We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better then some 4 star hotels”
Review of Hotel Metropol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Metropol
Ranked #7 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Near the Hauptbanhof (the central station with train & metro..), excellent service with a helpful staff.. The room are big, confortable and clean.. The breakfast was great, with a big selection of drinks and food, I advise to eat eggs & meatballs.. It is 1 of the best breakfast I eat in a hotel..

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Massimo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

361 - 367 of 1,123 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2013

The Hotel is centrally located. It takes you only 10min walk to the city centre and all means of transporation( tram, subway and train ) are next door.
Rooms are very nicely decorated, comfortable and big, at least 406 where I stayed in. All is clean and well maintained. Staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. Breakfast ok, could have more warm dishes such as eggs fried sunny side. I would definately reccomend this hotel and stay there again. It is much better then some 4* rated hotels I stayed in.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank codered69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

This hotel is located very close to the central train station in a busy and not very charming district of the city. While it is not very cozy outside, the hotel itself is doing the best to make it's customers feel comfortable - the rooms are ok for the prize as is the breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mario060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

The best benefit of this hotel is it's close location to the central train station. The district itself is not the best of the city, which is true for the central train station surroundings of most European cities - but you do not feel unsafe there.
The hotel itself is of good quality, the rooms are comfortable and clean - and it has definitely more "charm" then one of the many chain-hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smiley7979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I feel at home and among friends. The hotel is very cozy. However this year it was a bit more expensive maybe due to the new investments made. I was happy with my room I would like to have always rooms between-401-409 No's A chair with a back to work on the desk would be lovely + a minibar of course. The nearness to th Hauptbahnhof is an excellent advantage

Room Tip: I would like to have always rooms between-401-409 No's A chair with a back to work on the desk w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Umitiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

This is the third time i've stayed at this hotel. Good location, 5 mins walk from Hbf. Check in has always been easy, and all of the staff speak good English (my German is terrible...).

Rooms are very nicely decorated, very modern except the bathrooms which are less so, but perfectly functional. Wi-fi works relatively well. Breakfast is perfectly adequate, with a decent selection.

The price has always been very competitive for Munich, so I've stopped looking elsewhere. The staff are friendly enough to keep me coming back. One word of caution - they do offer 10% off your next stay if you write a favourable review on here, i'm sure this doesn't affect the rating much as people obviously want to come back but it may inflate the number of reviews :)

Room Tip: If you smoke - some rooms have balconies, ask for one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moonchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Hotel Metropol is convenient, safe, and friendly. It is a small hotel right around the corner from Le Meridien and across the street from the Sofitel. The Hauptbahnhof is just a short walk also which makes Hotel Metropol a great place to have as a home base.
The breakfast and the breakfast room are excellent with lots of choices as well as whatever coffee drink or tea flavor you are in the mood for.
The staff is always helpful and the rooms are spotless. The maids seem to work full-time to keep the rooms and hallways clean.
This hotel does not have restaurants, swimming pools or exercise rooms and the rooms are not big but that is reflected in the reasonable price. You will pay double elsewhere in Munich (we did as we stayed in a full service hotel upon flying into Munich and the Metropol before leaving). But, If you are looking for a nice little headquarters so that you can sightsee in Munich and surrounding areas, this is the ideal spot.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gayle2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 387 in Munich
1,733 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#100 of 387 in Munich
873 reviews
1.0 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#12 of 387 in Munich
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 387 in Munich
2,271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#14 of 387 in Munich
588 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropol

Address: Mittererstrasse 7, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £77 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Metropol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk right in: We cordially welcome you! In our two privately run hotels Mirabell and Metropol located in the heart of Munich you will feel good and almost like home. For us it is a very special concern to be good hosts and offer our guests the highest comfort and personal service. Business trip, city tour or weekend excursion – we want you to feel like home and in good hands in our city hotels. The loyalty of our guests and employees has shown us for many years that it is worth having high standards for service, atmosphere and comfort. Central, comfortable and simply to feel good! Regardless of whether you are on a business trip or wish to privately experience the beautiful city of Munich – the immediate proximity to the main station and the direct connection to the airport make our hotel the perfect place to stay during your Munich trip. Go for a leisurely stroll through the Munich city centre, indulge your palate and taste the delicacies from Viktualienmarkt or enjoy the perfect location of our hotels in order to quickly and easily fulfil your professional obligations in the New Trade Fair Riem or other destinations. How big were you thinking? With us you are really spoilt for choice between four different room categories – according to your needs and wishes. Whether in the modern superior room with fresh look and clear design, in the comfortable deluxe category, a spacious suite or in an exclusive and at the same time private business room – just feel good and like home. All rooms are equipped with bathroom, shower, WC, hairdryer, telephone, tea maker, radio, TV and even free SKY. Thanks to the hotel’s internal air conditioning system, you can relax and take a deep breath all over the place and you can also use free Wi-Fi in all the rooms. With us nobody starts the day hungry! Our nutritious breakfast daily from 6:30 to 10:30 am keeps its promises! Enjoy fresh cereal mixes, organic yoghurt and fruit salads, feast and taste warm specialities such as spicy egg dishes as well as savoury cheese specialities with oven-fresh rolls. And to stave off thirst and fatigue, there are freshly squeezed vital juices, hot tea and aromatic coffee specialities. With all our delicacies we place great importance on the origin and mainly use products of regional producers or from organic farms. Should you have any allergies, you must not leave the table hungry. Lactose-free dairy products are of course part of our buffet and even gluten-free bread, cake or muesli are available at any time. Let’s bet that with this breakfast, every day will feel like Sunday morning. Welcome to Munich, welcome here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Metropol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing