couple of stairs to get to the lift. BUT for the price we have no complaints, the beds were comfortable, the bathroom larger than most, the accommodation clean, and breakfast was quite good. It only cost us 4 euros in a taxi to the Oktoberfest grounds, we didnt realise it was so close to the hotel, I'm sure it is walking distance but we got a bicycle ride back, just for the fun of it. We didn't notice any noise, unless we opened the window, I only mention it because other reviews complain of noise and we didnt notice it at all - our room faced the street, and we were there during Oktoberfest which must be the noisiest time for Munich. All in all, for the price, during Oktoberfest I think this is a good, clean, centrally located place to stay. Just remember its a 2 star hotel/hostel, and dont expect much more than bed & breakfast - and you'll be happy. Also, people of all ages were there at the same time as us, so its fine for families and those of us over 40.

  • Liked — Close (walking distance) to main train station, close to Oktoberfest grounds
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travtay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2007

This is an overpriced hotel. Read the wonderful reviews and decided to stay at this hotel. I was so disappointed. The room is clean, no question about that but there are no phones, and no alarm clock in the room. I even went out and bought one myself. There's a 12-inch tv in the room. In short, there the bed, a small table, a tv, a closet and the bathroom. Literally nothing else. They advertised Wifi access, when I inquired with the front desk, they said no, they don't. Location is excellent but it tends to draw not very desirable customers who would come back drunk at 3 or 4am and shout and bang on the walls and doors of the rooms. The walls are paper thin so you can hear the opening and closing of doors 3 floors away. My room was at the 3rd floor. I stayed for 4 nights and did not get any sleep for 3. Only slept at the last night, I was way too tired already after being so sleep-deprived. The breakfast is so-so in my taste. Just 4 types of cold cuts, 2 types of bread, coffee, apple juice, hard-boiled eggs and tasteless fruit cocktail (right out of the can).

  • Liked — cleanliness and excellent location - 2 blocks from central train station
  • Disliked — no phone, no Wifi, no alarm clock, less desirable guests
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SJDUDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
-
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2007

Round 15.00 I checked in, which took about 3 minutes. The staff spoke English fluently, so there was no language barrier. I booked a room for one which was located on the 6th floor (the highest one). The room was big enough for one person, and even a small bed could be placed along the other bed. There was a desk, a BIG closet (+ a smaller one), Tv. The bathroom (unlike other hotels) was big enough for one with a bath, hairdryer, towels, toilet and washbasin (+ shower gel).
In the morning there was a full continental breakfast.

If I have to be in Munich again, I’ll probably sleep here!

(2 thing's that need a little attention: 1/ the curtains are not that thick, so the light comes in. 2/ There were no English channels on the TV)

BUT THE REST WAS GREAT!

  • Liked — Clean and big room/bathroom
  • Disliked — the thin curtains
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mine4now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2007

We stayed at this place for Oktoberfest. It was a great find, at an extremely reasonable rate...40 euro/night per person. We booked a room that sleeps four and has a private bath. It was basic, yet relatively spacious and very clean. The location is awesome. It is within 5 or 10 minutes walking distance from all the tents; 10 minutes walk from the central station, and 15 minutes walk to Marionplatz.

The breakfast, included in the rate, was quite decent, with breads, yogurts, cereal, milk, juices, boiled eggs, coffee, tea, butter and jams. During Oktoberfest, if you want to stay within walking distance of the festivities...you WILL hear noise at night. What do you expect with THOUSANDS of drunk people walking the streets at midnight? We slept just fine. If I ever went back to Oktoberfest again, I would definitely stay here again, and would recommend it to most of my friends. I would not recommend this place to people who are somewhat fussy or who expect Marriott standards for hostel prices. It's got what you need, and it's very clean. The front desk person was very polite.

  • Liked — Location/price
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anonymousVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bayernland
Hotel Bayernland
#218 of 382 in Munich
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlas City Hotel
Atlas City Hotel
#345 of 382 in Munich
476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dolomit
Hotel Dolomit
#247 of 382 in Munich
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
#360 of 382 in Munich
251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Monaco
Hotel Monaco
#177 of 382 in Munich
497 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Westend
Hotel Westend
#263 of 382 in Munich
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A&O Munich Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&O Munich Hauptbahnhof

Property: A&O Munich Hauptbahnhof
Address: Bayerstr. 75, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #359 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — A&O Munich Hauptbahnhof 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The A&O München Hauptbahnhof is located right next to the Central Station. The small hotel in the city centre has a quiet atmosphere and 73 modern rooms, almost all equipped with their own balcony. The A&O München Hauptbahnhof is just 400 meters away from the Central Station and is thus easy to reach by train. Due to the A&O's central location the Altstadt can be easily reached by foot and is the ideal starting point for excursions into the Munich city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your A&O Munich Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a And o City Hotel Munchen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing