We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect location stay for Oktoberfest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
A&O Munich Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #370 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 31 October 2009

After an original hotel booking at another place fell through, the A&O was my next hotel of choice. Never having stayed, it looked to be in a perfect location between a main train station and the Oktoberfest grounds. The site did not disappoint. There aren't many frills involved with staying here, but the room was clean and kept up, and there were no sound issues with others staying. The management speaks English, and our stay included a breakfast option. The location also afforded a short and easy walk to the Oktoberfest grounds, and would highly recommend for future stays for the festival.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rbakken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2009

I have a double room there for two nights. It is a nice hotel when there is within 10 mins walk to the main bahnhof, and 15 to 20 minutes walk to the Marian Platz. The surroundings there is pretty safe and quiet. The reception is good, since the reception is small and usually have only one stuff there, so you have to wait for a while when there are some people want to consult with reception at the same time. I highly recommend to those who are backpackers, students, and who have tight budget. On the other side, though the room is pretty tiny for two people re a double room, it still very clean, good services for making up rooms. Also, the breakfast is really awesome, including bread, ham, cheese, yogurt, crackers, hot coffee, juice, which are really great for half an day energy. And you could only access to the internet in the public area.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debbyyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

The place is definetely cheap and the room is clean. We were asking for a quiet room and I think there is no quiet room at all in the buliding. The pub on the top is open until 1:00 AM or later. This place is perfect for teenagers. The staff is slow and the the hostel is a real hostel, not hotel. But it's good for 2 nights for if you are on the budget. PK. Ungarn

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Puszta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2009

A&O was really nice we really liked it. The room was really clean clean Wehad a private room which was like a hotel room. The staff was really helpful we had a passport issue for a day and a guy on the staff was great in helping us! The location was great we walked to marienplatz which is where everything is at not a bad walk at all so we never had to use any public transportation. it is also a short walk from the train station.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willystyl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2009

There was nothing special about this hostel. It was fine. And that's about it. It's located on the 'other side' of Hauptbahnhoff, that is the side away from the city centre. It's about a 15 minute walk away from the main station. You can catch an S-Bahn train but you still have to walk a fair way and often waiting for a train can take just as long as walking the whole way!

On arrival I felt the guy on reception was cold and offered very little information at all. We had already been in Munich for 4 nights (this was an unexpected extra night for which we needed accommodation) so we luckily already knew the score. However, if we had been guests new to the city it would have been a different story - we were not given any directions or offered a map, when asked if there was a supermarket nearby we were simply told yes, but it's closed. We were not told whether or not we needed linen (we did) or told how much it was to rent. I just found him quite unhelpful - hopefully this was an isolated incident.

Rooms were small but had their own shower/toilet down a small hall in the room - making it less noisy for other sleeping dorm-mates! As we were at AandO for only one night, and arrived late and left early, it's probably unfair to make a definitive judgement - However, there are much better hostels in Munich for comparable prices and you would do well to shop around.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2009

The place is part hostel, part hotel, with the outside and lobby having more of a "hostel" atmosphere. Mostly a younger crowd staying here, but also a few older couples. Very helpful staff, who spoke English well enough to help you with whatever you need. Cheap internet and wi-fi available. My room was a singe, so it was sort of dormitory style, but it looked newly remodeled, was bright and clean, and even had a balcony. Bathroom was modern and equipped with everything you might need - soap, shampoo, hair dryer. Some of the other rooms I stayed in on my trip were very drab, so this room was a very pleasant surprise. Location was convenient, a 5~10 minute walk to the main train station, and another 10 minute walk after that to the Marienplatz (the main square of Munich) For about $55, with a free breakfast too, this place made a great base to explore Munich. Don't let the "hostel" part scare you.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DjsTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2009

This place is about a 10-15min walk down the main street from the hauptbahnhof. The staff were very friendly and even though it is part hostel, the hotel rooms are seperate from the hostel rooms so was pretty quiet [except for the couple above me...]
Room was very comfy and the heating worked well. Had my own bath which was relaxing after playing tourist all day. Only downside would be all the tv is in german - but thats to be expected I guess!
But definately value for money I would stay here again in an instant.
Breakfast was really good too [they had more than just bread and cheese] and the internet was fast and cheap

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elsypelsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Westend
Hotel Westend
#292 of 389 in Munich
284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dolomit
Hotel Dolomit
#267 of 389 in Munich
742 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlas City Hotel
Atlas City Hotel
#356 of 389 in Munich
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Am Sendlinger Tor
Am Sendlinger Tor
#362 of 389 in Munich
382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Seibel
Hotel Seibel
#344 of 389 in Munich
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#30 of 389 in Munich
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A&O Munich Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&O Munich Hauptbahnhof

Address: Bayerstr. 75, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #370 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £48 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — A&O Munich Hauptbahnhof 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The A&O München Hauptbahnhof is located right next to the Central Station. The small hotel in the city centre has a quiet atmosphere and 73 modern rooms, almost all equipped with their own balcony. The A&O München Hauptbahnhof is just 400 meters away from the Central Station and is thus easy to reach by train. Due to the A&O's central location the Altstadt can be easily reached by foot and is the ideal starting point for excursions into the Munich city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your A&O Munich Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a And o City Hotel Munchen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing