We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty long walk from train station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Eurostars Grand Central
Ranked #44 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Sungnam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty long walk from train station”
Reviewed 1 June 2011

This hotel was brand new, spic and span, spacious with great decor and I loved the king-size bed!! We didn't mind the see-through wall, as we were a couple, but the hairdryer didn't work very well and I had to have it replaced. We were here for 2 nights and usually, in most hotels, they will replenish your soap when cleaning up your room. There was also no shower cap in the bathroom. I feel this hotel is suited more to businessmen than to families.
We also felt the walk from the train station was quite a distance, especially when you're hauling luggage.
Apart from that, with proper directions, I would recommend this hotel to others!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SungnamGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    655
    129
    35
    17
See reviews for
252
530
64
301
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Modern and beautiful rooms! Excellent location with free parking just along the streets. The staff at the front desk (Ms Katelan?) was really friendly and her laughter was so contagious!! Makes the stay all the more wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripT0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Well, this is the first time I have written a review where I have absolutely nothing bad to say at all!
Excellent location. Easy to get to from the airport (Munich) and then the nearest train stop. 20 minute walk from the city centre. Staff very friendly and helpful. We arrived a couple of hours before check in but the room wasn't ready yet so they looked after our bags for us and talked us through how to go into the city centre etc. Very nice room - huge king size bed. Decent pillows - slept like a baby! Very clean. Bathroom spotless. Yes, the wall between the bedroom and bathroom is patterned glass/perspex and you can sort of make out the shape of the person in the shower but to be honest I guess if you are sharing a room with someone that is not really an issue. Breakfast was a little hit and miss (if you want a cooked breakfast) but we did not pay full price for breakfast (deal on last minute was £6 day pp) so not an issue for us i.e. it was worth that. If you cannot get a deal and are not too bothered about eating as soon as you get up I would recommend giving the hotel breakfast a miss and walking either into the city centre or walking approx 10 minues to the Hauptbahhof central station where there is a Starbucks, Coffee Fellows and all sorts of bakery stalls for pretzels etc.

Travel information:
Directions to Eurostar Grand Central Hotel from Airport by train:
If you are coming from Munich Airport, get on the Blue line S1, take to Hackerbruke train stop. You need a Partner Day Ticket Entire Network (approx €20) if there is more than one of you. You have to validate the ticket in the blue ticket validation machine (it puts a date stamp on it) The journey takes about 40 minutes. You can then use this ticket for the rest of the day if you want to go into the city centre using the Tram or S Bahn from the hotel. The ticket is also valid on the U Bahn.

Directions to Eurostar Grand Central Hotel from Hackerbruke station:
Eurostars is less than a 5 minute walk from Hackerbruke train station. Go up the stairs, turn right, cross over the bridge and pass the little shopping complex with a restaurant and Lidl that will be on your right. When you come to the light at the intersection, turn left and Eurostars is 1 minute away on your left.

The hotel's location is superb. Only 30 meters from the Tram lines 16&17 that takes you directly to the city center (Karlsplatz is the stop you need). To go into the city centre you want the tram stop on the hotel side of the road. To walk into the city centre takes approx 20 minutes – turn right out of the front of the hotel and basically keep walking in a straight line. The hotel can give you a city map and a Tram/S Bahn/U Bahn map.

You need an Inner District Partner Day Ticket if you want to get the Tram or S Bahn into city centre from hotel – approx €9.80. This will also cover you all day for the U Bahn.

http://www.tripadvisor.com/Travel-g187309-s303/Munich:Germany:Public.Transportation.html

When getting the train back to the airport you have two options – the S8 or the S1. If you get the S1 you need to board at the rear as the train splits at Neufarn but there are announcements on the train in English explaining this and the screen on the platform also gives the message in English. “Next Stop” announcements on the train and tram are also in English.

The link above is useful for confirming stops and you can also get the train timetable so you can plan ahead which train you need to get back to the airport.

At Hackerbruke station there is a ticket machine and blue ticket validation machine on the platform.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank GypsySarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Non functionaln air condition in rooms and conference rooms. I had to keep a window open at night(lucky in this regard i had poor and raiyny cold weather during my stay) and felt like a grilled bratwurst in the conference room! :(

We asked for help in the conference room but nothing helped.

Very nice hotel in all other aspects. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommysollen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpool
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a few nights away to sample the riches that Munich has to offer. The hotel was of a good quality, the lobby and public areas were clean, bright and well kept.
Our room was on the back of the hotel looking over the courtyard. It was a great sized room with lovely comfortable beds and high quality bedding. The bathroom was dark by design (black tiles throughout) but nice enough. The shower was fantastic! It had several high pressure settings and was brilliant after a day trailing round the sights. Other than a pair of ladies undies (found behind a radiator) which traumatised my husband for the weekend the room was clean to the eye.
We had breakfast included in the price and it was a lovely spread of cooked items, ham, cheese, rolls, pastries and appealing fruit and juices, served in a light, modern breakfast room. Breakfast was served by friendly, polite staff who were tolerant of our limited German language skills.
For the price we paid I feel we got a great value hotel. The position of it was about 10-15 minute walk from the main train station but the links with all parts of the city were extremely good. Tram stop outside and u-Bahn station a couple of minutes away meant we could get around easily.
A great time, would definitely re-visit Munich and the Eurostars Grand Central

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grannysquaresgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Rooms are funky and modern. Excellent value hotel, only down
Side is it's not really walking distance Marian platz. Otherwise can't fault it.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

This is a solid hotel. It is not five-star, full service, but it is clean, crisp, stylish, comfortable and just a solid place to stay.

We were in Munich for only two nights and did not want to spend the outrageous prices being charged by some of the more up-scale hotels as the purpose of the trip was to see as much as Munich as possible in two days. I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel and walked away very very content.

The staff is nice and efficient. I was a bit concerned when we got into the elevators as the feel of the elevators and the hotel corridors was more "motely" than "hotely", but that's actually the charm of the place...it's not a motel, it's not a hotel...it's a solid, clean, comfortable place to stay.

The room was great. It was not huge, but it was a comfortably standard size by US standards, crisp and clean. There was a tiny balcony where you could peak your head out to the street.

The breakfast was also surprisingly good with so many options. I just really enjoyed this hotel and would gladly stay there again.

It's a walk to the center of Munich, but it is very close to the train station, making it quite convenient to visit the outskirts of the town as well.

I also have to say that Munich is such a lovely town. I had absolutely no interest in visiting Munich, but as we had to fly through Munich to get from China to Prague, we decided to spend two nights. I am so glad we did. It is a charming, beautiful town to which I would love to return. Also, you MUST go to the restaurant down the street from the hotel (turn right when come out of the hotel and it's across the street on your left had side) and sit in the cellar of the hotel! What an experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMCSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.7 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#32 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
0.8 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Eden Hotel Wolff
Eden Hotel Wolff
#39 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
0.6 mi away
KING's HOTEL First Class
0.6 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#10 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Grand Central

Property: Eurostars Grand Central
Address: Arnulfstr. 35, 80636 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#24 Business Hotel in Munich
#26 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#33 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eurostars Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Grand Central Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing