We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Trip to Germany”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Muenchen City West
Ranked #75 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Nice, very clean hotel. Restaurant was excellant - I recommend the lamb chops. Breakfast buffet was very nice as well, with a lot to choose from. They even had eggs and they were cooked all the way through. Rooms were not overly large and there wasn't a lot of room for luggage. The bathroom was small and reminded me of being in a camper. They look as if they had been placed in the room as a separate unit, because you had to step up into it and the door just latched shut by pulling into a groove in the jam. It was all fiberglass and not very private. No washclothes if you use them and no towels are changed out unless you request it. Only a couple TV channels get anything with English speaking shows, so you may want to download some movies if you think you'll want to watch any TV. (FYI if you have children with you, one of the channels actually had porn on it and it wasn't very late in the evening.) Have to pay for internet if you want it in your room, otherwise you can get it free in the lobby with some prying from people working the desk. They seem reluctant to give you the password to get on. There is no laundry service here. Seems to be a local hangout in the evenings because the bar is part of the lobby area and there are three big TVs playing sports. Not an issue though. Subway is out the front door and to the left. Very close. Restaurant and bar were the only extras at the hotel. No pool or spa that I am aware of.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitzi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 232 of 1,212 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2012

New hotel, very clean, spaceous rooms. Metro station in front brings you in 5 min to the center. Internet in the bedroom is not free. In the lobby internet is free, but during my stay it did not work. The staff gave me a free voucher for the paying internet. Excellent breakfast. Reception staff speaks English but is reluctant to do so.

Room Tip: Ask for a room a the back - the front rooms face a busy and noisy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

The rooms are modern and seem recently renovated. The hotel was full when we were there, but we did not hear any noise from other rooms (except once or twice from the hallway). The room had a blackout shade that was very effective at blocking light. We bought Wifi initially on a mobile device. When I tried to use it subsequently on my laptop PC, the website reported that I only had mobile access and that I would have to buy laptop PC access separately, which was irritating (so I did not buy it). The location is in a relatively quiet area, but it is literally across the street from the Westendstraße subway (U-Bahn) stop, which is on the U4 and U5 lines and is only 6 quick stops from the Marienplatz. I would prefer to stay closer to the Marienplatz, but this hotel was much more reasonably priced than the hotels near the Marienplatz, and it was very nice. I would consider staying there again.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the street, but we heard no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dilara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Positives: Close to the center 5-7min using the metro or tram, just 2steps from the hotel.Very good breakfast buffet (hot and cold) with great variaty, Very clean room and bathroom.
Negative: There isn't any soundproof between room and bathroom. The wifi at the lobby wasnt working proper making log in impossible.
Overall: Very good hotel, good value, new furniture (dont expect luxury ). Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Ioannis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Stayed for two nights in August 2012, as close to friends residence, rooms spacious for an ibis, very clean and tidy, good breakfast, even an outdoor area for breakfast, and parking( at a charge) , main reason to stay this ibis would be location near the west end of munich, not to mix up with the London west end, quite not the same. Will see me again when fitting to schedule!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank multiflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Having been a little wary of booking anything in the Hauptbahnhof area and feeling Marienplatz hotels were a bit expensive, we opted for the Ibis in Westendstrasse as our base
The location is only 3/4 stops from the Hauptbahnhof on the U-Bahn and the hotel itself is straight outside the exit, so easy to find.
We arrived late on our first night but the staff kindly offered to cook us some pasta even though the kitchen was supposed to be closed at that hour.
Rooms were clean and beds very comfy. Price wise was usual for Ibis rates.
Overall very pleased to have stayed in this hotel and would happily do so again on future visits.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Just got back from a trip to Germany,Austria,Switzerland,and France. We flew into Munich Airport then took the U-Bahn/subway to Central Train Station. From there you can go anywhere on subway or train. The Station is large and not the easiest to get around in, however there is an information booth where the passenger trains come into the station. There is also a EurAide desk that is very helpful and can answer your questions. It took us a while to find it.
We stayed at the Ibis City West Hotel which was on the S-Bahn/subway line. It has a stop less than a block from the hotel. The hotel was relatively inexpensive, clean, the beds comfortable and the rooms small, as you find throughout Europe.
Munich is well worth seeing especially the City Center and you do not need a car while you are there.
We took the U-Bahn back to the airport the third day to pick up our rental car which we dropped off in Frankfurt before our return to the States.
We enjoyed Munich.

LarryPatandWally

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LarryPatandWally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
5.8 mi away
ibis Styles Munchen Ost Messe
1.1 mi away
Ibis Muenchen City Arnulfpark
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - Westpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ibis Muenchen City
Ibis Muenchen City
#90 of 385 in Munich
1,910 reviews
1.4 mi away
K+K Hotel am Harras
K+K Hotel am Harras
#32 of 385 in Munich
845 reviews
5.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Munchen Ost-Messe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Muenchen City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Muenchen City West

Address: Westendstr. 181, 80686 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#44 Family Hotel in Munich
#56 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#66 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £51 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Muenchen City West 2*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Muenchen City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Muenchen City West Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing