We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and comfortable”
Review of Hotel Obermaier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Obermaier
Ranked #8 of 67 Munich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2010

My wife, 5-year old son and I stayed for four nights in early March 2010 to attend a family function (I grew up about a mile away). The Hotel Obermaier is an excellent place to stay in the east of Munich, and a great opportunity to experience rather genuine Bavarian culture in comfort.

The location is right in the center of the suburb of Trudering. Trudering used to be a small agricultural village outside of Munich until its annexation in 1932, and the Hotel Obermaier used to be a farmhouse and inn in that village for hundreds of years. In fact, the hotel has apparently been in possession of the Obermaier family since 1863.
Several shops are within walking distance, e.g. two bakeries, a toy store, a grocery store etc.

Right next to the hotel is the restaurant "Gasthof Obermaier" that lets you taste authentic and deliciously done Bavarian cuisine for a very reasonable price, and in a great ambiente - including a real "Stammtisch" where the locals congregate in the evening for beer and playing cards. If you feel adventurous, try the "Saure Lunge" - a Bavarian specialty that I particularly like. But all the other items we tried were fantastic, too, both on the regular and the kids' menu.

The rooms are spacious and beautifully furnished in a mixture of modern and traditional style that's functional and not cheesy at all. The bathrooms are just gorgeous - our room had floor heating, a bathtub and a shower.
Breakfast is included (which seems to be unusual these days!) and was plentiful and very tasty. Try the homemade "muesli" and the "leberkaes". We loved it.
The hotel is a bit out of the way, but fast public transportation to the city center is within walking distance.

We paid a very competitive price for our room, but be aware that during popular trade shows at the nearby "Messe", prices are more than triple the rate we paid.

The only issue (a big one for me unfortunately) was the abysmal service from the hotel's only Internet Service Provider, GANAG. The service is very expensive (an extra 12 Euros per day), and worked only very intermittently for me. I'm fairly technically savvy, and think that there are big problems with GANAGs WLAN setup. It worked ok when I relocated to the hotel lobby, but not in my room, and it was very slow even when it worked. I contacted GANAG during my stay, and while their technician was friendly and quick to respond, he could not fix my problem.
I hope GANAG fixes the problem, or the hotel contracts a different ISP.

Apart from this, I think Hotel Obermaier is a real hidden gem, and definitely worth a stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GirglKrautbichler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Margherita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Enzo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank volkerk855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank CannondaleDresden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Martina1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vittorio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
5.4 mi away
Arthotel Munich
Arthotel Munich
#31 of 390 in Munich
948 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 390 in Munich
2,313 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Kriemhild
Hotel Kriemhild
#4 of 390 in Munich
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Novotel Munich City
Novotel Munich City
#50 of 390 in Munich
2,775 reviews
4.3 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#13 of 390 in Munich
2,078 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Zeevat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Obermaier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Obermaier

Address: Truderinger Str. 306, 81825 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Munich
Price Range: £81 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Obermaier 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Obermaier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing