We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and Nice”
Review of Hotel Metropol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Metropol
Ranked #9 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level Contributor
85 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Simple and Nice”
Reviewed 28 January 2013

The hotel was extremely close to Munich Railway Station and was just a 2 minute walk. English speaking staff was the highlight for me. They were quite helpful and the WiFi internet works really well.
The hotel can also help you with your travel plans (Neuschwanstein, Dachau etc).
I'd probably stay here again and for 100 Euros a night, its a good deal!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gautzhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    327
    61
    7
    6
See reviews for
107
387
67
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Udine, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Near the Hauptbanhof (the central station with train & metro..), excellent service with a helpful staff.. The room are big, confortable and clean.. The breakfast was great, with a big selection of drinks and food, I advise to eat eggs & meatballs.. It is 1 of the best breakfast I eat in a hotel..

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Massimo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belgrade
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

The Hotel is centrally located. It takes you only 10min walk to the city centre and all means of transporation( tram, subway and train ) are next door.
Rooms are very nicely decorated, comfortable and big, at least 406 where I stayed in. All is clean and well maintained. Staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. Breakfast ok, could have more warm dishes such as eggs fried sunny side. I would definately reccomend this hotel and stay there again. It is much better then some 4* rated hotels I stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank codered69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz
Level Contributor
185 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

This hotel is located very close to the central train station in a busy and not very charming district of the city. While it is not very cozy outside, the hotel itself is doing the best to make it's customers feel comfortable - the rooms are ok for the prize as is the breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mario060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klagenfurt
Level Contributor
162 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

The best benefit of this hotel is it's close location to the central train station. The district itself is not the best of the city, which is true for the central train station surroundings of most European cities - but you do not feel unsafe there.
The hotel itself is of good quality, the rooms are comfortable and clean - and it has definitely more "charm" then one of the many chain-hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smiley7979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mersin, Turquie
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I feel at home and among friends. The hotel is very cozy. However this year it was a bit more expensive maybe due to the new investments made. I was happy with my room I would like to have always rooms between-401-409 No's A chair with a back to work on the desk would be lovely + a minibar of course. The nearness to th Hauptbahnhof is an excellent advantage

Room Tip: I would like to have always rooms between-401-409 No's A chair with a back to work on the desk w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Umitiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

This is the third time i've stayed at this hotel. Good location, 5 mins walk from Hbf. Check in has always been easy, and all of the staff speak good English (my German is terrible...).

Rooms are very nicely decorated, very modern except the bathrooms which are less so, but perfectly functional. Wi-fi works relatively well. Breakfast is perfectly adequate, with a decent selection.

The price has always been very competitive for Munich, so I've stopped looking elsewhere. The staff are friendly enough to keep me coming back. One word of caution - they do offer 10% off your next stay if you write a favourable review on here, i'm sure this doesn't affect the rating much as people obviously want to come back but it may inflate the number of reviews :)

Room Tip: If you smoke - some rooms have balconies, ask for one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moonchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#7 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#10 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
1.0 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aloft Munich
Aloft Munich
#22 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropol

Property: Hotel Metropol
Address: Mittererstr. 7, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropol 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Munich - ideal, central, dynamic! The family-run hotel in the city center of Munich is the ideal starting point for any kind of leisure or business activity: stroll around the Frauenkirche, savor some local delicacies at the Viktualienmarkt or attend a convention at the trade fair center 'Neue Messe Riem'. Our convenient location in the center of Munich and close to the central station offers you direct access via underground trains or S-Bahn (light rail net-work) to Munich Airport and all other destinations in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Metropol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing