We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and met expectations.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor
Ranked #28 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great location and met expectations.”
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We stayed 4 nights at the Motel One this summer in order to be close to shopping, restaurants, the outdoor market, and downtown attractions. We had stayed at various hotels near the train station on several occasions and had been looking for a hotel in a nice neighborhood closer to the city center. This hotel's location was ideal. There is the Sendlinger Tor UBahn stop just around the corner. There are numerous restaurants just steps away and you can safely walk to the Marienplatz at any time of day or night in about 5 minutes. The hotel rooms were small, as mentioned by previous posters, and very basic. They were however, bright and cheerfully decorated. If you are accustom to spending a lot of time working or lounging in your hotel room when traveling, this motel chain may not be for you. But, if you want a clean, consistent, no-frills room for sleeping, Motel One works very nicely. We took the offer of breakfast (a little chaotic at times) and wifi for 7,5 Euros per day and felt that it was a good value. Did I mention how much I loved the location. It was my favorite in Munich so far. We will return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mona805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    719
    699
    144
    16
    12
See reviews for
189
727
127
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ankeny, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Able to walk from the train station and to the Marianplatz and yet a few yards from a metro station. Soothing aqua motif. Excellent staff, pleasant and helpful. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dandjshannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piraeus, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

my brother stayed at this hotel, but I was there all the time instead of the hotel I booked cause it was waayyy better. The place is unbelievable, there are matching curtains , and everything is grey and blue, they got these fireplaces coming from screans......the rooms are a bit small but the view is so nice you want believe it. it is so new, clean and modern. the buffet has a great variety, everything is perfect. they also got free wifi. just go there without a second thought

Room Tip: the best hotel at the best location. dont hesitate to go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elenitsaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We stayed there in October and we really liked the concept of this hotel. Very nicely decorated and very clean with agreat location, 5 minuets form train station and 5 minutes walk to the city center. Rooms were very small and we didnt order a cot bed for our 2 years old we as read some reviews about the rooms being very small, so we thought to save some space which was not a problem for us. Make sure to bring your own Tissue box and soap as they dont provide these in the bathroom, they provide a shampoo and body wash which we used as a soap and we had to buy our own tissue box which i found it abit weird. Other than that rooms very clean and bathroom very modern and clean, breakfats is worth it and i would recommend it within the room package. Free interenet in our room as well which was very helpful. for the value of money i think this hotel is worth it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADMNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2011

A great hotel with excellent comfortable rooms and friendly helpful staff!

The snacks in the lounge were very tasty without having to nip out when tired.

A great base to explore the city. We visited Munich in December for the Christmas markets - they were delightful. A particular bonus was the mini-Christmas market practically just outside the hotel!

There's also a very tasty bakery just around the corner - turn right out of the hotel, and then right when you reach the next turning!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deej_n_Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids,Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Let me start by the fact that, to me, this is a HOTEL not a MOTEL (as we understand it in the USA). I can honestly say that a 4-star rating is well deserved on this 2-star facility. It is brand new with great facility, wonderful design and colour appeal. The hotel has everything that a guest would want. The rooms are well furnished and the bathroom is functional, clean, new and comfortable.

The morning breakfast was great and had excellent varieties of beverages and cold cuts in addition to bakeries.. Last but NOT least is the location. The hotel is 400 meters from the U line which you can use to access Munich's efficient underground. A day trip is Euro 5.4 and it can take you withing the inner city circule. If you want full access to the city, including the airport, the it is Euro 10.8 per day.. The hotel is easily accessable from Munich Airport. Take the S train to the Central Station and then hup on the U line (U1 green line) to reach the hotel through the Wettersteinplatz Station. From the Airport to the Hotel I paid Euro 10.80 and I had a full day access to every U and S line in the city all day.. Marienplatz (the heart of the touristic area) is 5 stations away from the hotel..

Room Tip: All rooms were great although some rooms may have a poorer wireless connection than others. It happe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avid_Traveler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

The Motel One is a fabulous high value/low price franchise. The rooms were immaculately clean and stylishly modern. Not huge, but we didn't need the space as we were outside most of the day. The breakfast is varied and satisfying.
However, I would encourage everyone to double check their bookings to ensure they are booked for the right days. I tried to confirm three times by email but was not replied to. When we arrived the booking was not complete and we had to wander and find another hotel for the middle night of our stay (which required us to pack and bring our bags elsewhere and then do the same to come back to Motel One the next day). If possible I would phone them to confirm as emailing clearly did not work for me.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah0527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#20 of 382 in Munich
877 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
0.4 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#14 of 382 in Munich
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#44 of 382 in Munich
311 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#10 of 382 in Munich
511 reviews
0.6 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#13 of 382 in Munich
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor

Property: Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor
Address: Herzog-Wilhelm-Str. 28, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#17 Family Hotel in Munich
#22 Business Hotel in Munich
#24 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 1 Muenchen-Sendl. Tor
Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing