We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice modern hotel near the subway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Muenchen City West
Ranked #75 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 14 October 2012

The rooms are modern and seem recently renovated. The hotel was full when we were there, but we did not hear any noise from other rooms (except once or twice from the hallway). The room had a blackout shade that was very effective at blocking light. We bought Wifi initially on a mobile device. When I tried to use it subsequently on my laptop PC, the website reported that I only had mobile access and that I would have to buy laptop PC access separately, which was irritating (so I did not buy it). The location is in a relatively quiet area, but it is literally across the street from the Westendstraße subway (U-Bahn) stop, which is on the U4 and U5 lines and is only 6 quick stops from the Marienplatz. I would prefer to stay closer to the Marienplatz, but this hotel was much more reasonably priced than the hotels near the Marienplatz, and it was very nice. I would consider staying there again.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the street, but we heard no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dt_world_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

233 - 239 of 1,244 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2012

Positives: Close to the center 5-7min using the metro or tram, just 2steps from the hotel.Very good breakfast buffet (hot and cold) with great variaty, Very clean room and bathroom.
Negative: There isn't any soundproof between room and bathroom. The wifi at the lobby wasnt working proper making log in impossible.
Overall: Very good hotel, good value, new furniture (dont expect luxury ). Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Ioannis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Stayed for two nights in August 2012, as close to friends residence, rooms spacious for an ibis, very clean and tidy, good breakfast, even an outdoor area for breakfast, and parking( at a charge) , main reason to stay this ibis would be location near the west end of munich, not to mix up with the London west end, quite not the same. Will see me again when fitting to schedule!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank multiflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Having been a little wary of booking anything in the Hauptbahnhof area and feeling Marienplatz hotels were a bit expensive, we opted for the Ibis in Westendstrasse as our base
The location is only 3/4 stops from the Hauptbahnhof on the U-Bahn and the hotel itself is straight outside the exit, so easy to find.
We arrived late on our first night but the staff kindly offered to cook us some pasta even though the kitchen was supposed to be closed at that hour.
Rooms were clean and beds very comfy. Price wise was usual for Ibis rates.
Overall very pleased to have stayed in this hotel and would happily do so again on future visits.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Just got back from a trip to Germany,Austria,Switzerland,and France. We flew into Munich Airport then took the U-Bahn/subway to Central Train Station. From there you can go anywhere on subway or train. The Station is large and not the easiest to get around in, however there is an information booth where the passenger trains come into the station. There is also a EurAide desk that is very helpful and can answer your questions. It took us a while to find it.
We stayed at the Ibis City West Hotel which was on the S-Bahn/subway line. It has a stop less than a block from the hotel. The hotel was relatively inexpensive, clean, the beds comfortable and the rooms small, as you find throughout Europe.
Munich is well worth seeing especially the City Center and you do not need a car while you are there.
We took the U-Bahn back to the airport the third day to pick up our rental car which we dropped off in Frankfurt before our return to the States.
We enjoyed Munich.

LarryPatandWally

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LarryPatandWally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I stayed here on a business trip. I was pleasantly surprised as soon as I walked into the room for the first time. It was roomy and very clean. There were plenty of shelves in the room and a nice wardrobe. The bathroom was very well designed and made excellent use of the space available. The only downsides to this hotel was the fact that there was no wi-fi in the room - it came at a very high cost (but this was solved with the free wi-fi in the lobby) and the food in the restaurant. Do not eat here, I had a very unpleasant experience with some pasta. There aren't many restaurants nearby although there is a LIDL close by and a well-stocked 'On the Run' petrol station.
My family arrived the following day and there were issues with their room. I suppose that the hotel treats business guests differently to leisure guests, or perhaps there was an issue that day with staff.
Anyhow, excellent value for the price, and I recommend it if you are looking to save money but not scrimp on cleanliness.
The hotel is extremely well located, with Westendstrasse u-bahn (U5) a mere 2-minute walk from the hotel. You can get to the city centre in 10 mins. A tram stops right outside.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amethyst P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Clean room, rather small for an Ibis though. Silent air conditioning, descent choice of TV channels, smiling staff...

Neighborhood of the hotel does not have much to offer to the tourist but it is right on U-Bahn station, 3 stops from oktoberfest and 4 from the main station. Very convenient. There is a gas station/convenience store around the corner if you need anything.

Weekend prices are OK, but it seems they get wild during the week.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ggllk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.8 mi away
Ibis Muenchen City
Ibis Muenchen City
#87 of 390 in Munich
1,981 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munich City West
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - Westpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
K+K Hotel am Harras
K+K Hotel am Harras
#39 of 390 in Munich
887 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Muenchen City Arnulfpark
5.8 mi away
ibis Styles Munchen Ost Messe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Muenchen City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Muenchen City West

Address: Westendstr. 181, 80686 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#66 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £57 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Muenchen City West 2*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ibis Muenchen City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Muenchen City West Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing