We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Vi Vadi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vi Vadi Hotel
Ranked #127 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Do you want to take a train anywhere in Europe? The main train station is just around the corner! We took a trip to the German alps from here. Also, the hop on hop off bus tours are close by. Try the beer tour. You can book it at the main train station. The hotel is average for the price but comfortable. The WiFi? Met another traveler standing outside his room door just to get a signal. Doesn't take much to install WiFi repeaters on every floor. Travelers rely on the internet for guidance. Elevator was slow but OK for this size hotel. Laundry facilities in the basement (my sister thought it was a little creepy down there) but happy to wash and dry after a week in the UK. A big beer garden just down the road too with great food. Plenty of spots to try foods from around the world. So, average hotel with a great location.

Room Tip: The lower the room the better WiFi reception you'll get but ask if they've upgraded it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (887)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

310 - 316 of 887 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

This is not a plush, upmarket hotel, and the lobby and public spaces could be more appealing. But, we stay there when visiting Munich as they have a maisonette suite which suits us perfectly. My mum and son sleep in single beds in one bedroom, we have a showeroom/wc, a small kicthen with fridge and microwave, and dining table and chairs, living room (sofa is double sofa bed) and then a mezanine level with a double bed where my husband and I sleep. It's perfect, especially if we want to stay up a little later. Breakfast is at italian restaurant of the same name, and for €10 is just great for setting you up for the day. Staff are always friendly and helpful, and with the kitchen facilities,as well as a laudnry downstairs, this is a great option if you don't want to soend massive amounts of cash. It's a three minute walk from Munich's main train station, and very convenient for all transport links, as well as an easy walk to Marienspaltz, Karlsplatz etc. would definitely recommed it to others. Great addition this year was a huge air condition unit, which was needed as Munich was even hotter than normal during our stay - temps hitting 35 degrees on a couple of days. Looking forward to next year :-)

Room Tip: Can be a little noisy at the front of the hotel, as the road is a main access route in and out of mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The hotel itself was okay, but there was no air conditioning in the rooms and no fans. This was incredibly uncomfortable for a 99F/38C day. We opened the windows, but then we had no privacy and there was alot of noise outside. When we asked the front desk for a fan, the receptionist asked what we expected for a 3-star hotel. He then gave us a small desk fan.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelodySchwantes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

It's not a fancy 4 or 5-star hotel, but there is nothing terribly wrong with Vi Vadi. It is located about a 20 minute walk to the centre, but it is a pleasant walk, mostly along a pedestrian mall with lots of shops and restaurants.

The room was basic but clean. It came with a full kitchenette, which may be useful for some people. As others have noted, the bathroom is small, but again, it is not a 5-star hotel. On the negative side, there is no air conditioning. I stayed in July but luckily, it was not too hot outside during my stay. If it was hot, I think the room could get quite uncomfortable. Also, the wifi was very weak (6th floor). I ended up going down to the lobby area each night to catch up on emails. The signal is much stronger there. I guess I should also mention that the toilet seat didn't stay up in my room. I'm a guy, so it was awkward having to hold up the seat to pee (or just leave it down and possibly get it wet, I guess).

In addition, there is only 1 elevator and it is quite slow. During the day, the cleaning staff use it to mice things up and down which further shows it down.

Overall, found the staff at the front counter to be very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garyfromvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

The rooms are little and when it is warm (for ex. In July) the rooms are also warm and it is very not convenient. The bathroom is also little. The kitchen is also very little. I don't recommend this hotel.

1  Thank vicodu06
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 July 2013

A livable hotel in the center of Munich. I stayed there for six nights in July 2013, alone. I give it a three, because it's a reasonable choice and you do not wish to run away. Here are some short points for you to consider:

Location: on one hand, very conveniently located for travelers - within a really short walking distance from the central rail station. Also, very convenient public transportation. On the other hand, the area, because of the proximity to the train station, is not very nice - especially at night, there are quite a lot of drunks and homeless. It's didn't feel dangerous, but it wasn't pleasant.

Staff: on one hand - very nice. They are really nice people and they try to help you. On the other hand, they are nice, but very much unhelpful. More than once their advice proved to be incorrect.

Rooms: Quite nice. Not very large, but very clean, and not tiny, like many other European cities. They have a kettle and a mini-bar. The possible problem? No air conditioning (there is a table fan). It wasn't a problem when I stayed there, but it wasn't very hot outside when I stayed there. Be careful.

Internet: Plus: Free, which is not trivial in Munich, to the best of my understanding. Minus: It's quite awful, especially in the evenings. In the evening, forget about skype, youtube and so on - only e-mail and facebook for you, and even that doesn't always work.

Breakfast - standard continental. If you booked with breakfast - great. If not - it's not worth 10 EUR.

One annoying thing that happened - I wanted to use their laundry rooms and they didn't have any detergent. When I asked for some, they said they didn't have any. This was very annoying - I had to go to the supermarket and buy one. I don't mind the money - I can live with the additional 4 EUR that it cost me, but the inconvenience that was caused by it really annoyed. I have actually considered to give them 2 because of it, but I decided that it would by quite petty. It was still annoying.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondoIl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Just back from the vi vadi hotel, there was a group of 12 stopping for 4 nights, on arrival I was impressed by the cleanliness of the hotel, the lift was a nightmare luckily there we were stopping on the 2nd floor, the room was beautiful so clean, very roomy, the kitchenette was a nice touch, the mini bar well fridge was expensive though but then nothing is cheap in Munich.
The restaurant next door does amazing pizza, and the bar further down do a lovely red wine.
Would defiantly stop here again it's centrally located just round the corner from most attractions.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank debsthewinehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.5 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#30 of 389 in Munich
907 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Muenchen Deutscher Kaiser
0.4 mi away
Arthotel Munich
Arthotel Munich
#32 of 389 in Munich
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Munchen Ost-Messe
0.1 mi away
Ibis Muenchen City
Ibis Muenchen City
#89 of 389 in Munich
1,940 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vi Vadi Hotel Bayer 89
Vi Vadi Hotel Bayer 89
#78 of 389 in Munich
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vi Vadi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vi Vadi Hotel

Address: Marsstr. 6-10, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £54 - £600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vi Vadi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms in this hotel are equipped with high quality box-spring beds and fine linen. They are tastefully furnished and particularly spacious. Wifi is fast and free of charge. The hotel offers a wide range of services you wouldn't expect in this category. For example 12-hour roomservice, express laundry service, cost free business concierge services around the clock, just to name a few. There is a popular italian restaurant on site and another, affiliated restaurant close-by. The hotel has been renovated in 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Vi Vadi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing