We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once a chain, always a chain” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Asado Steak Gassnerstrasse - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Asado Steak Gassnerstrasse
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Once a chain, always a chain”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We ate here when returning to our hotel from a full day in Munich. There's nothing wrong with restaurants in a chain like this. They try hard, but the product will never venture near the excellent category because of cost factors.

My wife had the barbecue skewer, which she declared as OK. I had the 200g rib-eye steak, ordered medium-rare, but cooked medium. It's clear, however, that Asado does not believe in the precept that less is more. My meal included "a colourful" mixed salad, baked potato with sour cream, toasted "Asado-bread" and "a melting, creamy herb sauce".

So what more to say, except you will probably leave with an overloaded stomach? Service was quick, the bowl of every conceivable Heinz condiment arrived promptly and ... and not much else. Average, but probably OK if you're not spoiled by excellent steaks as Australians and North Americans are.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyladdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    10
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Average chain restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Ate two meals here, mainly due to convenience as it was located near to our hotel. First meal wasn't bad, we ordered a bacon burger with potato wedges and a bbq steak skewer with chips. Only complaint would have been that the skins on the wedges were a bit burnt, but the main potato part wasn't so not a problem.

We later returned for lunch before leaving for the airport and ordered a bbq steak skewer with chips and a bbq mix which included chicken wings, ribs, onion rings, chips etc. This time the skewer wasn't as good as the first, with the veg and meat being quite burnt in places and the chips for both meals could have done with a fraction longer cooking time.

Overall, if you're looking for a handy burger place - it's perfectly fine. However, it's not an upscale place and given my experience, I wouldn't trust them to cook a steak correctly, especially with the prices charged.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank laughingsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Better get a reservation for Saturday night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

We had the Ribeye steaks and they were really good! Service was excellent...we loved our waiter. He was very attentive.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lennie009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
429 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“OOPS!!! Poor Decision!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Our hotel (Hotel Laimer Hof) gave us suggestions of several neighborhood restaurants. One French cuisine, one Italian, and the Asado Steakhouse. We had just come from France so we decided against the French Restaurant & since our travels would later take us to Italy we decided that we would try a German steakhouse. We were incredibly dissapointed as the Asado Steakhouse did not even meet the standard of a run of the mill American steakhouse. The salads were made of entirely iceberg lettuce with only a sparse amount of other vegetables. The steaks were merely average - a little tough with little flavor. My sister and I decided to share a hamburger. The waitress misunderstood and brought two hamburgers (I don't blame the waitress as I was speaking the foreign language!). The hamburgers were huge, but the meat was just frozen pressed packaged burgers. They were also slathered with mayonaise - I don't eat mayonaise! On a positive note the staff was friendly and efficient.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MKTBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
216 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good opening hours”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

We went here because nothing else was open when we wanted to eat.
The food was OK. The chilli con carne with potatoes was not spicy. The burger was average. Nice garden area to sit in on a late summer evening.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bluekakariki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Asado Steak Gassnerstrasse also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing