We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not bad not perfect” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Metropol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Metropol
Ranked #12 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
padova
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“not bad not perfect”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

i been in first week of februrary in this hotel .
the position is perfect , 10 minute by walk from mariaz platz , the park is included and very safty , interernet very slow , if you need for work fast connection don't come here , staff very professional , no clima and no frigobar in the rooms and no restaurant .
if you don't need all camfort cwhen you travel but you want a nice , clean and positioned hotel this is good for you .

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dapba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    304
    60
    6
    5
See reviews for
93
347
59
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

I stayed for 2 nights at the Metropol. I had a very nice room at the 6th floor with a large king-size bed and a big flat TV. The breakfast buffet is more than average with lots of choices. The front desk people are very helpful. I can recommed this place at once.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barron66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2010

Wonderful location close to the main train station. Superb staff, very helpful indeed.
Cannot fault the breakfast.
Bathroom and shower were very small but so many other positives make it hard to be disgruntled by these two points alone.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank awolkiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2010

this was a great find, close to main station.not the best area in town and situated on a quiet street but still felt very safe. breakfast was ample with a great choice of meats and cheeses. the staff were charming, especially sabina who was vvvv helpful and charming. cute little on site bar with lovely riesling. rooms were comfotable but only 1 english channel. odd green and maroon decor but really not an issue. stay here if you want a value, clean, central place to stay

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Londonsiouxsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2010

I stayed here for three nights in early September.

The hotel is close to the station which was good for us as we arrived and left via train and it was good not to have to walk for miles with suitcases. However this isn't the nicest part of Munich (some red light district) and you have to walk for 10 mins or so to reach nice restaurants etc.

The hotel has clearly been recently redecorated and is a very cool green & chocolate colour scheme. My room was spacious and had a safe in it which I really like. The bathroom was on the small side but the shower was good and powerful and there were toiletries in the room.

The staff were friendly and knowledgeable and helped us out on a few things.

The breakfast was excellent, really varied, yummy bread and so many different things to choose from. Plus they have a fancy cappucino machine which gave us much amusement!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MakeupI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

We stayed here 4 nights for the second weekend of Oktoberfest 2010, and this hotel was perfect for that purpose. The positive reviews on this site are very accurate, and the 5 "star" rating I gave is because it is excellent for this class of hotel. It is not a high-end, full-service international hotel; but it is a solidly fine hotel with quiet and relatively spacious rooms (appeared recently renovated and looked almost exactly like some of the pictures on this site), and an excellent location for both Oktoberfest (about 5 blocks away), local transportation (central train station is 1.5 blocks away) and exploring the center of town by foot (10-minute walk). Although it is very close to the train station, the particular side street it is on (around the corner from Sofitel and Le Meridien) is quiet and not at all seedy or flashy, and there is no cause for concern about safety or general cleanliness. Our window on the 2nd floor faced the street and was usually open unless it got too cool at night. No problem with street noise and while we occassionally could hear revelers returning from Oktoberfest, it was not bothersome. The rooms were very clean and the staff was very friendly. We would have preferred firmer mattresses, faster internet speed and a mini-bar in room, but those really aren't complaints. Our last-minute booking was a steal compared to what other comparable hotels were asking (about half the price). Based on the appearance of other "mid-range" hotels we passed and where our friends were staying, we thought this hotel was a head above the rest. Overall, a great little family-run property that was perfect for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tribecaleblon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

Absolutely value for money and breakfast included was plentiful.
All hotel staff were excellent and the room was big enough with a sofa. A welcome note and a kettle was a charming gesture. A warm towel rack was a bonus.Quiet family run hotel with comfortable bedding and perfect location for train travellers.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthChrisP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#10 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#9 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#16 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aloft Munich
Aloft Munich
#23 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mirabell
Hotel Mirabell
#20 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropol

Property: Hotel Metropol
Address: Mittererstr. 7, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropol 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Munich - ideal, central, dynamic! The family-run hotel in the city center of Munich is the ideal starting point for any kind of leisure or business activity: stroll around the Frauenkirche, savor some local delicacies at the Viktualienmarkt or attend a convention at the trade fair center 'Neue Messe Riem'. Our convenient location in the center of Munich and close to the central station offers you direct access via underground trains or S-Bahn (light rail net-work) to Munich Airport and all other destinations in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Metropol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing