We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent service and right price!”
Review of Vi Vadi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Vi Vadi Hotel
Ranked #127 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 4 September 2009

I was very impressed with this hotel. I got a great deal on Expedia.co.uk and I feel that this hotel was well worth the price. The hotel and rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom was a bit small but nothing to worry about. I paid the little bit extra for a garden view room and while the garden was more of a car park I would recommend paying this extra as it was much quieter than my friend's street view room. There is no air-con in the rooms but the staff were very happy to provide a fan on request. The breakfast in the Italian restaurant next door was very nice although I was a bit disappointed when I actually went for dinner in the restaurant.

There was also free wi fi in the room which was pretty handy.

I would recommend travelling a little further to the Park Cafe in the park behind the big O sculpture at the bottom of the street. It was amazing and it appears that this is where the Germans go which is a good sign!

We hired a car which we actually picked up from across the street from the hotel which was very handy. We drove to Dachau, Salzburg, Neuschwanstein castle and Berchtesgaden. It was very easy to drive with the sat nav and was much cheaper than paying for tours to these places individually.

We also did the bus tour of Munich which was very disappointing. There was about 5 minutes of German and then a sentence in English. Alot of what we saw passed without comment. That was until we did the Third Reich walking tour which pointed out more in 1 hour than the whole day on the bus! I would highly recommend the walking tour.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahD24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (866)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

486 - 492 of 866 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2009

Staff provided local directions and advice on trips etc. Ironing Board and Iron available on request and also room fans, if hot.
Breakfast in adjacent restaurant was very good, fresh fruir, ceeals, salami, hams, cheeses, selection of breads and tea/coffee. Expresso or Latte availablre on request at no extra cost - no need for a big lunch!
Location - 5 mins from main train/subway and tram stations and only 10 mins walk from centre of city.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2009

This hotel could not be much nearer the central station - less than 3 minutes case trundling. My room was ready when I arrived at midday so I was allowed to check in early. The reception guy was most helpful and gave me a map of munich which was much used druing my stay.
The room, on the 2nd floor at the back, was just the ticket. It was all a single traveller could need, including a kitchenette and a balcony plus lots fo wardrobe space, 8 coat hangers and a safety deposit box (no charge).
It was very clean and the room was cleaned daily with sheets changed twice in my 5 night stay. The only 2 things I could be picky about are (1) that a fan or air con would have been nice in the room and (2) that the fan issue is because it gets a bit noisy outside at night sometimes with late night revellers and early morning starters, but the hotel cannot be held to blame for that.
There are 4 supermarkets nearby , including a healthy eating style supermarket for organic foodstuffs if you wish to self cater and you can get all types of food at the station if you need a quick snack or drink.
There are 2 beer gardens within 20 minute walk in either direction but beer is around 6.80 to 7.90 euro a litre. Beer is dearer in downtown munich but hey, thats the beer capital of the world for you. For those going to Oktoberfest, you can walk to the venue in about 35-40 minutes to work up a thirst - the beer tents are going up now and look great! The area around the hotel could be seen as a bit seedy with a lap dancing club just round the corner and the odd sex shop or two but if this is not your thing then just walk on past. The hotel, despite some unexplainable comments on Tripadvisor, is a good , no hassle, place to crash and I will be recommending it to all my friends.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

The hotel staff were very friendly, efficient and professional. The kitchenette was useful and well equipped. The bed and linens were of very good quality. It is hard to trust some of the things one reads, especially if you have already looked at dozens of hotels. Trust this hotel. It is a terrific bargain for Munich and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neubecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

We booked this hotel for 3 nights mainly because it was under $90/night including taxes, had free breakfast spread, and was walking distance from the Hauptbahnhof (main rail station). While the price was cheap, the locale is actually kinda seedy at night. The rooms are newly renovated but the hotel itself seems like an old youth hostel with dark and dingy corridors, no real front desk, and no proper lobby. The breakfast itself is served in the italian restaurant nearby which is pretty decent. There is also no AC or fan and if you try to keep the windows open at night and you face the street, you're not going to get a good nights rest because its so loud from traffic. My wife and I were probably looking for something more romantic and nicer interior.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indus5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

Stayed here for three nights as solo traveller. Really conveniently located near station and area felt totally safe getting there, even at 1am after a beer tour. The hotel was an easy 20 mins walk to Marienplatz, 10 or so to Konigplatz and the museum district, a similar time to the Augustiner beer garden (which is well worth a visit - the Edelstoft is apparently the Pope's favourite beer and you can see why!!) and only 2 - 3 mins from the excellent public transport system with both S and U trains at the station.

The room was spacious - I had twin beds even though travelling alone, and clean. I had paid a small amount extra for a room at the rear so was really quiet (apart from the last night when the fire alarm went off at 3.30!!) and would recommend doing this as the road outside was quite busy, and as there is no air con you may want to leave a window open so could get noisy. Bed was comfy.

The room had a well equipped kitchenette - rings, microwave, fridge, pots, pans, corkscrew etc. There was also a proper table to sit and eat at if you wished to cook.
The bathroom was small, but clean and I had 4 towels so well supplied.

Breakfast is taken next door in the Italian restaurant attached to the hotel and was excellent - delicious rolls, decent juice (far harder to find on the continent than it should be), proper coffee, meats, cheeses, eggs, cereals, fruit, yoghurt etc. I also ate in the restaurant a couple of times - the food was good and reasonably priced - two courses and a glass of wine cost me about 20Euros and the staff were very friendly. The room service comes from the restaurant.

At reception you will find flyers for the New Munich tours - pick this up even if you don't intend to take a tour as it has a street and subway map. However, I highly recommend you do take a tour - the 3 hour free walking tour (you just tip whatever you feel appropriate) was an excellent introduction to Munich and a great way to get your bearings. I also went on the beer challenge - as a single female traveller this was a great way for me to be able to get to the beer halls and you get to meet new friends form all over the world. On a more sombre note, the Dachau tour was extremely good - a guide who clearly was totally enthused and excellent at sharing his knowledge.

I had not been to Munich before but will return - and when I do, am likely to consider this hotel first - especialy if I can get as good a deal (on Expedia) as I did this time.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DDLMU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

Great location, friendly and helpful staff, excellent breakfast. Glad I found this place.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glenmar25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Muenchen City
Ibis Muenchen City
#90 of 385 in Munich
1,911 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vi Vadi Hotel Bayer 89
Vi Vadi Hotel Bayer 89
#80 of 385 in Munich
275 reviews
0.0 mi away
KING's HOTEL First Class
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arthotel Munich
Arthotel Munich
#35 of 385 in Munich
884 reviews
0.0 mi away
KING's HOTEL Center
KING's HOTEL Center
#53 of 385 in Munich
1,164 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Muenchen Deutscher Kaiser
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vi Vadi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vi Vadi Hotel

Address: Marsstr. 6-10, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £57 - £876 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vi Vadi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms in this hotel are equipped with high quality box-spring beds and fine linen. They are tastefully furnished and particularly spacious. Wifi is fast and free of charge. The hotel offers a wide range of services you wouldn't expect in this category. For example 12-hour roomservice, express laundry service, cost free business concierge services around the clock, just to name a few. There is a popular italian restaurant on site and another, affiliated restaurant close-by. The hotel has been renovated in 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vi Vadi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing