We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel with lovely staff”
Review of Hotel Metropol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Metropol
Ranked #8 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2010

this was a great find, close to main station.not the best area in town and situated on a quiet street but still felt very safe. breakfast was ample with a great choice of meats and cheeses. the staff were charming, especially sabina who was vvvv helpful and charming. cute little on site bar with lovely riesling. rooms were comfotable but only 1 english channel. odd green and maroon decor but really not an issue. stay here if you want a value, clean, central place to stay

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londonsiouxsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

469 - 475 of 1,200 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2010

I stayed here for three nights in early September.

The hotel is close to the station which was good for us as we arrived and left via train and it was good not to have to walk for miles with suitcases. However this isn't the nicest part of Munich (some red light district) and you have to walk for 10 mins or so to reach nice restaurants etc.

The hotel has clearly been recently redecorated and is a very cool green & chocolate colour scheme. My room was spacious and had a safe in it which I really like. The bathroom was on the small side but the shower was good and powerful and there were toiletries in the room.

The staff were friendly and knowledgeable and helped us out on a few things.

The breakfast was excellent, really varied, yummy bread and so many different things to choose from. Plus they have a fancy cappucino machine which gave us much amusement!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MakeupI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

We stayed here 4 nights for the second weekend of Oktoberfest 2010, and this hotel was perfect for that purpose. The positive reviews on this site are very accurate, and the 5 "star" rating I gave is because it is excellent for this class of hotel. It is not a high-end, full-service international hotel; but it is a solidly fine hotel with quiet and relatively spacious rooms (appeared recently renovated and looked almost exactly like some of the pictures on this site), and an excellent location for both Oktoberfest (about 5 blocks away), local transportation (central train station is 1.5 blocks away) and exploring the center of town by foot (10-minute walk). Although it is very close to the train station, the particular side street it is on (around the corner from Sofitel and Le Meridien) is quiet and not at all seedy or flashy, and there is no cause for concern about safety or general cleanliness. Our window on the 2nd floor faced the street and was usually open unless it got too cool at night. No problem with street noise and while we occassionally could hear revelers returning from Oktoberfest, it was not bothersome. The rooms were very clean and the staff was very friendly. We would have preferred firmer mattresses, faster internet speed and a mini-bar in room, but those really aren't complaints. Our last-minute booking was a steal compared to what other comparable hotels were asking (about half the price). Based on the appearance of other "mid-range" hotels we passed and where our friends were staying, we thought this hotel was a head above the rest. Overall, a great little family-run property that was perfect for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tribecaleblon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Absolutely value for money and breakfast included was plentiful.
All hotel staff were excellent and the room was big enough with a sofa. A welcome note and a kettle was a charming gesture. A warm towel rack was a bonus.Quiet family run hotel with comfortable bedding and perfect location for train travellers.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerthChrisP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

This hotel is located a block from the main train station. From there, you can catch a train or subway to anywhere. The front desk staff was VERY helpful and polite. They were able to give directions and helpful hints. The rooms were small and the bathrooms really small. Everything in the room was clean and worked. Breakfast in the morning (6:30AM to 10AM) had a good selection of hot and cold items.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hermrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2010

The room was very clean, comfortable with a very nice bathroom. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was a feast; the best we had in our entire trip. You can walk here from the railroad station; yet the street is quiet. To get to the historical center takes a 10-minute walk.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannja22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

I have stayed at this hotel three times in the last decade -- 2001, 2003, and, most recently 2007. I find it clean and comfortable (in the more traditional German sense.) Don't expect Wifi, a swimming pool, etc. But if you want a safe, convenient, welcoming experience, you can't ask for more in the midst of Munich. Well-priced if you stay more than a few days.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soarjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 390 in Munich
1,799 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 390 in Munich
2,313 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#16 of 390 in Munich
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#13 of 390 in Munich
2,078 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.2 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#15 of 390 in Munich
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropol

Address: Mittererstrasse 7, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £70 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Metropol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk right in: We cordially welcome you! In our two privately run hotels Mirabell and Metropol located in the heart of Munich you will feel good and almost like home. For us it is a very special concern to be good hosts and offer our guests the highest comfort and personal service. Business trip, city tour or weekend excursion – we want you to feel like home and in good hands in our city hotels. The loyalty of our guests and employees has shown us for many years that it is worth having high standards for service, atmosphere and comfort. Central, comfortable and simply to feel good! Regardless of whether you are on a business trip or wish to privately experience the beautiful city of Munich – the immediate proximity to the main station and the direct connection to the airport make our hotel the perfect place to stay during your Munich trip. Go for a leisurely stroll through the Munich city centre, indulge your palate and taste the delicacies from Viktualienmarkt or enjoy the perfect location of our hotels in order to quickly and easily fulfil your professional obligations in the New Trade Fair Riem or other destinations. How big were you thinking? With us you are really spoilt for choice between four different room categories – according to your needs and wishes. Whether in the modern superior room with fresh look and clear design, in the comfortable deluxe category, a spacious suite or in an exclusive and at the same time private business room – just feel good and like home. All rooms are equipped with bathroom, shower, WC, hairdryer, telephone, tea maker, radio, TV and even free SKY. Thanks to the hotel’s internal air conditioning system, you can relax and take a deep breath all over the place and you can also use free Wi-Fi in all the rooms. With us nobody starts the day hungry! Our nutritious breakfast daily from 6:30 to 10:30 am keeps its promises! Enjoy fresh cereal mixes, organic yoghurt and fruit salads, feast and taste warm specialities such as spicy egg dishes as well as savoury cheese specialities with oven-fresh rolls. And to stave off thirst and fatigue, there are freshly squeezed vital juices, hot tea and aromatic coffee specialities. With all our delicacies we place great importance on the origin and mainly use products of regional producers or from organic farms. Should you have any allergies, you must not leave the table hungry. Lactose-free dairy products are of course part of our buffet and even gluten-free bread, cake or muesli are available at any time. Let’s bet that with this breakfast, every day will feel like Sunday morning. Welcome to Munich, welcome here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Metropol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing