We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for Munich tourist requirements”
Review of Hotel Metropol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Metropol
Ranked #9 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel for Munich tourist requirements”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hotel has everything a tourist requires for a friendly and comfortable stay in a convenient location in Munich. The staff spoke fluent English and were very friendly and helpful. The room was kept spotlessly clean during my five day stay and the bed was very comfortable.

The breakfast was first class with a full buffet selection and had everything most people would require. As well as normal individual coffee pots there was a push button machine to make all sorts of special coffees and drinks. The dining rooms were quite adequate in size.

The main train station, underground and tram stops are only some 800 yds from the hotel so it is quick and easy to get to all parts of central Munich. With easy travel and a comfortable "homecoming" this is all a tourist can require. It is however a basic hotel with all necessities but no ball-room or dining facilities! The price is very reasonable for the facilities and service offered.

Room Tip: Probably better to chose a rear room rather than one facing the road. However the road is quite min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leo186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    345
    61
    7
    6
See reviews for
115
411
72
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
126 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed at this Hotel for 4 Nights. The location was just perfect ...just 5-7 minutes walk from the Munich Central Station and the Airport bus service as well. All the shopping, eating places and nightlife are around the Hotel just within 2-10 minutes walk. The staff at the reception were ever so friendly and helpful and convincing in their reply's. They have a free internet at the reception for use and also give you free print outs if required. The breakfast was very good every morning. Rooms were surprisingly very spacious for Munich and had all the amenities in the room and toilets including a tea coffee maker. They also provided an ironing board and an iron on request. They kept a fan in the cupboard if it got a little warm. My stay was wonderful and comfortable. Will stay here again on my next trip to Munich.

Room Tip: My room was good with two large windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

I spent 2 nights with my wife and we had wonderfulltime.
Hotel is good and recommended but in my opinio nslightly overrated on tripview. Reason for that might be 5% discount on next booking if recommendation is made.

Despite all that ( 5% was disturbing me because advertized everywhere) hotel is really clean, stuff friendly and food was good. Neighbourhood is a bit doggy but far away form bad or dangerous.
Good position of the hotel helped in daily excursions.
If you are coming with a car note that only limited number of park places are available (we didn't get one).
Good value for the money and totally recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank Exotic A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Veracruz, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. We came in late very late and they were already waiting for us. Very nice people at the front desk and very helpful. Breakfast was good and even have a small bar. The location was the best....

Room Tip: Get an upgrade....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lululozano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Very good hotel in the centre of Munich. Fresh, clean, and each room has its own Nespresso machine!
On the way I spilled coffee on my shirt and the staff went beyond the call of duty to get it cleaned the same day. excellent.
The hotel is not cheap, but it delivers and excellent experience and good nights sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We only stayed at the Metropol Hotel for one night in a Standart Room. The room has an ok size and is very clean. The staff is extremely friendly.The bathroom has seen better days but since we stayed only one night so did not bother us. Breakfast was very good with many choices, very fresh and good quality. The hotel has a great location. Just about 5 minutes walk from the central train station and about 20 minutes walk to Marienplatz. Parking is available for EUR 13.00 per day/night. If we go to Munich again we would certainly stay at the Metropol again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiciSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

All that you could ask for in a family run B&B type hotel right in the heart of the City. The breakfast is to die for!! Super convenient from the Hauptbahnhof & a short walk to Karlpatz & Marienplatz. No room service & F&B after breakfast, but there are plenty of choices close by until late into the night. On a quiet street just a stones throw from Bayerstrasse. Perfect for business, perfect for family. Bright slick rooms, brand new & spankingly clean.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksbhalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 383 in Munich
1,534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#8 of 383 in Munich
494 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#10 of 383 in Munich
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 383 in Munich
1,498 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
1.0 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 383 in Munich
1,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropol

Property: Hotel Metropol
Address: Mittererstrasse 7, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropol 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk right in: We cordially welcome you! In our two privately run hotels Mirabell and Metropol located in the heart of Munich you will feel good and almost like home. For us it is a very special concern to be good hosts and offer our guests the highest comfort and personal service. Business trip, city tour or weekend excursion – we want you to feel like home and in good hands in our city hotels. The loyalty of our guests and employees has shown us for many years that it is worth having high standards for service, atmosphere and comfort. Central, comfortable and simply to feel good! Regardless of whether you are on a business trip or wish to privately experience the beautiful city of Munich – the immediate proximity to the main station and the direct connection to the airport make our hotel the perfect place to stay during your Munich trip. Go for a leisurely stroll through the Munich city centre, indulge your palate and taste the delicacies from Viktualienmarkt or enjoy the perfect location of our hotels in order to quickly and easily fulfil your professional obligations in the New Trade Fair Riem or other destinations. How big were you thinking? With us you are really spoilt for choice between four different room categories – according to your needs and wishes. Whether in the modern superior room with fresh look and clear design, in the comfortable deluxe category, a spacious suite or in an exclusive and at the same time private business room – just feel good and like home. All rooms are equipped with bathroom, shower, WC, hairdryer, telephone, tea maker, radio, TV and even free SKY. Thanks to the hotel’s internal air conditioning system, you can relax and take a deep breath all over the place and you can also use free Wi-Fi in all the rooms. With us nobody starts the day hungry! Our nutritious breakfast daily from 6:30 to 10:30 am keeps its promises! Enjoy fresh cereal mixes, organic yoghurt and fruit salads, feast and taste warm specialities such as spicy egg dishes as well as savoury cheese specialities with oven-fresh rolls. And to stave off thirst and fatigue, there are freshly squeezed vital juices, hot tea and aromatic coffee specialities. With all our delicacies we place great importance on the origin and mainly use products of regional producers or from organic farms. Should you have any allergies, you must not leave the table hungry. Lactose-free dairy products are of course part of our buffet and even gluten-free bread, cake or muesli are available at any time. Let’s bet that with this breakfast, every day will feel like Sunday morning. Welcome to Munich, welcome here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Metropol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing