We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, friendly hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor
Ranked #27 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
cambridge
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great, friendly hotel!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Visited motel one for a visit with friends last week. The hotel was excellent in every way. The service at reception was fantastic and they booked us all in quickly - literally in the rooms and dropped bags within 10 minutes - and there was 13 of us!

The rooms were lovely and clean, and the bathroom contemporary. We had no issue with the slightly smaller size - I'm in munich and dont want to spend all my time in the hotel!

Literally 5 seconds walk is the Sendlinger Tor Platz which has cafes, bars and the S Bahn station. If you stay here you are very central! Marienplatz and the centre of munich are right there (marienplatz 5 minute walk). Also from Munich airport you are 30 minutes on the train including one change at Hauptbahnhoff (although we didn't bother and walked it as the weather was nice)

Lastly, the bar stays open 24hrs a day and the service was not only friendly and fast but genuinely like being at the comedy club! The batman was hilarious and didn't mind us popping back at 3 am for a night cap.

Again, great hotel, great location, fantastic staff. I'm definitely going to stay here again!

PROST!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmyhvac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SendlingerTor, Sales Manager at Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear valued guest,
we are happy that you have enjoyed your stay at Motel One München-Sendlinger Tor.
We are looking forward to welcome you in one of our hotels again.
Kindly regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    702
    682
    141
    15
    12
See reviews for
182
714
122
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This was the first ever Motel One I stayed in and cannot overstate how impressed I was with it.
The hotel was impeccably clean and well maintained, the room was spotless and the sheets and towels smelt fresh and felt soft to touch. Compact of course as with any value hotel but to describe this is a value/budget hotel is a disservice. I stayed for two nights and the location was fantastic being very central for all trips around the city as it is close to the city centre and an underground station just 2 minutes from the entrance.
I could happily have stayed here for a week or longer it was so comfortable.
The breakfast was great as well with a generous selection available and all fresh to get you off to a good start to the day.
Whether for a weekend break or longer you should definitely stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LostTraveller90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SendlingerTor, Sales Manager at Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear valued guest,
we would like to thank you that you have chosen our hotel for your visit in Munich.
We are pleased of your positive comment.
Kindly regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
97 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This is an economical hotel. ideal for a short term business traveller. Great location and walkikng distance form good stores and fantastic restaurants. the city's business happendnot far away and most offices are within a short taxi ride. The rooms are well appointed and the breakfast is truly hearty - German style? the hotel and its surroundings have a great buzz that makes you feel alive after a hard day's work.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baptista2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SendlingerTor, Sales Manager at Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Baptista,
thank you very much that you honorably mentioned our hotel at Tripadvisor.
We are looking forward to welcome you again at Motel One München-Sendlinger Tor.
Kindly regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We were looking to stay on a relative budget during our trip through Germany and were admittedly skeptical when we considered the price of this hotel compared to others so close to the Marienplatz. We were pleasantly surprised by the good view and easy walk to many attractions in Munich. The room was clean, quiet and had a large window. The bathroom was quite small. However, we anticipated small rooms given other hotels we encountered on our trip.

The service was friendly and having access to the internet in the lobby let us get in touch easily with everybody at home.

We were able to walk to most of the places we wanted to go and felt that the hotel was in a safe area, even when returning late at night.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CK101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SendlingerTor, Sales Manager at Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Sir and Madame,
first of all we would like to say thank you for sharing your good experiences at Motel One München-Sendlinger Tor. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Kindly regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greece
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The hotel resides in a very central area, just a few meters away is the metro station and in just a few minutes walk is the central shopping markets, restaurants and bars. This is literally the only advantage of this hotel. Other than that, the room we got was extremely small. So small that we really didn't have the space to put our luggage in an open position, no place to move around, the carpet on the floor was not looking clean and gave away a kind of bad smell and the pillows were way too thin. We had to ask for pillows 2-3 times before we got them. There was no telephone in the room, so there was no access to the reception from within the room. No minibar as well. The bathroom was clean but also very uncomfortably small. Also, every morning the breakfast was served in the lobby area and therefore it was too heavy on a "frying smoke and smell" from the preparation. We also found the lobby cleaners quite impolite, as they were asking you to move here and there (no matter if you were carrying heavy luggage). 12pm is not the right time to clean the main lobby of a hotel, this implies very bad hotel management. Reception staff quite indifferent, the client gets the impression that he's offered a "mass production service", not one customized to his needs. I would definitely not stay here again and I regret not going the extra "mile" to choose a better hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdar002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SendlingerTor, Sales Manager at Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear valued guests,
with deep regret we have realized that our concept could not matches your needs. Our Motel One rooms have a standard size of approximately 16 sqm. Further more our property owns three business rooms and 7 roof terrace rooms, which are providing more space. Generally our rooms are not equipped with a minibar or telephone.
Our "One Lounge" is our lobby and breackfast area, which we have to clean several times per day, especially after breakfast.
We really would like to apologize for any inconvenience according to the negative points you have mentioned.
Kindly regards from Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
175 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Motel One Sendlinger Tor is strategically located in the center of Munich, within walking distance to all attractions, and literally steps from metro and tram public transportation.
Just that alone makes it a great choice for a stay in Munich.

The hotel is quite new (new enough that Google street view shows it under construction), and as such everything is new and quite clean.

Rooms are small (the size I would expect in Tokyo or Hong Kong), but quite functional and sport a modern design. As a cost saving measure they limit a few things:
- There are no phones in rooms - which, honestly, in our age of wi-fi and mobile devices is perfectly acceptable.
- They do control room electricity by requiring a room key to be inserted in the holder. It's not a huge deal in the winter (room stayed pretty warm with AC/heat being off most off the time) but might get unpleasant in summer, I suppose.
- They limit free toiletries to two bottles of liquid "universal wash". This is one item that puzzled me - I suspect that most visitors would prefer a bar of soap - as it's pretty wasteful and not very convenient to wash hands with liquid from a tiny bottle, and can't be any cheaper. It's also a poor choice for the environment, as you invariably end up with 2 small poorly recyclable plastic bottles per day in a trash bin. At the same time, tiny liquid soap bottles are not terribly useful in the shower either, and guests often will have their own anyway. I wish they'd reconsider their choice of toiletries.

Breakfast was not included in our rate and was charged at 7.50 euro per person. It's a fairly standard "European" breakfast choice, slightly monotonous after a few days. That said, at 15 euro per day per double room tacked onto 84 euro daily rate for a total of about euro 100 for a double room - we are entering a standard (rather than budget) hotel price range. It's still a decent value, but perhaps does not justify all of the cost saving measures they take.

I would still return, given a chance - but would bring my own bar of soap :) Perhaps you should too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bork3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This is a really good, cheerful and very good located hotel. Very easy to find from the metro station, quick and cheerful check in, helpful on any questions you have. Close to the Sendlinger Tor metro stop. Good Pizza place just across the street. It's a great city to explore. I also went to see Bayern Munich, which was a great experience and friendly atmosphere (most games are sold out but Bayern have their own Viagogo site which you can pay slightly more on but get to see a game in the Allianz Arena) Overall, great hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banks_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SendlingerTor, Sales Manager at Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Sir and Madame,
thank you for your positive comment at Tripadvisor. Great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
Kindly regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#19 of 382 in Munich
803 reviews
0.4 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#15 of 382 in Munich
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
0.6 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#16 of 382 in Munich
1,875 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#10 of 382 in Munich
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor

Property: Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor
Address: Herzog-Wilhelm-Str. 28, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#17 Family Hotel in Munich
#22 Business Hotel in Munich
#24 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 1 Muenchen-Sendl. Tor
Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing