We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean and cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
A&O Munchen Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #358 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location, clean and cheap”
Reviewed 8 March 2011

I was a bit hesitant to stay here after reading mixed reviews but we had no problems at all.

We stayed here for one night on our way to visit friends and had booked a private double room. The room was actually in a separate apartment building, which seemed a little strange at first, but I think it was a blessing to be away from the dorm area.

The only problem we had was that our TV reception was non-existent - it was impossible to get a constant signal. Also the bathroom was a little small.

Breakfast was great, staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel's within walking distance of Hauptbahnhof and Marienplatz.

It was good value for our money and we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelAnimal81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    75
    81
    46
    60
See reviews for
53
77
45
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

The big sign on the front of this hotel says it all "Hotel & Hostel". This is important because if you booked it as a hotel you may well be disappointed by just how basic everything is. However as hostels go it is one of the best - very clean and tidy, great central location and en-suite bathrooms.

We travelled as a group of four friends requiring two twin bedrooms. Upon arrival they had no record of our booking via Expedia (thankfully I had taken the printed confirmation with me) so we had to wait 20mins while the manager phoned and faxed Expedia to find out what was going on.
We were eventually given two 5th floor rooms which contained both single beds AND bunk beds in each room, so in total enough to sleep up to 8 people. Nice spacious rooms with the one at the rear of the hostel also having a nice view of a nearby cathedral.

It’s a very simple 15-20min walk down Bayerstrasse, past the central station into the centre of the city. If you walk 10min in the other direction along the street you’ll find the Augustiner brewery which along with great beer serves fantastic food.

A fellow traveller summed it up nicely: “If you arrived into Munich with a rucksack or with a budget airline such as EasyJet etc you’ll be fine here. If, however you carry a suitcase or fly full service airlines such as BA/LH/KLM etc you’d be better off in a hotel”. Having stayed at both, the Ibis Muenchen City on the other side of the central station would be my recommended hotel within a similar budget.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2010

I stayed at the A&O in Munich for two days while on a sightseeing trip. While it is bare-bones, as most hostels are, it is very clean and comfortable, and almost a bit trendy. The staff was very friendly, and the 24-hour reception is great. The price was great for the amenities we received with the two-single-bed room, and we really enjoyed having our own space and bathroom in the private room instead of sharing with others. The hotel was not loud, and many families were staying as well as students. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keraniluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2010

More of a hostel than a hotel but the room was very clean and the brds comfortable. Radiators were a welcome addition! The locatoon is ideal, approx 5 min walk to main Hauptbahnhoff station and the tram stop is practically right outside the hotel. We didnt take the breakfast option but the Hauptbahnhoff station has everything you need. I would definitely stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indyrocks007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2010

Stayed in the single room with en-suite.
The room and bathroom was very clean.
It's about 5 min walk from the station, which was no problem.
Room looked just like the one in the photo. It was fairly small, but it was fine. There was corridor light and a main light, and a bedside lamp (convienient). Small balcony, with window and door to open, for air i guess. About 50 metres opposite the balcony appears to be an office block with workers. ~15" SD TV with mostly German channels, a table and a bin. Closet to store clothes and cupboard to put things in. No fridge.
Bathroom had shower gel, hand gel, toilet paper, clean towels, but no toothpaste.
Service was good, met two friendly staff who spoke good English, and were sincere.
The storage room for luggage was kept locked, so pleased with that.
Paid 47 Euros for 1 night, which I'm not sure how it compares to other hotels. They do prefer cash, but no problem for me.
Bed was very comfortable indeed.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterAW300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawesville
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

we booked this place for the beerfest, so expected to pay over the usual rates. when we got there we were told we had to pay an extra 40 euro for parking the car. our room was very basic, the bathroom had no lights - we had to get new globes from the reception and fit them ourselves. Internet is also extra. i actually wondered if they were going to charge us for the toilet paper. the shower was a hand held piece that flooded the bathroom floor cos some idiot put the holder directly opposite the curtain. bath itself was dirty and had hair and stuff blocking the plug hole. water pressure was good and the shower nice and hot.
the beds were very basic but comfortable, but the smell of stale car oil?? or something similar was absolutely horrific in the hall and stair ways. breakfast was adequate but unexciting. cleaners came into our room at 4pm wanting to clean,m which we found very inconvenient as we had just got back from day tours and wanted some peace before the evening sessions. considering we paid over $170 AUS a night to stay here plus cost of breakfast, parking and internet all i can say is the best bit about the place was the location. the staff on reception were about 18 years old and couldnt care less. one of them admitted to us they had tripled their prices for the beerfest, which is fair enough, but if they up the cost they need to up the service. all in all a crap stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pambK5480DQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

This hotel has only one thing going for it--the price. Even the location, near the hauptbahnhof, is on a somewhat creepy street.. Unfortunately, it's really a hostel and the "hotel" part only means there are small en suite bathrooms. The furniture on the small balcony was too dirty to sit on. The staff had an indifferent "hostel" mentality. There were no locks or supervision of the luggage room, so anybody could steal your belongings, while you waited for your room to become available.. The room was Spartan--really a dorm room. The TV would not work unless you paid them a deposit. They charged extra to use a credit card. Needless to say, nobody mentioned the "free welcoming drink" supposedly included in the price. In short, this is basic "no frills" accommodation. I pride myself on not wasting money, but if you are not a student , a backpacker or a fan of Soviet style, this is one of those times when you should bite the bullet and spend the extra 10-15 euros for somewhing better.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newyorker10027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bayernland
Hotel Bayernland
#206 of 383 in Munich
104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dolomit
Hotel Dolomit
#253 of 383 in Munich
695 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlas City Hotel
Atlas City Hotel
#344 of 383 in Munich
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
#359 of 383 in Munich
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vi Vadi Hotel Bayer 89
Vi Vadi Hotel Bayer 89
#69 of 383 in Munich
253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A&O Munchen Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&O Munchen Hauptbahnhof

Property: A&O Munchen Hauptbahnhof
Address: Bayerstr. 75, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #358 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — A&O Munchen Hauptbahnhof 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The A&O München Hauptbahnhof was opened in 2005 right next to the Central Station. The small hostel in the city centre has a quiet atmosphere and 73 modern rooms, almost all equipped with their own balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your A&O Munchen Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a And o City Hotel Munchen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing