We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool Design But Subpar Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Eurostars Grand Central
Ranked #46 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Cool Design But Subpar Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2009

Greetings Travelers!

Just got back from a nice weekend in Munich. Stayed at the Eurostars Grand Central. Yes, I agree with plenty of the reviews. The design of the hotel is very trendy, hip, modern, noveau corporate. I liked most of it very well, but a few plants to warm the place up would not be a bad thing! :-) While we were there for leisure, I will note that the hotel is likely a good location also for Corporate Meetings and such. They have meeting rooms, a restaurant, etc. Having English-speaking staff (not uncommon in Germany, btw) is appreciated. Pets are not allowed. Cost _ 120 Euro for the night including breakfast, which I must say was decent.

Okay, now for some details:

1. Location: Close to Munich Hauptbahnhof. It's just a 10 minute walk. There are trams that you can take if you are carting a lot of luggage. The hotel is relatively close to the core of the city (1.2 kilometers to Marienplatz, for instance). So, we were pleased with the location of the hotel, overall. The immediately surrounding area is rather corporate looking and not very residential at all, but it's clean and fine.

2. Check in: The line was suprisingly long and there were just two people working at the counter (when there were three or four computers for hotel staff to use to check in people that were being unused). So, even though they knew they should be staffing the counter more, for whatever reason they determined not to staff it with more than the two who were already there. So, it took almost 20 minutes or more to check in. The person who checked us in was nearly expressionless, if polite. Not much warmth. Not much hospitatlity, as it were. He did offer us a coupon for a couple of glasses of complimentary cava which was appreciated. We certainly did not expect them to be bubbly and faux, but yet, they did not seem too happy to welcome guests to the hotel. That left an odd impression with us.

Rooms: Fantastic! Loved everything that the room had to offer. Superb bathroom. Good products. Great finishes. Modern, clean lines, spotless. Fridge in the room was nice. We did not mind the glass wall between the bedroom and bathroom, but I can understand how it might make those in platonic relationships a bit uncomfortable. It's frosted, though and there is art work that would cover most of your body from an unwanted viewing, so I would not sweat that if I were you. Great shower. Super pressure and the toilet was slightly separated from the sink area. Great lighting, as well. It helps when the hotel, itself, is brand new. We found the room to be very comfortable and attractive. No complaints, only compliments.

Hallways: Tastefully appointed with sleek lighting and nice carpet. They were quiet and well cleaned.

Restaurant for Dinner: Disaster! We had a reservation for a 7 p.m. dinner. When we got there, the restaurant was empty and really brightly lit. Mind you, it was tastefully appointed and set for dinner, but the lighting needed to be backed down. The host was talking to a few people (who we learned later were part of a party that was being held in the private area of the restaurant later that evening --- like around 7:30 p.m.). We waited for about 15 - 20 minutes for the host to acknowledge us and he did not. So, we sipped our cava (thanks to the hotel) and determined that he must really be busy. Then, next to us, there was an English family who had also been waiting for a while. They finally sat at a table.

At this point, the host rather brusquely told them to "move four tables down", with no explanation. The family politely complied. I noted to my partner with body language alone, that the host had behaved rather rudely with the family. After "being forced" to seat the English family, the host just walked past us, ignored us, ignored the fact that we had a reservation and promptly went back to his conversation with the people he was talking with ... before.

We were stunned by this appalling service. He literally walked right by us without even so much as saying hello or asking us if we wanted to be seated. So, we left and had a delightful dinner at a Vietnamese restaurant near Reichenbachstrasse.

BTW - We told the front desk about this service the next day upon check out and it seemed clear that they were as disengaged as the host of the restaurant. No explanation, no incentive (not that one was expected), no follow-up, no expression of surprise or empathy.

Here is how I see it: What happened felt bad. But, it was certainly not catastrophic. It was not the end of the world, so to speak. Sometimes these things happen. We understand. But, when the hotel staff does not particularly care to receive feedback, that's emblematic of an uncalled for hubris. They just did not really care about what happened and oddly enough, they did nothing to make us feel better or to welcome us back. If they had simply communicated with some warmth and understanding, we would have felt appreciated as guests of the hotel. That's all it would have taken, but guess what? It did not happen.

SPECIAL NOTE: I do not desire to be ugly about this potentially one-off situation, so I will still recommend this hotel to you. I only wish there was a "thumbs middle" icon on TripAdvisor, but there is not. I don't quite feel ready to condemn this hotel, but at the same time, while I will say "Yes", note that it's qualified. If ever I went back to Munich, I would stay elsewhere, simply because our memory of the place is not necessarily the most savory.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZestfulLiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    649
    127
    35
    17
See reviews for
253
522
64
300
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2009

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights at the end of October and we couldn't have got a better hotel for the price we paid. The hotel being newly opened is spotless the staff were fantastic very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very spacious and modern everything you needed was there for you including tea and coffee facilities. The hotel is ideally located to the city centre the train journey in is only a couple of mins and the station is less than 5 mins from the hotel. Munich is a fabulous city to visit with lots to see and do the highlight from me was the BMW factory tour and for my wife the Neuschwanstein castle tour. I would highly recommend getting a 3 day pass on the public transport it works out very cheap. If we ever return we will definitely stay at the Grand Central. Oh and the breakfast is amazing everything you could ask for and more!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinker41Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ston Easton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2009

We spent a weekend in Munich staying at Eurostars Grand Central. We booked it as a lastminute.com secret hotel. Fabulous hotel! Very modern and all feels very new. Check in was easy and welcoming. The room was very spacious and clean with an extremely comfortable huge bed. Whilst it did not bother us, some may not like the coloured frosted glass panel between the bedroom and the bathroom.
The breakfast was extremely good and plentiful with a wide choice to suit all tastes.
The location is very convenient for getting in and out of the city centre and feels like a perfectly safe location walking around in the evening. The nearest train station to the hotel is Hackerbrucke
Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suegozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2009

This hotel is easily one of the best hotels I've stayed in. We walked in, and were asked how we were by the check in staff, which was nice after the journey. We went to our room and were amazed! The room was beautiful. The decor was modern, the whole room was spotless, the bed was huge, and the bathroom was beautiful with one of the best showers I've ever had! Only slight problem is that the wall between the bathroom and bedroom is patterned glass, which means you can slightly see thorugh the glass while in the shower. As a couple, this didn't really matter too much, but I'm not sure two friends might be too pleased in this situation!
The location was great, a short walk from Hackerbrucke station, which is a couple of minutes from the centre. There is also a Lidl and a nice bakery just around the corner!
The breakfast was great, lots of good food to choose from, and for us was included in the price. The rates we paid for the hotel were also very good value, you definitely get what you pay for!
I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurameee26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizzyS
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2009

The hotel is done to a really high standard and the staff are very friendly and will help you with travel info. Get the S-Bahn - S1 or S8 from the airport and get off at Hackerbruke station - cost 18 euro for 2. Would recommend however getting a 3 day pass for the S-Bahn as it will save you loads of money and you can go to lots of places. The rooms were spacious, very comfortable, with a safe and cleaned every day. The minibar was well stocked. Lots of choice for breakfast - typical european breakfast choices. The pool and small gym were lovely too.

The Augusteiner Brau beerkeller was 2 mins down the road and there is a small shopping complex next to Hackerbruke station. If you are on a bit of a budget would recommend the Vapiano reataurant where you can get pizza and pasta from 6 euros - bargin considering it's cooked from fresh in front of your eyes and very tastey! It is about a 15 min walk to Marienplatz but very pleasant. and 3/4 mins to the main train station. A pass for the S-Bahn though is ideal.

If you want a top hotel in a good location go for this one. We got a great deal on lastminute.com

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2009

We stayed at Eurostars Grand Central for 3 nights and really liked it. This hotel has just recently opened and is in a great location. We really liked the decor, modern and spacious rooms. The rate we paid included the breakfast which had many choices. Satellite TV had couple english speaking channel and many international channels. Parking was available on the street nearby which was cheaper that paying 18 euros for hotel's parking.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex_msu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.7 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#32 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
0.8 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Eden Hotel Wolff
Eden Hotel Wolff
#38 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
0.6 mi away
KING's HOTEL First Class
0.6 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#7 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Grand Central

Property: Eurostars Grand Central
Address: Arnulfstr. 35, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#24 Business Hotel in Munich
#27 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#33 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotel.de, Eurostars, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eurostars Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Grand Central Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing