We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Metropol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Metropol
Ranked #11 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

the room itself is small but chic and clean. the best part of the hotel is the location and the breakfast. location is nice with about 3 mins walk to central station and 10-15 mins to town center. the breakfast is served from 6:30am which is good for us since we used to go out early.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ting W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    304
    60
    6
    5
See reviews for
92
347
59
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hotel has everything a tourist requires for a friendly and comfortable stay in a convenient location in Munich. The staff spoke fluent English and were very friendly and helpful. The room was kept spotlessly clean during my five day stay and the bed was very comfortable.

The breakfast was first class with a full buffet selection and had everything most people would require. As well as normal individual coffee pots there was a push button machine to make all sorts of special coffees and drinks. The dining rooms were quite adequate in size.

The main train station, underground and tram stops are only some 800 yds from the hotel so it is quick and easy to get to all parts of central Munich. With easy travel and a comfortable "homecoming" this is all a tourist can require. It is however a basic hotel with all necessities but no ball-room or dining facilities! The price is very reasonable for the facilities and service offered.

Room Tip: Probably better to chose a rear room rather than one facing the road. However the road is quite min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leo186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
122 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed at this Hotel for 4 Nights. The location was just perfect ...just 5-7 minutes walk from the Munich Central Station and the Airport bus service as well. All the shopping, eating places and nightlife are around the Hotel just within 2-10 minutes walk. The staff at the reception were ever so friendly and helpful and convincing in their reply's. They have a free internet at the reception for use and also give you free print outs if required. The breakfast was very good every morning. Rooms were surprisingly very spacious for Munich and had all the amenities in the room and toilets including a tea coffee maker. They also provided an ironing board and an iron on request. They kept a fan in the cupboard if it got a little warm. My stay was wonderful and comfortable. Will stay here again on my next trip to Munich.

Room Tip: My room was good with two large windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

I spent 2 nights with my wife and we had wonderfulltime.
Hotel is good and recommended but in my opinio nslightly overrated on tripview. Reason for that might be 5% discount on next booking if recommendation is made.

Despite all that ( 5% was disturbing me because advertized everywhere) hotel is really clean, stuff friendly and food was good. Neighbourhood is a bit doggy but far away form bad or dangerous.
Good position of the hotel helped in daily excursions.
If you are coming with a car note that only limited number of park places are available (we didn't get one).
Good value for the money and totally recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank Exotic A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Veracruz, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. We came in late very late and they were already waiting for us. Very nice people at the front desk and very helpful. Breakfast was good and even have a small bar. The location was the best....

Room Tip: Get an upgrade....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lululozano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Very good hotel in the centre of Munich. Fresh, clean, and each room has its own Nespresso machine!
On the way I spilled coffee on my shirt and the staff went beyond the call of duty to get it cleaned the same day. excellent.
The hotel is not cheap, but it delivers and excellent experience and good nights sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We only stayed at the Metropol Hotel for one night in a Standart Room. The room has an ok size and is very clean. The staff is extremely friendly.The bathroom has seen better days but since we stayed only one night so did not bother us. Breakfast was very good with many choices, very fresh and good quality. The hotel has a great location. Just about 5 minutes walk from the central train station and about 20 minutes walk to Marienplatz. Parking is available for EUR 13.00 per day/night. If we go to Munich again we would certainly stay at the Metropol again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NiciSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#10 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#9 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#16 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aloft Munich
Aloft Munich
#23 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mirabell
Hotel Mirabell
#20 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropol

Property: Hotel Metropol
Address: Mittererstr. 7, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropol 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Munich - ideal, central, dynamic! The family-run hotel in the city center of Munich is the ideal starting point for any kind of leisure or business activity: stroll around the Frauenkirche, savor some local delicacies at the Viktualienmarkt or attend a convention at the trade fair center 'Neue Messe Riem'. Our convenient location in the center of Munich and close to the central station offers you direct access via underground trains or S-Bahn (light rail net-work) to Munich Airport and all other destinations in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Metropol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing