We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trendy, economical and a great location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor
Ranked #26 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Trendy, economical and a great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

What a great hotel! The rooms are designed very basic yet trendy. Although the bathroom was quite small, the room was perfect. The lounge and courtyard area was very comforting, and nice to sit and have a beer or cappuccino after a long day of sight seeing. The staff was VERY friendly, and helpful. This location was also perfect. We were a 10 minute walk from the main train station, and about a 5 minute walk from Marianplatz and all of the cool shopping! I highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    698
    673
    141
    15
    12
See reviews for
182
704
121
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I spent one night at Hotel One for a quick stopover in Munich and couldn't have been more pleased. As other reviewers have noted, the room was small, but that really didn't detract from our experience. The room was clean, the location was super convenient, and the staff (Martin in particular) was first class--helpful, pleasant, friendly. And the rate was very affordable. Apparently Motel One is a relatively new hotel chain that will soon be expanding to New York. as I travel to NYC occasionally for business, I will be certain to try and book with them here in the US.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Hotels in Munich can be expensive and amenities vary widely. Motel One may sound like a motel, but to be clear it is a hotel and a very good one at that.

ROOM SIZE
Many rooms in european hotels are smaller than those found in the U.S. Travelers from the states should keep this in mind before passing judgment on any accommodations. That said, these are quite adequate rooms that are comfortable and include a TV, personal shower, etc. I did not see any coffee maker.

TOURIST CONSIDERATIONS
The room has ample plugs with 240V power, but no 120V (U.S. style) plugs, even int he bathroom so if you have any devices to charge, make sure they are capable of automatically switching voltage. A hair dryer is included in the bathroom so don't bring your own. Most devices like shavers, phone chargers and such can accommodate voltage differences. However, be warned that electric Sonicare toothbrush base chargers are NOT 240V compliant, so if you have one of these you'll also need a step-down transformer, not just a simple connector adaptor.

The staff spoke fluent English and were polite and friendly throughout our stay.

The design is modern so don't expect a lot of classic interiors with framed pictures of ancient times and large statues and tapestries. The look is very contemporary and there's a lot of wood, metal and glass throughout and if that is okay with you, you'll love it.

BREAKFAST
One of the best deals here is the breakfast. Just 7,50 Euro for an all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet was a spectacular deal. Ask for this when you book your room.

LOCATION
Motel One is located in a place that is a few minutes walk from the Paulaner beer garden, and about five minutes from a train station that can take you pretty much anywhere in Munich.

Parking can be an issue. We had twi vehicles to park in front while we checked in and a cab driver got bent out of shape over having a very narrow passage because one of our vehicles we on the limits of the available temporary parking. If you can unload your car quickly then go park somewhere, you'll be fine.

PRICE
Of course, prices are subject to change and vary depending on time of year and local events but we paid only 69 euro/night in the middle of summer (July). This was a terrific rate for such a nice place.

The bottom line is that I would stay at Motel One again without hesitation. Americans, don't let the "motel" name fool you. This isn't Motel 6, it's a hotel that's number one in my book.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurtsterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joinville, SC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel in Munich's downtown has a wonderful location near to the main touristic attractions like Marienplatz, Viktualienmarket and restaurants. Besides, there is a metro as well as tram station only 3 minutes walking. The room is ordinary, simple and small, but clean and new. For those who desire to stay in a pleasant accomodation with a big and luxury room, pool, nice breakfast, this is not the right place, otherwise, if you´re looking for good location to explore Munich, price x benefit, comfort with simplicity, this is ideal. We booked with credit card, and then paid in cash during check-in (it was our choise).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Felipe579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights. Hotel was spotless. The room was small but not an issue for us because we were out exploring Munich most of the time. There is free wifi available. The room was cleaned every day. We had a modern bathroom, with an amazing power shower!

The metro is right beside the hotel but you can explore the centre of Munich on foot very easily from the hotel. We got the metro when we went to the English gardens and when we were going to and from the airport!

Breakfast was not included, we ate there on our last morning. What we had was lovely - croissant, yogurt, juice - your usual selection at a continental breakfast buffet.

We enjoyed having a night cap in the hotel bar when we came home at night. Nice cocktails and the bar always had a bit of atmosphere in it. We also had toasted sandwiches when we came home one night and were hungry, which were very nice!
I would definitely recommend for a budget stay in Munich.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KittyBeag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night as a couple. Room was clean and comfortable, staff were very friendly and even let me use the phone for free, location was great for a walk around the city. Breakfast buffet was pretty good too. Perfect for what we needed.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank yannfriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Cary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Motel One is one of a chain of similar hotels and as such is not the place for an individual experience. Having said that, the quality is excellent throughout and is very good value for the price. We stayed for four days and found all of the staff that we encountered to be pleasant and helpful. The rooms are small but perfectly adequate and generally well equipped. Best of all is the location, a fifteen minute walk to Marienplatz in the centre of Munich and with tram and metro located immediately behind the hotel.
I would certainly recommend Motel One at Sendlinger Tor as a decent base for a few days in Munich

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick101215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#18 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt
0.4 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#13 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#16 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
0.6 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#15 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor

Property: Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor
Address: Herzog-Wilhelm-Str. 28, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#17 Family Hotel in Munich
#22 Business Hotel in Munich
#24 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 1 Muenchen-Sendl. Tor
Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing