We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel nearby the Central train station”
Review of Hotel Metropol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Metropol
Ranked #9 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel nearby the Central train station”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed here recently for one night and is happy that it is up to my expectation. The location of this hotel is very convenient and easy to find. It's just 5-10 mins walking distance away from the Munich central train station. The rooms are modern and huge - for european countries standard. Price is reasonable. Wifi connection is quite good. Breakfast spread is good too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jcfl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    345
    61
    7
    6
See reviews for
115
411
72
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband and I just spent two nights at Hotel Metropol in Munich.
We had a very pleasant experience. Everything was great : its location very close to the Hauptbanhof, the comfort of the room, the quality of the service and one of the best buffet breakfast we have ever eaten.
We rented bikes from the station and explored the city.
We took a train from the airport a 40 mn ride to the central station and on the way back we took a Lufthansa bus from the station. Very convenient!!!
Overall a great value.
The only thing we were not crazy about were the colours of the carpets in the hallways. Everything else was to our taste.

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet on the street side. Not much traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Florence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

the room itself is small but chic and clean. the best part of the hotel is the location and the breakfast. location is nice with about 3 mins walk to central station and 10-15 mins to town center. the breakfast is served from 6:30am which is good for us since we used to go out early.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ting W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hotel has everything a tourist requires for a friendly and comfortable stay in a convenient location in Munich. The staff spoke fluent English and were very friendly and helpful. The room was kept spotlessly clean during my five day stay and the bed was very comfortable.

The breakfast was first class with a full buffet selection and had everything most people would require. As well as normal individual coffee pots there was a push button machine to make all sorts of special coffees and drinks. The dining rooms were quite adequate in size.

The main train station, underground and tram stops are only some 800 yds from the hotel so it is quick and easy to get to all parts of central Munich. With easy travel and a comfortable "homecoming" this is all a tourist can require. It is however a basic hotel with all necessities but no ball-room or dining facilities! The price is very reasonable for the facilities and service offered.

Room Tip: Probably better to chose a rear room rather than one facing the road. However the road is quite min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leo186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
126 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed at this Hotel for 4 Nights. The location was just perfect ...just 5-7 minutes walk from the Munich Central Station and the Airport bus service as well. All the shopping, eating places and nightlife are around the Hotel just within 2-10 minutes walk. The staff at the reception were ever so friendly and helpful and convincing in their reply's. They have a free internet at the reception for use and also give you free print outs if required. The breakfast was very good every morning. Rooms were surprisingly very spacious for Munich and had all the amenities in the room and toilets including a tea coffee maker. They also provided an ironing board and an iron on request. They kept a fan in the cupboard if it got a little warm. My stay was wonderful and comfortable. Will stay here again on my next trip to Munich.

Room Tip: My room was good with two large windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

I spent 2 nights with my wife and we had wonderfulltime.
Hotel is good and recommended but in my opinio nslightly overrated on tripview. Reason for that might be 5% discount on next booking if recommendation is made.

Despite all that ( 5% was disturbing me because advertized everywhere) hotel is really clean, stuff friendly and food was good. Neighbourhood is a bit doggy but far away form bad or dangerous.
Good position of the hotel helped in daily excursions.
If you are coming with a car note that only limited number of park places are available (we didn't get one).
Good value for the money and totally recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank Exotic A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Veracruz, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. We came in late very late and they were already waiting for us. Very nice people at the front desk and very helpful. Breakfast was good and even have a small bar. The location was the best....

Room Tip: Get an upgrade....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lululozano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 383 in Munich
1,532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#8 of 383 in Munich
493 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#10 of 383 in Munich
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 383 in Munich
1,498 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
1.0 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 383 in Munich
1,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropol

Property: Hotel Metropol
Address: Mittererstrasse 7, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropol 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk right in: We cordially welcome you! In our two privately run hotels Mirabell and Metropol located in the heart of Munich you will feel good and almost like home. For us it is a very special concern to be good hosts and offer our guests the highest comfort and personal service. Business trip, city tour or weekend excursion – we want you to feel like home and in good hands in our city hotels. The loyalty of our guests and employees has shown us for many years that it is worth having high standards for service, atmosphere and comfort. Central, comfortable and simply to feel good! Regardless of whether you are on a business trip or wish to privately experience the beautiful city of Munich – the immediate proximity to the main station and the direct connection to the airport make our hotel the perfect place to stay during your Munich trip. Go for a leisurely stroll through the Munich city centre, indulge your palate and taste the delicacies from Viktualienmarkt or enjoy the perfect location of our hotels in order to quickly and easily fulfil your professional obligations in the New Trade Fair Riem or other destinations. How big were you thinking? With us you are really spoilt for choice between four different room categories – according to your needs and wishes. Whether in the modern superior room with fresh look and clear design, in the comfortable deluxe category, a spacious suite or in an exclusive and at the same time private business room – just feel good and like home. All rooms are equipped with bathroom, shower, WC, hairdryer, telephone, tea maker, radio, TV and even free SKY. Thanks to the hotel’s internal air conditioning system, you can relax and take a deep breath all over the place and you can also use free Wi-Fi in all the rooms. With us nobody starts the day hungry! Our nutritious breakfast daily from 6:30 to 10:30 am keeps its promises! Enjoy fresh cereal mixes, organic yoghurt and fruit salads, feast and taste warm specialities such as spicy egg dishes as well as savoury cheese specialities with oven-fresh rolls. And to stave off thirst and fatigue, there are freshly squeezed vital juices, hot tea and aromatic coffee specialities. With all our delicacies we place great importance on the origin and mainly use products of regional producers or from organic farms. Should you have any allergies, you must not leave the table hungry. Lactose-free dairy products are of course part of our buffet and even gluten-free bread, cake or muesli are available at any time. Let’s bet that with this breakfast, every day will feel like Sunday morning. Welcome to Munich, welcome here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Metropol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing