We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value! Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor
Ranked #21 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Don't let the word "Motel" deter you, this was so much more than we expected. Great price, much better value than economy hotels in the States. Recently built and impeccably neat and clean. The staff was very helpful and professional. Room was a good size for Europeann standards. Comfy bed. Loved the bathroom, great water pressure. Liked the location, easy walking to Marienplatz, Viktulienmarkt and the train station. Love the blue candy hearts in the lobby :)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvlbug04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

731 - 737 of 1,631 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2011

The hotel is like a youth hostel- extremely minimal. Rooms have beds and a TV - no phone, clock, radio. There was no wireless internet available anywhere but in the lobby. The rooms were clean and the lobby was interestingly decorated - very modern. The staff made our stay quite unpleasant. I requested and received email confirmation that I wanted a room away from the elevator in a quiet location. We checked in and went to the rooms and they were directly next to the elevator. The gentleman in line behind us checked in after us and was given a room on the same floor farthest from the elevator. We asked to move rooms and were told they were sold out and we couldn't move. I was told that the manager would contact me the next day and we never received a call or a message or a note for the entirety of our stay. A very nasty bartender spoiled our evening. We were tired and jet lagged and wanted to sit in the lobby and use our laptop for a few minutes before going up to bed. We walked into the courtyard to sit down and he yelled at us to come in and he locked the door to the outside courtyard stating it was going to rain. There wasn't a cloud in the sky. We sat in the lobby(which was very smoky) and my husband rested his foot on the little coffee table in front of him and he dozed off. Granted, it wasn't the most polite move, but the bartender came over and yelled at us again and woke my husband up telling him to get his foot of the table ( one of the those walmart types kids buy for their dorm rooms). The attitude is what offended us not that he wanted the foot off. Anyway, it is cheap and clean, but nothing more than that - if you can afford it stay elsewhere and avoid the nasty service. Haven't lived in anything so sparse since college.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jbird4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

This hotel is in a good location that makes Munich very easy to navigate (close to the underground and a short walk to the Marienplatz). Room was small but stylish; no frills as this is a great economy chain and does not focus on luxury. Everything was very clean and met all our needs though my husband did find the bed a bit stiff. Breakfast was wonderful! Lots of options and very filling; allowed us to eat smaller lunches and save money. A must for families or couples traveling on a budget or simply looking for a convenient room.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NMLind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Could not have found a better hotel - in the Munich city center.
We are a family of 3 and were able to take 2 rooms within our budget .
Location is great - near the Sendler Tor underground and 10 minutes walk to the Marine Platz.
Great breakfast for 7.5 Euro - worth the money.

A 2 star superior - but would say it is more 3 star superior.
Clean rooms - well ventilated - very nice bathrooms - great shower

Could not ask for more.

If you are not looking for luxury - this is the place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldentemple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

A great hotel - very stylish and exceptionally clean. Although the hotel doesn't have a restaurant, the staff gave us some great recommendations of Bavarian-style restaurants. Although it is officially a 2*, it is better than most 4* hotels which I have ever stayed in. The breakfast was buffett-style - there was plenty of fresh produce and fruit. The hotel is a short walk to the main attractions of Munich.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QUBProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Spent 2 nights in Munich on May 12 and 13. This is a great location, only a couple minutes from the Sendlinger Tor metro stop and 5 -10 minute walk to Marienplatze. My wife and I loved the breakfast buffet, not typical American, but we weren't in America either! Very clean rooms on the small size, but we didn't spend that much time in the rooms. Excellent and friendly staff. No problem checking in at 8:30 am.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brisa03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Spent three nights here as part of a group of eleven "mature" blokes. Check in was efficient and all dealings with reception over the weekend were very easy due to all staff speaking some english. Rooms were quite small but all that was needed for a good sleep. Large shower was great. Buffet breakfast was excellent value at €7.50 per person. Location made it easy to reach from the airport. The centre of Munich is within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Speckymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.9 mi away
Motel One Muenchen City Sued
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#16 of 387 in Munich
968 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#6 of 387 in Munich
1,127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 387 in Munich
1,736 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cocoon Stachus
Cocoon Stachus
#53 of 387 in Munich
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor

Address: Herzog-Wilhelm-Str. 28, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#17 Family Hotel in Munich
#22 Business Hotel in Munich
#24 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £81 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 1 Muenchen-Sendl. Tor
Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing