We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff”
Review of Hotel Metropol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Metropol
Ranked #7 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Staff was try helpful, breakfast was very good and fresh, everything i excepted in a three star hotel for that price, at the heart of the city.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linlin22_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

394 - 400 of 1,123 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2012

We chose this hotel due to its location, 100 metres from the train station (we intended to make a few trips by train). WE were not, in any way, disappointed.(ok, one minor disappointmente only with the free wi fi and its very weak signal)

The street is very very quiet. Reception staff were very nice and gave all the info we needed. We still find it hard to believe that we stayed 7 nights, breakfast included, deluxe room, 3 day-transportation-ticket included, all for 830 euros!

Room very large, with a fridge, safe box, beds too soft for my taste though.
Bathroom small but adequate.
Breakfast absolutely fantastic with everything you could ask for.

The hotel is a 15 minute walking into the city centre (we did it 4 or 5 days) and never felt unsafe.

Germany has a great railway system and we took full advantage of it: we bought the Bavaria Card, 29 euros (for up to 5 people) and visited serval main sites and cities: Garmish Partenkirchen, Fussen and Neuschwanstein Castle, Nuremberg, just to name a few.

An unforgettable trip setting base in Metropol Hotel. I'd stay there again without even blinking.

Room Tip: It's worth paying a bit more for the totally refurbished deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shethinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The hotel is located around the corner from the central main station and it only takes 2 tram stops or 15min by foot to get to the city centre. Thus, it is a great place to stay at when you are sightseeing in Munich. The staff was very friendly and helpful, we were offered an umbrella when it was raining and they answered all questions easily. The complimentary breakfast was extremely good, especially the coffee, since they have a WMF coffee maker. The rooms have a modern design, with bright green and brown colors. The only thing I can criticize is the old-fashioned bathroom, but nevertheless, it was very clean. You can park your car in their private garage (because parking outside is nearly impossible) for 13€ a night, where it is safe (remember you are in the train station district where strange people are hanging out at night). The neighborhood as such is not the nicest, but you needn't feel nervous, even late at night.
Before you book the hotel online, look on their own website, they offer better deals there!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carotinoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

My friend and I stayed four nights at the Hotel Metropol in March, 2012.

We were upgraded to a deluxe room upon arrival. The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable and also had tea and coffee making facilities. As the hotel is located on a quiet side street, there was no noise whatsoever.

The staff spoke perfect English and were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great, with plenty of choice, I especially enjoyed the scrambled eggs.

The hotel is only a 3 minute walk from the main train station which, along with the positive reviews on tripadvisor, was the reason we chose it.

Munich is a beautiful city and we would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trish990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I travel with my husband and a baby and stay in Metropol Hotel for 15 days. . . We had a very good first impression from Germany out of Metropol Hotel. All the team were very helpfull and friendly, the breakfast was simply delicius, a big variety of fruit, juices, yogourts, German bread (that was one of the best parts), fresh coffee, and differents kinds of cheese), in the other hand the place where is located is very convinient for traveling, because is so close to the Central Station and to nice places to go during the day and night.

We are very greatfull with Simone (One of the Head of the Team and Maria, a sweet lady who works there)

Highly recomended!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yohamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Great value with parking available. Agree with others that the shower is a bit odd, but that is a minor issue. Breakfast was excellent with something for everyone.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsr0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I selected this hotel due to its close location to the main railway station, which was 2 minutes walk away, with the old town around a 10 minute walk.
The hotel is average, it feels a little like an office building they have turned into a hotel, with large cold feeling rooms. The bar area is very small and not that welcoming.
On a positve, I dont really speak a lot of German, but it wasnt a problem, as the hotel staff spoke perfect English and were only to happy to help.
For the price and overnight stay the hotel is fine, if you were planning on staying longer I think there maybe better options

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HerefordWhites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 387 in Munich
1,733 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#100 of 387 in Munich
873 reviews
1.0 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#12 of 387 in Munich
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 387 in Munich
2,271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#14 of 387 in Munich
588 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropol

Address: Mittererstrasse 7, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £77 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Metropol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk right in: We cordially welcome you! In our two privately run hotels Mirabell and Metropol located in the heart of Munich you will feel good and almost like home. For us it is a very special concern to be good hosts and offer our guests the highest comfort and personal service. Business trip, city tour or weekend excursion – we want you to feel like home and in good hands in our city hotels. The loyalty of our guests and employees has shown us for many years that it is worth having high standards for service, atmosphere and comfort. Central, comfortable and simply to feel good! Regardless of whether you are on a business trip or wish to privately experience the beautiful city of Munich – the immediate proximity to the main station and the direct connection to the airport make our hotel the perfect place to stay during your Munich trip. Go for a leisurely stroll through the Munich city centre, indulge your palate and taste the delicacies from Viktualienmarkt or enjoy the perfect location of our hotels in order to quickly and easily fulfil your professional obligations in the New Trade Fair Riem or other destinations. How big were you thinking? With us you are really spoilt for choice between four different room categories – according to your needs and wishes. Whether in the modern superior room with fresh look and clear design, in the comfortable deluxe category, a spacious suite or in an exclusive and at the same time private business room – just feel good and like home. All rooms are equipped with bathroom, shower, WC, hairdryer, telephone, tea maker, radio, TV and even free SKY. Thanks to the hotel’s internal air conditioning system, you can relax and take a deep breath all over the place and you can also use free Wi-Fi in all the rooms. With us nobody starts the day hungry! Our nutritious breakfast daily from 6:30 to 10:30 am keeps its promises! Enjoy fresh cereal mixes, organic yoghurt and fruit salads, feast and taste warm specialities such as spicy egg dishes as well as savoury cheese specialities with oven-fresh rolls. And to stave off thirst and fatigue, there are freshly squeezed vital juices, hot tea and aromatic coffee specialities. With all our delicacies we place great importance on the origin and mainly use products of regional producers or from organic farms. Should you have any allergies, you must not leave the table hungry. Lactose-free dairy products are of course part of our buffet and even gluten-free bread, cake or muesli are available at any time. Let’s bet that with this breakfast, every day will feel like Sunday morning. Welcome to Munich, welcome here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Metropol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing