We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hostel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of A&O Munich Hackerbruecke

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A&O Munich Hackerbruecke
Ranked #370 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent hostel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed here in August 2013 with my Top Deck group.

The room I was in with 3 other guys was comfortable.

The reception area was quite spacious, which was good when you had a bus load of tourists with their luggage arrive.

The cafe area for meals was nice and the food on offer was decent.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charmed1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    52
    101
    90
    159
See reviews for
48
52
54
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

The wifi you have to pay for. You do not get a breakfast and the rooms were not clean. The bathrooms were disgusting. If you took a shower the water would fill up to your ankles within the first five minutes of being in there. It was definitely not worth the stay for the cost of the hostel. I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabella0403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

Toronto
Level Contributor
59 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

I had a single room in this Hotel/Hostel. The bed was comfortable and the room was basic, for the most part quiet as well. There are good public transit options nearby with the tram across the road and an S-Bahn station a 5 minute walk away.

My biggest complaint was the cigarette smoke in the common areas and the rowdy football supporters that were congregating in the main area.

I would consider returning if I was on a tight budget.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthernCDNTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I've stayed in this hostel for a month. It has a super nice atmosphere and it is placed between the Hauptbahnhof (about 20 min. walking) and the S-Bahn station Donnersbergerbrücke (about 10 min. walking). The breakfast is awesome with a large choice of quality food.
You can have WiFi in the bedrooms but you gotta pay for it (and it is NOT cheap) or you can use free WiFi in the reception area. Depending on where you get a room, you might have it in your bedroom aswell. The reception is ALWAYS crowded, what makes fight for a socket if you want to plug in your PC or charge your phone.
The staff was not so friendly and quite often I had to line up behind a large group that was checking in just to get clean sheet or towel.

Room Tip: And one tip: the room 606 is the best room! Besides having a GREAT balcony and nice view, it is well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leilloca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Went here with a collage trip last week, upon arriving it was looking great, the room was what you would expect for the price. The only problem we had was trouble with the security at the nights he was very Un friendly,also he did not treat us in a like grown ups, apart from the it was ok

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cymro11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed here for only one night (thank goodness) and were surprised at how unenjoyable the experience was. I had stayed at an A&O in Dresden last year, and it was really nice, so I trusted the name. We reserved well in advance (1 month), for a 6 person room. Upon arriving, were surprised to find out that neither sheets nor towels were included. We payed the 5€ to rent their stiff sheets. We went up to our room, and went through two doors, which took us out onto a porch, where there were four rooms - one of which was ours. Inside, we found an old, rickety room, and a stain on the wall next to our top bunk. The bathroom was old and the sink spewed towards the operator. When we came back in the evening after going out to dinner, our key cards suddenly didn't work. We went back down, and had to get new cards.

Furthermore, don't underestimate how far away this hostel is from the city center. If you want to pay to take the tram, it's fine and easy. But if you want to save money and walk... it's a really long walk. Budget 40 or so minutes.

I would never stay here again. It is well worth paying a few more euros and staying somewhere else, and somewhere a little closer to the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plaistow, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed here on a night out last year. Hostel was a bit far from the town especially when eager to get into the pubs, must have been 3/4hr walk. The check-in process took forever and the staff were very unhelpful esp to people not speaking German. There was no parking either. Unfortunately could not find it after a few too many Dunkels at the beer hall! the taxi driver couldn't seem to find it either. Eventually we got back...Woke up in the morning to find that the water pipes had burst in the bathroom/toilet and the place was ankle deep in murky water. The staff didn't seem that bothered about it and we left after they said it was a problem with the room. Couldn't use any of the facilities but still didn't get a refund... Wouldn't recommend this hotel at all :)

Room Tip: There are no good rooms by the looks of things
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theoriginaldixy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Dolomit
Hotel Dolomit
#253 of 381 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
1.0 mi away
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
#354 of 381 in Munich
3.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Munich City Olympiapark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Novum Hotel Seidlhof Munchen
3.3 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#344 of 381 in Munich
3.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.7 mi away
A&O Muenchen Hauptbahnhof
A&O Muenchen Hauptbahnhof
#362 of 381 in Munich
3.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A&O Munich Hackerbruecke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&O Munich Hackerbruecke

Property: A&O Munich Hackerbruecke
Address: Arnulfstr. 102, 80636 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #370 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — A&O Munich Hackerbruecke 2*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The A&O München Hackerbrücke opened in April 2006 and in May 2010 the lobby was expanded. The ho(s)tel has 200 rooms, all with their own balcony, shower or bathtub. On the rooftop of the house there is a bar with a comfy terrace, which invites guests to relax and take in the breath-taking view over the roofs of Munich.The A&O München Hackerbrücke is just one intra-city train station from the Central Station and is easy to reach by train. Due to its central location the Altstadt can be easily reached by going for a small walk from the A&O and it is thus also the ideal starting point for excursions into the city.Almost all of the rooms in the A&O Hackerbrücke have their own bathtub inviting you to have a relaxing bath and every room has a balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your A&O Munich Hackerbruecke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a And o Munich Hackerbruecke
a&o Munich Hackerbruecke Hotel Munich
a o City Hackerbruecke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing