We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous - a delight to stay”
Review of Hotel Metropol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Metropol
Ranked #9 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous - a delight to stay”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I recently spent 5 days in Munich as part of a choir trip, and we stayed at the Hotel Metropol. The interior was strikingly decorated, and beautifully clean. We were in a family room, in which the linen was changed every day, and the room cleaned to a high standard. Despite being a 5 minute walk from the Hauptbahnhof, the room was quiet (on a side street), even with the windows open, and had blackout lining on the curtains - ideal for a light sleeper like me!

The staff were friendly and helpful, and were keen to help us plan our journeys and find the best routes to places. There was a bar which was open in the evenings when we returned from our concerts, and they kept us well fuelled with drinks and snacks.

Breakfast was delicious, with a wide variety of fayre to cater for all tastes - cereals, meats, bread, pastries, fruit, yoghurt, juice, hot drinks and much much more!

Free wifi access was available with a code from the reception, which had to be replaced every 24 hours. The hotel also stored our cases on our last day whilst we sang in the city before coming back to collect them in the early evening to go to the airport.

I would definitely stay here again - the hotel is in a great location for walking to the Marienplatz or the Hauptbahnhof, the food was ideal for me, and the rooms were lovely. Danke schoen!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are less noisy as they are away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archduchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    344
    61
    7
    6
See reviews for
114
409
72
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

If you look for a hotel that is not too expensive but close to the main railway station it is a good choice. The room are nice and clean. However, you feel it has been refurbished (e.g. toilet doors have been replaced with more fancy sliding doors. Especially in the staircase you feel like in a rather dull place. Breakfast is nice!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Just had 4 nights at this hotel. Lovely room quite large. Nice quiet side street so no traffic noise. Very near mainline station which was handy as we travelled from London by train. Great breakfast, lots of choice. Ten minute slow walk to Marienplatz but no problem. Trams and City sightseeing buses, only few minutes away. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddocksjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Very good hotel in station area (Hauptbahnhof), not charming, but efficient.
I spent here 1 night, and it was very satisfating.
Rooms very confortable and clean, the hotel is located in a side street, so, no traffic noise.
The breakfast was of good quality and variety.

I had a missunderstanding during booking, but it was solved in a couple of email...

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b0b082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coogee, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We only stayed one night at the Metropole but wished we had planned a few extra nights. Everything about the hotel was perfect for us, including the location close to the main rail station and the main sights such as Marienplatz. Other reviewers have commented that the area is a bit seedy, but we found it totally OK. Our flight into Munich arrived very early, so we were at the hotel at 8am hoping we could check in. The lovely reception staff checked us in early with no problems at all, which we really appreciated. We were just so impressed with all the staff we met, they were so friendly, and looked after everything we needed with no fuss. The room itself suited us too; nice decor, bright and modern, compact but well-designed for the space, sort of minimalist which we like, with good space for all of our things, and opening windows for fresh air. The twin beds were super comfortable (firm) and the bedding was lovely. Bathroom was a good size with a shower/bath...which all worked well. The room had coffee/tea making (and a complimentary water), along with free internet, which not all hotels have so that was appreciated too. Everything about the hotel and room was so clean and immaculate, and well maintained. And then there's the breakfast! What a great surprise to have a fabulous quality breakfast, a delicious spread of hot and cold choices in a lovely breakfast room. The huge range of items was kept well stocked, and staff were cheerful and unobtrusive. The room rate was reasonable too, especially with the discount for online booking. So we just had the best time staying at the Metropole..we would recommend it..and we will definitely stay there in the future. We stay at dozens of hotels every year as we travel a lot...and the Metropole is now up there as one of our favourite hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the building would be the quietest...but all the rooms would be quiet as it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnjcoogee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Very good location,reasonable price,clean,fre wifi,staff allways ready to assist you.
If you arrive in Munich by train or via Ryan air this is the Hotel to stay. Recently renovated.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GAK15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
139 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

The staff was very helpful and friendly. They made you feel welcome at all times. The location was excellent. We were steps away from the main train station. The neighborhood was good despite being so close to the station. The breakfast was excellent! All that being said...the colors scheme was a bit gross. I am not usually one to care about colors or interior design but the green they use on their walls was nauseating. The rooms were a good size but the setup was not the most efficient use of space. If they were to change these items I would give the hotel an excellent rating. I would recommend staying here because of the great location, staff and breakfast and hopefully before you arrive the will repaint the green to tone it down!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaHannahStevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 383 in Munich
1,528 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#8 of 383 in Munich
491 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#10 of 383 in Munich
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
0.4 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 383 in Munich
1,497 reviews
1.0 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 383 in Munich
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropol

Property: Hotel Metropol
Address: Mittererstrasse 7, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropol 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk right in: We cordially welcome you! In our two privately run hotels Mirabell and Metropol located in the heart of Munich you will feel good and almost like home. For us it is a very special concern to be good hosts and offer our guests the highest comfort and personal service. Business trip, city tour or weekend excursion – we want you to feel like home and in good hands in our city hotels. The loyalty of our guests and employees has shown us for many years that it is worth having high standards for service, atmosphere and comfort. Central, comfortable and simply to feel good! Regardless of whether you are on a business trip or wish to privately experience the beautiful city of Munich – the immediate proximity to the main station and the direct connection to the airport make our hotel the perfect place to stay during your Munich trip. Go for a leisurely stroll through the Munich city centre, indulge your palate and taste the delicacies from Viktualienmarkt or enjoy the perfect location of our hotels in order to quickly and easily fulfil your professional obligations in the New Trade Fair Riem or other destinations. How big were you thinking? With us you are really spoilt for choice between four different room categories – according to your needs and wishes. Whether in the modern superior room with fresh look and clear design, in the comfortable deluxe category, a spacious suite or in an exclusive and at the same time private business room – just feel good and like home. All rooms are equipped with bathroom, shower, WC, hairdryer, telephone, tea maker, radio, TV and even free SKY. Thanks to the hotel’s internal air conditioning system, you can relax and take a deep breath all over the place and you can also use free Wi-Fi in all the rooms. With us nobody starts the day hungry! Our nutritious breakfast daily from 6:30 to 10:30 am keeps its promises! Enjoy fresh cereal mixes, organic yoghurt and fruit salads, feast and taste warm specialities such as spicy egg dishes as well as savoury cheese specialities with oven-fresh rolls. And to stave off thirst and fatigue, there are freshly squeezed vital juices, hot tea and aromatic coffee specialities. With all our delicacies we place great importance on the origin and mainly use products of regional producers or from organic farms. Should you have any allergies, you must not leave the table hungry. Lactose-free dairy products are of course part of our buffet and even gluten-free bread, cake or muesli are available at any time. Let’s bet that with this breakfast, every day will feel like Sunday morning. Welcome to Munich, welcome here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Metropol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing