We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to explore Munich”
Review of Hotel Obermaier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Obermaier
Ranked #6 of 67 Munich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Friendly stuff, nice rooms (although the single rooms are a bit small) for a good price
15 minutes by car to Munich center (park at garage Am Oberanger, very close to Marienplatz)
Great breakfast (try the home made cerial)
wifi at lobby for free, rooms at charge
Attached to a restaurant with own butcher; great German/ Bavarian food!
Free parking

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2012

Hotel Obermaier had very nice rooms. The rooms were very big and our room included a couch and tables. There was an elevator, which was very convenient. The breakfast buffet had a good assortment of cheese, meat, eggs, cereal, breads and jams. There were also free chocolates, gummy bear snacks and free beverages when we arrived. The only downfall was, the hotel was a long way from the Munich city center. You have to take the subway to get there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Wonderful staff, great service, nice rooms, fabulous breakfast included, free parking. Location isn't perfect but it is located very close to the U bahn. We were able to purchase our tickets at the front desk and it was about a 15 minute ride to central Munich. While we very much enjoyed our stay, after visiting "marienplatz", the heart of the old part of Munich, I wish we had chosen a hotel in that area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAH_Chicago_Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

Realy great service and excellent breakfast.
We had a great stay and the staff was realy nice most helpful with all.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nashvilleforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

The hotel was well located within 4 minutes walk of Trudering S bahn with very easy access to central Munich. It was clean and well run with very friendly staff, the room was small (single) but more than adequate and included breakfast which was plentiful and reasonably varied. The restaurant next door is well worth a visit, plenty of locals in there, always a good sign! A 'proper' Bavarian hotel and one I would definitely recommend, excellent value for money and add to that I saw Chelsea win the Champions league and it really could not have been a better few days!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arif X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Our Family stayed here the first week of May, 2012. What a delightful place. The staff could not have been nicer. The rooms were perfect and very comfortable. We found the bathroom had a heated floor, quite by accident, but that was really fun. Speaking of the bathroom, it was really modern and fabulous. The restaurant was very wonderful, too. We sat one evening in the garden and one evening inside. Both a great experience. The subway access is very close, so nothing is far away. The prices were reasonable, too.

Room Tip: Had rooms for singles, two people and three people> We had someone if the family in all three and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvstotravelanywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Hotel Obermaier is a charming family hotel decorated in Bavarian style. The breakfast is marvellous, especially the homemade bakery. Though it seems to be far from the city center at first, the U-bahn is close and takes only 10 min. to Marienplatz. The rooms are large enough and very clean. We had a very pleasant stay that I could advise to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank me6ke2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
5.8 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#103 of 387 in Munich
874 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Zeevat
4.6 mi away
Pension am Jakobsplatz
Pension am Jakobsplatz
#1 of 67 in Munich
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hotel Bayers
Hotel Bayers
#2 of 67 in Munich
268 reviews
7.9 mi away
Gasthof Sollner Hof
Gasthof Sollner Hof
#23 of 67 in Munich
39 reviews
7.5 mi away
LetoMotel City Nord
LetoMotel City Nord
#7 of 67 in Munich
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Obermaier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Obermaier

Address: Truderinger Str. 306, 81825 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Munich
Price Range: £99 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Obermaier 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Obermaier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing