We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel with excellent access to central Munich”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eurostars Grand Central
Ranked #46 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Loango National Park, Gabon
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good business hotel with excellent access to central Munich”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The Eurostars Grand Central on Arnulf Strasse is far enough away from the city centre to be quiet in the evening but has excellent tram and S Bahn connections the tram stop is on the street a couple of minutes from the front door, the S Bahn station (Hackerbrucker) is 2 stops from the Haupt Bahnhof and connection to all S and U Bahn lines in Munich, the Haupt Bahnhof is a 15 minute level walk from the hotel. The hotel is relatively new so therefore the rooms and facilities are still in prime condition, the rooms are clean but I found the housekeeping to be a bit patchy with the number of towels and bath robes changing daily and the resupply of shower gel etc placed in the sink! The hotel has a sauna, small gym and swimming pool on the top floor so relaxing after a busy day is possible
The breakfast buffet is very good and I would recommend going for a B&B rate as it is excellent value for money and the closest place to get a coffee and brotchen is round the corner at the Hackerbrucker S Bahn station. They do evening meals as well but who eats in a business hotel in a city like Munich and as the Augustiner Bier Keller with probably the best beer, huge portions and Octoberfest atmosphere is about a10 minute walk from the hotel it is a no brainer.
To be honest I was pretty much running out of options for a hotel in Munich when I booked the Eurostars Grand Central but having been once I would definitely stay there again, the staff are all very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The rooms are well sound proofed so even one facing the street is not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Major99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    664
    130
    37
    17
See reviews for
255
538
64
303
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
chicago, illinois
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I spent 4 nights at this hotel in April 2013 as it was the location for a work meeting.

I couldn't have asked for more
- quick and easy check-in, including being able to get into my room before 12pm after arriving from a transatlantic flight. Being able to clean up before heading out for the day was awesome.
- Great room - contemporary, clean, very comfortable bed
- Bathroom - ok, my least favorite thing about showers outside of the US... the love of the partial glass enclosure. Otherwise it was a great bath. Good water pressure in the shower head.
- TV included CNBC and CNN. Yay.
- Terrific breakfast - a nice balance of options to suit a European and American tastes (cheeses, meats, hard-boiled eggs for the former, scrambled eggs, bacon, pancakes, etc for the latter). Plus a great assortment of pastries, fruit etc.
- quiet rooms


As everyone notes - it's slightly outside the old part of the city centre, but it's ~10 mins by tram or s-bahn (including the walk). Very convenient.

My room faced the main road, but it did not interfere with my sleep at all.

Augustiner Keller is an awesome beer hall down the street. It's not like touristy hofbrau, it's a real destination for folks in Munich. We watched a Bayern football quarter final in the Champions league there and it was awesome. Check out the cellar if you go - it's pretty cool.

Room Tip: If you are an extremely light sleeper - request a room away from the main road. It did not bother me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdiddy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

This is a good hotel, it is just outside the main business district of Munich. It is down the road from the main train station and the 17 tram which passes it every 10 minutes will take you directly into the heart of the city

We stayed in a triple room which was still spacious and the temporary bed was a good as the two other singles provided.

Room cleaning etc was very good and efficient, as was checkin, the complementary drink at the bar was a nice touch

Didnt eat there, so many other options in the city I doubt many guests here do

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holeinthehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

One nite stay early April after arriving in Munich.Helpful and efficient check in staff,clean and spacious room.5-10 min walk to S-Bahn station and just a couple of stops to Marienplatz.May be a little to far for those who want to be in the centre of the action,but is very easily accessible to same.No problems staying again or recommending others to do same

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Graeme D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I'm not quite sure what to say. The location wasn't bad but it wasn't great either. Pretty close to the outside beer garden we wanted to go to but not that close to downtown. Room wasn't ready when we got there. Wasn't the best front desk service. Rooms were clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArmySpousechicagoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

We spent one night while in Munich. Was a great place to stay. Location is good, very close to the train station, and only a short ride into Marienplatz. We had a triple room, which was surprisingly large. Rooms were clean, tidy and comfortable. Parking is available, and didn't cost the earth. Hotel staff were friendly and efficient. I would happily recommend this hotel and would stay again.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank nettenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We had a very pleasant stay. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The employees were all very helpful and discrete. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a variety of options and even a live orchestra. Walking from the hotel to the city center would normally take about 20-25 minutes which is not so bad (depending on the weather). The main train station is only a few minutes away, which is really helpful if you are planning on visiting other places outside Munich.
In case you use a taxi, bear in mind that there is another Eurostars hotel in Munich so you have to mention the street.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anastasia1480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.7 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#36 of 382 in Munich
1,104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
0.6 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#11 of 382 in Munich
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
1,576 reviews
0.6 mi away
KING's HOTEL First Class
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Grand Central

Property: Eurostars Grand Central
Address: Arnulfstr. 35, 80636 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#24 Business Hotel in Munich
#27 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#33 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Eurostars Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Grand Central Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing