We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Am Sendlinger Tor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Am Sendlinger Tor
Ranked #349 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I've spent 3 days in Munchen at this hotel. From my point of view it was clean, the hardwood floor it's a nice touch, since it appears like a home bedroom.
Internet is free and it's working well, the reception is providing each guest with a number to be used when logging in to the wi-fi.
The towels were changed everyday, the bathroom is a little small but this didn't bother us at all.
For the breakfast, the hotel is very close to the city center so you can always eat something from there, there are many choices to choose from.
It was a very good choice for our city break.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watashialexa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    130
    102
    44
    33
See reviews for
37
116
71
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
518 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Sendlinger Tor hotel has a nice location in the central part of Munich. The room was clean and tidy. We have not had breakfast in the hotel but there is a pretty good bakery close by, where we eat a couple of times.

Room Tip: 217 is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shimnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel is located very close to the central part of Munich (Not far from Marienplatz) and located very close to the Sendlinger Tor U-Bahn station. And only one stop away from the main train station.

The reception is not 24 hrs, but they were helpful and you can just check out early if you need to by paying the day before and dropping the key off in the box near the door.

Hotel room was typical for this price range. You aren't going to get a lot, but it's decent enough to work. I had a single room, so you get your bed, small desk and chair, tv and the bathroom.

The biggest issue was just the noise of other rooms. You could hear them talking and showering etc, which in the middle of the night could pose a problem to some, but I was fine with that.

So comparing prices of other places around here, there is nothing wrong with saving a lot of money and staying here if you aren't planning on spending a lot of time in the room to begin with...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

A very nice clean hotel. Perfectly located. 1 Ubahn stop from Marienplatz and also from Central train station. Could not be easier to get to. Nice neighborhood, and easy access to all of the Munich Sites. Room is clean and small, but as advertised. I paid $62 a night, I thought it was a great deal for this price. Staff is helpful and friendly. Free bottle of water and free wifi. Would stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haff620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

My partner and I travelled here with 4 friends. We arrived at approximately 10am and despite an email sent in advance requesting options of booking in early we were directed to the luggage room and told to return at 2pm. It wasn't a huge deal as we were happy to find a bar and drink beer but would have been nice to have the option if a room was unoccupied.

The hotel itself is very conveniently located to the centre of Munich. Marienplatz was only a 10 minute stroll and Theresienwiese (where Octoberfest is held) was an extremely easy 15 minute walk.

The hotel is not terrible but does borderline a top range hostel. It's clean and the staff efficient. The shower can only be described as 'Not fit for purpose' as it's extreme small and no matter what you attempt to do with the shower curtain the entire bathroom floods.

No breakfast options are included but there are plenty of cafés nearby.

All in all, not a bad hotel. It's got a great location and serves it's purpose. However, I thought that 368 euros for 3 nights at what effectively is a hostel was a little steep.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chunkyl0ver53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

My fiance and I stayed in this hotel while we were traveling around Germany in May. It does have a great location, within walking distance to the subways, shops and restaurants. Another perk was the free wifi, which was wonderful when we wanted to relax after exploring all day. That is pretty much where the pros stop. The room that we were in was right in front of an apartment complex, and a few dumpsters, and was quite noisy, to the point we couldn't nap during the day. There were men walking up and down the stairwells in front of our window throughout the day as well. There was no AC, which I expected from most hotels in Germany, but there was no fan either, so in order to cool off you had to open the windows, which led to entirely too much noise, especially at night, or take a cold shower, which eventually wore off. We stayed here for 3 nights, and all but the first night, people were running up and down the hall at all hours of the night, yelling and singing, and definately not taking into consideration that there may be other people trying to sleep. These halls are tiny, with barely any room to move so you can hear everything that goes on. We tried to switch rooms, but the guy at the front wanted nothing to do with it, stating that all the rooms were booked. He was rude from the first day we got in. He never acknowldged us, cared about any of our complaints, and as soon as he realized we spoke English, he stuck his nose in the air (we never had this problem anywhere else). We had to ask for shampoo and soap when we ran out (the room gives you tiny bottles to use), and when we left he never bothered looking at us or asking how our stay was. This was by far the WORST hotel I have ever been to, and I travel a lot. It's a good value, but I would never recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agraves10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

Charlotte Amalie, null, United States
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

You can't beat the location.

I came specifically for a Strasse fest and the hotel was perfectly located for that and to get around the city in general.

Just do not expect any special furnishing and you will be ok.

I found the staff to be as pleasant as to be expected at such a hotel. In fact, several times they assisted me with getting around and hosting my luggage.

I would stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Acanthushotel
Acanthushotel
#240 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlanta
Hotel Atlanta
#276 of 382 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centro Hotel Mondial
Centro Hotel Mondial
#254 of 382 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#49 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Herzog Wilhelm
Hotel Herzog Wilhelm
#340 of 382 in Munich
3.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Der Tannenbaum
Hotel Der Tannenbaum
#351 of 382 in Munich
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Am Sendlinger Tor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Am Sendlinger Tor

Property: Am Sendlinger Tor
Address: Oberanger 47, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #349 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Am Sendlinger Tor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
cityhotel-munich hotel am sendlinger tor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Am Sendlinger Tor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Sendlinger Tor Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing