We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only place to stay in Munich”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor
Ranked #27 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in Munich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Right where I wanted to be and at a great price! I cannot say enough about the staff...friendly, helpful, and their English is excellent. They made the stay perfect. The room was modern, clean, comfortable, quiet, and a good size. My room overlooked the street on the first floor and there was never a noise issue! The bathroom was efficient and the towels were SO SOFT! WI-FI was free (with breakfast) and strong. There were plenty of outlets in my room. Breakfast was good and standard...and everyone (staff and guests) said "Morgen!".

The location was perfect for me...walking distance from the S-Bahn (to/from the airport), Hauptbahnhof, U-Bahn, Karlsplatz, Marienplatz, the Augustiner, the Hofbräuhaus, and the entire City Center.

I stayed 2 nights in June 2012 and I wish I stayed longer. I won't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    702
    682
    141
    15
    12
See reviews for
182
714
122
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
CopenhagenDenmark
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Motel One was recommended to me by a friend of mine - he knows I like to stay in contemporary hotels (as opposed to the more boutique style hotels). So I went for it - and haven't regretted it.

Motel One at Sendlinger Tor is at a very good location - close the sub - close to the city center - well - close to most things actually. It still looks and feel quite new.

The rooms are of course quite small - but it's still OK (as a single traveller anyway). I "upgraded" my room (Extra cost of €20) to live on the 8th floor with a balcony - had an amazing view of downtown Munich. If possible you should do the update!!!

Paid in total €96 - including breakfast, WLAN and balcony room. For German standards that pretty OK - especially if you consider the "niceness" of the hotel.

Staff was VERY friendly and forthcoming!

My only complaint is the WLAN - the connection simply isn't broad enough. I experienced problems all the time - getting cut off and having to log in several times (despite a strong signal from their router) - and LOOOOW speed. I measured it - via an official webservice - to be appauling 256Kbit!! This is surely due to heavy traffic from other guests - but it's simply not acceptable - upgrade needed badly!!

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadsCopenhagenDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Actually there are not much things to say for this amazing hotel but i want to write a few words. Motel One is the hotel that i stay in Germany for all my trips. I stayed there 3 times in different seasons. Motel One Sendlinger Tor is in an excellent location - heart in the city center and close to all main areas by walk, no need to get on subway if you do not go far in the city. You can reach Marien Platz within 2 minutes by walk. Great staff, good location, minimized but cool rooms, amazing breakfast for 7.50 euros only. I never stay at any hotel other than Motel One during my trips to Germany as long as they have rooms available.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sailorm78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Pretty nice location, very close to underground, and walking distance to the shopping streets and sites.
Internet works somehow a bit on and off,and not free but for this price it's worth to pay for the package with breakfast and internet!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattfyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

We stayed here in june when it was hotttt in munich. Alot of hotels didnt have AC which would have been terrible. Luckily this one does! Look for that... dont just assume all hotels will have it. Good hotel... short walk to city center, right next to u bahn and s bahn stops. Use the gas station down the steet for bottled water...every where else is a ripoff. In room wifi is one euro...but the code for the lobby worked in the room too.. depends where you are i guess. We didnt get breakfast there ...seemed like too much money when you can go across the street or to city center for pasties and coffee for much less. Depends on how much you want to eat for breakfast. Yes bring soap for the room or use the bodywash...no big deal. Front desk staff nice and all speak english well. Overall happy with our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hellohallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012 via mobile

Perfect stay in Munich; chic, clean hotel, really friendly, helpful staff and location is fantastic! Good value also. Stay here- look no further!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciara36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

Nice Hotel: great location just 10 mins walking to the Marienplatz. Small but comfortable rooms, decent breakfast with tasty cappuchino.
Minuses: No WiFi at all, internet access is "possible" via two old PCs at the reception. Frankly speaking there is no internet at all. Price for double room with all Taxes and breakfast is 100 eur which is a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikolays_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#19 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
0.4 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#15 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
0.6 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#16 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,876 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#9 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor

Property: Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor
Address: Herzog-Wilhelm-Str. 28, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#17 Family Hotel in Munich
#22 Business Hotel in Munich
#24 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 1 Muenchen-Sendl. Tor
Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing