We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality hotel near train and tram stations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eurostars Grand Central
Ranked #47 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quality hotel near train and tram stations”
Reviewed 10 November 2012

The eurostars grand central is a good choice if you want a comfortable hotel in a fairly quiet location within easy reach of the heart of Munich. The hotel is fairly new and is well equipped. Rooms are spacious with super king size comfortable beds and coffee/tea making facilities.
On the top floor is a small swimming pool and sauna which are open till late. The pool is adequate with loungers for relaxing by the side of it. The sauna is mixed but be aware, most users when I visited it were naked, so if you don't want to see people's private parts don't use it.
There is a tram station right outside the door which takes you direct into the town centre and hackerbrucke railway station is just around the corner less than five minutes walk way.(hackerbrucke station can be used to travel directly to the airport or main Munich station)
If you do not want to use public transport it is a 15-20 minute walk into town.
Staff spoke good English and reception staff were knowledgeable and helpful, the bar adjacent to reception was quiet and expensive, the staff there were slow. We were offered a free drink voucher at check in, we bought a beer and a gin and tonic which would have cost nearly 15 euros far too expensive, so we did not use the bar at the hotel again during our stay.
We caught a train from the main station in Munich to Salzburg Austria which took just two hours to get there and cost just 28 euros return for two adults, the public transport in Germany is excellent and I would recommend the use of it to explore further, Salzburg was well worth a day trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzielou665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    661
    130
    37
    17
See reviews for
254
537
64
302
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Comfortable beds, free wifi and very good breakfast are te strengths of this hotel.
Early morning check in was no problem at all.
Gym could be better equipped, they also have a pool, but did not test it.
Meeting room and meals in meeting center were also on good standard level.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasuto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

The Eurostars Grand Central is a good choice for travelers who don't mind being a bit away from the touristic heart of Munich - around a half hour walk to Marienplatz, for instance. Rooms are nice, although the semi-transparent glass wall separating the shower from the bedroom may not be to all tastes, except the most liberal. Housekeeping was erratic, at best, and requests often had to be made to replenish basic amenities, such as soap, facial tissues, etc. The hotel follows a strange policy with regard to laundry, namely, that the guest is required to physically bring it down to reception rather than simply leaving it on the bed as is the case almost everywhere. Breakfast was fine, although uneven from day-to-day, and the breakfast room staff seemed more interested in chatting among themselves than doing anything useful. On the positive side, the hotel is new, and so rooms are clean and in good order physically.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardRiyadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Pros:
Nice, modern place. Spacious rooms, well equipped, including complementary coffee set. Nice indoor pool. Small, but well equipped gym.
Very good breakfast, with wide selection of food to choose from (bit disordered however, during 'rush hours', including lack of cutlery…).
Location OK, right on a Tram stop (lines 16 & 17) and "S" train station (Hackerbrücke stop). 3 stops from Munich central train station (Hauptbahnhof) and only 5-6 stops from city center and main attractions (Karlsplatz Stachus & Marienplatz). Very convenient. We stayed 3 nights, for Football match and used public transportation day in-day out all around the city, not being worried about parking issues.
Housekeeping and cleaning above average. We got all we asked for in short time. Also, asked for, and got high floor, in order to avoid street noise.
Cons:
Area is boring, business like, with no nearby places to dine or shop after dark (LIDL Supermarket, bakery and coffee shop opens daily in Hackerbrücke train station).
Bathroom's glass partition (between bathroom and bedroom) is annoying, not to say distorted! When bathroom lights are on, this transparent partition is nothing but a distraction for both, the person who uses the bathroom, and the person in the room.
We finally covered part of the glass with bed sheet.
Staff's attitude could be better. I've asked few question, looking for information but felt like being impatiently served.

Transportation Tip, for two persons or more that are traveling together: City Tour Card - 3 Day Partner Ticket for the entire network.

Room Tip: Stayed on the 5th floor (top) so got both, nice view and no street noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam-Visits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
155 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Great location, clean, good breakfast. Booked the room for two twin beds, and got one bed. Reception managed to change the room. The bathroom is enclosed by glass, so my son and I had to look the other way while showering.

Room Tip: See if you can get one not facing the Main Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAS57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

A group of eight from the United States and Italy met at the Eurostars Grand Central in September for Oktoberfest. We booked the hotel months in advance and were thrilled with the location, cleanliness, delicious buffet breakfast (18 euros each) and friendliness of the staff. One of the four rooms that we booked was for 3 persons. We expected little more than a roll away added to a standard room to accommodate 3 persons. We were delighted with our 3 person room # 118- a suite with a separate bedroom, a pull out sofa and 2 bathrooms!
The Eurostars Grand Central is easy walking distance to Oktoberfest and the downtown attractions and added significantly to enjoying Oktoberfest.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoDaker52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We stayed here for two nights during Oktoberfest. It is close to both the train station and the Oktoberfest grounds. Check in was simple however they only have garage parking at 18 euros a night. If you don't want to pay for parking you have to find the very rare parking spot around the hotel. We booked a room for three people and it seemed a bit small considering it was a king size bed with a cot at the foot of the bed. As long as the third person doesn't mind sleeping by the feet of others the sleeping arrangements are ok. The only problems with the bathroom is that the towels were very coarse considering the amount you're paying for the room. The breakfast is mediocre if you're able to wake up for it. The biggest problem is when checking out you just want to hand in your room cards and leave but they throw you a surprise. According to the hotel you still have to pay 10% of the total cost of the hotel stay. They only charge you the initial 90%, so they don't make checkout easy and if you're on a budget this little surprise might affect the rest of your trip. Overall the hotel seemed a bit overprice for the quality you get but the location helps. Although our stay was mostly trouble free, next time I wouldn't stay here and spend it at a place where the price reflects its quality.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.7 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#32 of 383 in Munich
1,083 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
0.8 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 383 in Munich
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#10 of 383 in Munich
828 reviews
0.6 mi away
KING's HOTEL First Class
0.6 mi away
Eden Hotel Wolff
Eden Hotel Wolff
#41 of 383 in Munich
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Grand Central

Property: Eurostars Grand Central
Address: Arnulfstr. 35, 80636 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#24 Business Hotel in Munich
#27 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#33 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Eurostars, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Eurostars Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Grand Central Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing