We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, well run hotel in convenient location”
Review of Vi Vadi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vi Vadi Hotel
Ranked #116 of 391 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 4 August 2011

My wife and I were very pleased with the 3 nights we stayed at the Vi Vadi.

Pros:

- Reception staff spoke excellent English and were very professional and friendly
- main station was less than 10 minutes walk away, and we were able to walk from the hotel to all the main tourist attractions
- many restaurants nearby ( including one attached to the hotel) as well as Aldi and Dewe supermarkets.
- the room was large and modern and had its won kitchenette and minibar
- small but practical bathroom - great temperature and water pressure
- Free WIFI in room
- Double glazed windows meant room was very quiet
- comfortable beds

Cons:

- no air conditioning which could make room uncomfortable in summer. We were tolsd that there are plans to install aircon
- Lift was a bit slow but ok

Breakfast was available at the hotel but we didn't try it, or dine is the restaurant so are unable to comment on the quality of meals

Would have no hesitation staying at the Vi Vadi again providing that if in summer air
conditioning is available

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yotsmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (906)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

438 - 444 of 906 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2011

We arrived at the Hotel Via Vadi in Munich fairly late in the evening after travelling all day from Nice via a six hour stopover in Gatwick and then on to Munich.

On first impressions the hotel entrance area looked a little tired, however the reception staff spoke excellent English and were very friendly and most helpful. In fact throughout our three nights at the hotel all hotel staff were helpful and friendly.

We had requested a quiet high floor room and were allocated a 'garden side room' on the six floor facing away from the street and this room did prove to be very quiet and very restful.

Our room was modern, tastefully furnished and in excellent condition and came with a desk, excellent free wifi broadband service and a kitchenette. The kitchenette consisted of a two burner cook top, microwave and refrigerator but no cooking utensils !!

The hotel is only five minutes walk form the Main Munich railway station where one can buy a huge range of take away foods and only about twenty minutes walk from Munich town centre. Just around the corner from the hotel is a supermarket and only two minutes away is a Europcar Hire car depot from we hired our rental car.

Basically a really nice hotel with friendly staff and in a good location. We are going back there in two days time for a one night stop over.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregory46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Our first impression of this hotel was definitely not favourable. We arrived from a long trip at 7 in the morning and entered a very tiny, dingy, cheap looking reception area. Well alright, we didn't expect luxury for this price so we could ignore it. When we requested to check in the woman behind the desk appeared completely bewildered at the mere idea that someone would expect a room to be available at 7 in the morning! She told us that they were completely booked and no room would be available until at least noon so we left our bags behind the reception desk where a huge pile of luggage had already formed (there is no separate storage area). We came back at around 11 and sat around watching people check out...why couldn't we have their room, I wondered? At no point did the receptionist ask us who we were to check if our room was available yet. I asked if she needed a name and she said there is absolutely no way she can check on our room right now because their network was down and there's nothing she can do. We really weren't thrilled to say the least...probably around 2 we were finally asked for our name at which point the receptionist called the cleaning staff to ask about our room.

We grabbed our bags and took the elevator upstairs. The elevator is incredibly SLOW (there's only one!), old and tiny. Finally we got to our room and we were pleasantly surprised as it was big and comfortable although the bathroom smelled mouldy. A couple of minutes later as I was ready to use the bathhroom someone walked into our room completely unannounced! No knocking or anything. He looked very embarrassed to find us there and said that he was there to check on the mini bar. We let him enter and he left a very short while later. Once again, this is not leave a favourable impression.

A couple of mornings later I was woken up by a disgusting, awful smell. It was so strong that I could not continue sleeping! I had to get up and discovered that cigarette smoke was billowing in through the windows that we left open overnight. I couldn't tell exactly where the smoke was coming from (another room? the courtyard?) and closing the windows did not help because the room was already so smokey. The smoker(s) carried on for probably close to two hours. Disgusting!! I suppose it's not really the hotel's fault but probably something to be aware of if you have asthma.

Aside from that we had an enjoyable stay. Like I said, the rooms were nice. Next time however I think I'll pay a little extra to have a more pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheapsheeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Decor tired and rooms on the small side but insignificant compared to nice clean rooms, pleasant service at front desk and super location... Definitely recommended for short leisure break if you just want a room for the night

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WelshwizardK10D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

My colleague and I stayed at the Vi Vadi Hotel from the 22nd to the 27th June, 2011, with 14 pupils aged between 11-15 from the British school we work at in Dubai. The hotel had said on their website that they welcomed and catered well for school groups and that was the case. We were the only school group there, I hasten to add, so it's not as if the hotel is over-run with kids. The various members of staff, including Claudia and Clemens, the manager, were always very friendly and helpful and their English was very good.

The bedrooms and bathrooms were all very clean and were all of a good size. The decor of the rooms is very good. You can easily surf the internet in your bedroom on your laptops or phones for free using the wifi access code that the receptionist will give you. The kids thought the rooms and the hotel were great (and they're used to the fancy hotels in Dubai!).

Breakfast and dinner were served in the restaurant next door, owned by the hotel owner, I presume. It's an Italian restaurant with very friendly and accommodating staff and delicious Italian food and is well aware that kids can be very fussy, so provides a good selection of food for kids. The pizzas and pasta were delicious and the portions huge.

The hotel is less than 5-minutes' walk away from the Hauptbahnhof (main railway station) and 20 minutes' walk away from Marienplatz, which made its location ideal.

The area is very safe for children. There is a supermarket around 5 minutes away and a bowling alley, Bavaria Bowling, 2 stops on the U-Bahn away in Lazarettstrasse, near Mailingerstrasse, where we had a lovely evening, thanks to Alexander, the owner. There is, however, a table-top dancing club called Boobs, round the corner in Dachauer Strasse, but we didn't see or weren't affected by any anti-social behaviour from it.

All in all, the Vi Vadi is a hotel where children and adults wishing to stay at a clean, friendly and well-located hotel in the centre of Munich at very reasonable prices will have a very pleasant stay and will also, hopefully, recommend the hotel. I / We will be definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Good stuff: bed comfortable, located five minutes from train station. Ten minute brisk walk to Marienplatz or two stops down from train station. Grocery store right down the street. Staff friendly. Kitchenette in room for in room meal. Good shower. Beer garden a couple blocks away. English movie theater a few blocks away. Oscillating fan provided. Parking right across the street, be sure to get hotel staff to validate your parking ticket for discount.
Didn't care for: slow and dirty elevator, no AC and room got hot. Left window open but could hear street traffic all night.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobkatevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Great place. Good central location close to central metro. Very friendly & helpful staff. Great rooms, very nicely decorated & clean with kitchenette & desk. Great value. Would stay here again & would recommend .

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobbarellanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.5 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#31 of 391 in Munich
916 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arthotel Munich
Arthotel Munich
#32 of 391 in Munich
980 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vi Vadi Hotel Bayer 89
Vi Vadi Hotel Bayer 89
#82 of 391 in Munich
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Muenchen City
Ibis Muenchen City
#86 of 391 in Munich
1,979 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Muenchen Deutscher Kaiser
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#9 of 391 in Munich
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vi Vadi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vi Vadi Hotel

Address: Marsstr. 6-10, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 391 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £53 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vi Vadi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms in this hotel are equipped with high quality box-spring beds and fine linen. They are tastefully furnished and particularly spacious. Wifi is fast and free of charge. The hotel offers a wide range of services you wouldn't expect in this category. For example 12-hour roomservice, express laundry service, cost free business concierge services around the clock, just to name a few. There is a popular italian restaurant on site and another, affiliated restaurant close-by. The hotel has been renovated in 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Fastbooking, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Vi Vadi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing