We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the Octoberfest ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eurostars Grand Central
Ranked #45 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 nights at the Eurostars hotel. Great location for the Octoberfest. Very close to the Augustine beer garden and approximately 6 blocks to the main train station. The hotel was clean and accommodating. The hotel also provided us with a complimentary beverage from the bar. Wifi was available through out facility but best within the lobby/common area. For those driving there is a pull off right in front of hotel for easy check in with the luggage etc. Taxi stand directly in front as well.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank kirbpsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

388 - 394 of 1,490 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

Not too far from the main train station this is a great modern, clean hotel with everything you could need.

The rooms are big enough and despite the proximity to the busy road it is extremely quiet inside. The swimming pool is excellent and the small gym is a nice addition.

The breakfast buffet is excellent with lots to choose from.

Highly recommended all round.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siambient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

I found this to be a modern and clean hotel. It's designed more for business people though. Oktoberfest is walking distance, but Marienplatz is a bit of a walk. I found the staff at the front desk not very helpful. I asked numerous times for maps and local attractions with not much luck. I ended up going into city centre for all that. I've been in a lot of hotels, but this was the worst for that.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PietroV746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Grand Central. The hotel is well located for Oktoberfest, approx. 10min walk. The nearest S Bahn station (Hackerbrucke) is just around the corner so you can easily get around the city. The hotel is approx. 20mins walk from the city centre.
The hotel is the most quiet hotel that I have ever stayed in. We heard no noise from outside or the room cleaners at any time which was great as I am a light sleeper.
The bar is OK but we were there for Oktoberfest so didn't spend long in the hotel bar.
The staff were very efficient & helpful. On arrival we asked for a couple of extra pillows as there were only two in the room. Extra pillows were brought to the room within an hour.
The bed is massive with loads of room for stretching out.
The only downside for us was that the hotel room & corridor smelled of smoke so it may have been used previously by smokers.
The swimming pool is small but we were the only people in at the time so this wasn't a problem for us
If you travel to the hotel via train then get off at the Hackerbrucke station & not the Hauptbanhof as we did. Hackerbrucke is 5 mins from the hotel. The Hauptbanhof station is over 15 mins walk.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dazzydazzlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My two grown up sons and I decided to visit the Munich Oktoberfest and after reading the reviews, decided to stay at the Eurostars Grand Hotel.

Firstly it was easy to travel by train from the airport (S8 or S1) and cost Euro 10.40 each for a single (July 13). Bear in mind the automated ticket machines at Munich airport pay change out in 2 Euro pieces (well it did for us), so try to put just the right amount of notes in!

Exit at the Hackerbrucke station. Go up the stairs from the platform and follow the signs to Finanzamt/ Circus Krone and then turn to the left into Arnulfstrabe just 20 or so yards after the end of the metal bridge. On the left hand side you will see the hotel. 5 - 10 mins easy walk.

The hotel is in spotless condition and the suite we used just right for 3 of us. The service is great too. Probably one of the best hotels I've stayed in. The breakfast looked a little pricy (although I'd guess it would be very nice quality), so next morning we retraced our steps towards the station and you will see a shopping complex on your left near the station with Lidl as the anchor shop. There were several places to have breakfast there.

As for the Ocktoberfest, simply follow the walking crowd - it's an easy 15 min walk and the hotel is just far enough away not to be part of the (erm) madness of the festival! Far too many tourists drinking far too much, but a great atmosphere and we went back several times to enjoy the fun but not to drink in the big beer halls which seemed difficult to get into as they were so crowed - but it was the start of the festival. Keep your wallet safe as my son, who on one occasion was walking behind me, saw a character (did not appear to be a local!) check my jacket packet so fast you could hardly see his hand move - there was nothing in that pocket! Better to be forewarned!

Get a free city map from the hotel reception and walk to Marienplatz and the Victuals Market - the sights are fascinating and the street food in the market area was superb! We also spent our Sunday in the Englischer Garten with the German families - many in traditional dress, enjoying the day. Whilst there, we also enjoyed a beer in the beer garden by the Chinesischer Turm (Chinese Tower) - much more pleasant and authentic than the beer festival itself. When you buy a beer they give you a blue token which represents the deposit on the glass (a common approach) and when you have finished your drink you take the empty back with your token to get your deposit back.

A great few days and a great hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: We had a suite on the 3rd floor which was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Surrey_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed one night and found staff very friendly. The hotel is located a stones throw from Hackerbrucke station which is great if you intend to visit the Oktoberfest as well.

I stayed on the 5th floor and whilst I didn't get time to use the pool but the bedroom was excellent, clean with a floor to ceiling window providing a nice view over Munich. Wifi was free (as it should be) and had aircon that actually worked, so no stuffy room!

After a fitful nights sleep with no outside noise I felt ready for my meetings.

A good well priced hotel for both business and leisure travellers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S3dgley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Great location, pool was so refreshing, modern and clean rooms , the bed was really comfy and had ac and a decent view, sound proof windows so we slept with no problem, the bath tube was cool a d very died rent design , us as a couple loved it but I don't know if I would recommend it to other since it is very visible what's going on thru the glass, no complaints it was a pleasant stay , just the parking was over priced

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Princesssoldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.7 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#44 of 389 in Munich
1,154 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.3 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 389 in Munich
1,768 reviews
3 mi away
Munich Marriott Hotel
Munich Marriott Hotel
#76 of 389 in Munich
1,270 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Grand Central

Address: Arnulfstr. 35, 80636 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Munich
#23 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#24 Business Hotel in Munich
#25 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £50 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Eurostars, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Eurostars Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Grand Central Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing