We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient, practical, surprisingly attractive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Muenchen City West
Ranked #78 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 16 April 2014

As others have mentioned, a plus is the location right next to a metro – if you choose the right exit. But even if you choose the wrong one, you’re just a short walk from the hotel’s main entrance. Reception staff were friendly and helpful.

Originally we’d thought this Ibis was a renovated office building since the bathroom with the neat round door structure seemed to have been “planted” in the room. But our research via Google Maps revealed a construction site and further research turned up the fact that this Ibis was constructed from scratch in 2009.

Our room was very practically designed with room to hang up clothes and unpack luggage easily and the mattress was comfortable. In contrast to some other reviewers here, we found breakfast to be superb with fresh fruit options, good nutritious bread, and cappuccino by the cup from a Spectra machine. We also especially liked having breakfast outside – the weather was splendid – in a tastefully designed garden-like area. Someone smart had chosen chairs and tables that did a wonderful job in creating a kind of oasis just off a very busy main thoroughfare.

We hadn’t expected more than a typical Ibis experience and were thus surprised by the combination of inexpensive practical accommodations with a special designer touch.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GermanJody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 1,221 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

I was in this Ibis Hotel for one night. Everything was clean and I liked the design very much. It looks quite modern. The breakfast was good. I don't like the kind of bathrooms they have, but that's just my opinion, at least it was clean and in the end that's what matters the most. The main disadvantage is the location. But if you take the Metro you get to the center in about 10mins. So all in all it's as my title says: good value for money

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pekkaxcv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Compact room with decent sleeping comfort and shower (after changing room). TV offers broad range of international channels and WiFi works good. Economy furniture and simple storage room. It's really intended for short stay. I did not use the restaurant services; always try to catch something in the neighbourhood. The hotel surroundings have really nothing to offer; in a radius of 2 km, the best I could find is a family-pizzeria (other side of railroad; through tunnel) and a coffee at the gas station next door (here one can buy refreshments for your room!). U-Bahn entrance 50 meters from hotel; which brings you in downtown in less than 10 minutes.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlyingDutchmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I've spent only one night in Ibis München City West. The reception team was really nice and kind! they helped me a lot with train connections the next day! the rooms are clean and already with the new Ibis-furniture (flat screen, bed....). Breakfast was adequate (different types of bread, they even had smoked salmon). the breakfast room was comfortable and big enough to eat without disturbance. I totally recommend the hotel although the location of the hotel could be better.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wassergeist86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Ibis beds are just the best and for all the rest..clean, modern, everything works, smells nice, staff really friendly and helpfull, can print and access pc for free..what more. location great..right next to the underground.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank basnong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Tidy, modern & quiet room with plenty of storage space, bathroom is clean and functional. Breakfast is good, plenty of choices. Free wifi, limited to lobby area though. Very nice and helpful receptionists who all speak fluent English. Location, it’s a bit out of the way but is only a few stops from Karlsplatz on metro U4 or U5 which takes 5 – 10 minutes. The metro station is right next to the hotel. I’ll for sure return to Ibis Muenchen City West next time I’m in Munich.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jad0reV0yager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The hotel has the usual Ibis quality and then the usual good price but moreover it's located just across the metro station! It's ideal to visit city center. Maybe breakfast should be better. Wi-Fi and parking are not for free!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fmereg14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
5.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Munchen Ost-Messe
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - Westpark
5.8 mi away
ibis Styles Munchen Ost Messe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ibis Muenchen City Arnulfpark
1.4 mi away
K+K Hotel am Harras
K+K Hotel am Harras
#35 of 387 in Munich
860 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ibis Muenchen City
Ibis Muenchen City
#89 of 387 in Munich
1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Muenchen City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Muenchen City West

Address: Westendstr. 181, 80686 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Munich
#56 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#66 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £52 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Muenchen City West 2*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Muenchen City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Muenchen City West Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing