We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full marks!”
Review of Das Nikolai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Das Nikolai Hotel
Ranked #235 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2012

I'd forgotten there are hotels like this.. where every detail down to the drinking glass in the bathroom has been chosen with care. I believe the owner of this hotel is on the premises - but even if not, it feels that way. Agree with another reviewer that the entry is off-putting- it is around the corner from the street, and the reception desk does double duty as a bar and a coffee making station. But the genuine warmth of the reception and the charm of the room( I had number 204) make up for that and much more. Breakfast is almost unbelievably sumptuous. Area is full of interesting boutiques and gorgeous Art Deco buildings. (See my report on them at maryaliciatravel.com)

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a nice view over a small park and the double glazing makes them quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 28A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2012

This small boutique hotel is a great find offering excellent value. Well trained, friendly and professional staff. Rooms are admittedly small, however, are very comfortable, well appointed and very cleverly designed to maximize use of space. Add in the surprisingly good breakfast (freshly cooked eggs if you so choose) and you have an excellent base for your stay in Munich.

Room Tip: If staying on weekend, request a room on the upper floors away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank complelledtoshare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

When we pulled up to the Das Nikolai, we were a bit startled: It doesn't look like much from the outside, and the lobby is essentially non-existent—just a work space in a pleasant but somewhat nondescript corridor. But our welcome was warm and our room was 'wow'—not large, but with high ceilings, classic tall windows, and many other lovely appointments. I'm not sure what the other rooms in the hotel look like, but if they're anything like this, you can't go wrong. Happily, the area was quiet and allowed for a good night's sleep. Staff were helpful and accommodating, breakfast was attractively served and fresh, and the location is excellent. And if you're tired of pigs knuckles and sauerkraut, try the Sushi Box or one of the other small but excellent restaurants in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweetwood1075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

From the moment you step into Das Nikolai you feel like you're at home. The hotel just has that comfortable, family feeling and it has a lot to do with the warm, friendly staff. We stayed in Munich for a little over a week with an overnight trip to Austria in the middle. As such, we stayed in two rooms.

The first room was very large and comfortable. There was lots of storage for clothes and luggage. The bathroom was nice with good water pressure and temperature. And best of all was our large balcony overlooking a charming courtyard!

The second room, which we were in for only one night, was smaller but adequate. The only complaint about this room was that the bathtub had a window into the bedroom - a very large and unnecessary window that prevented any semblance of privacy.

The area where the hotel is located is very nice and trendy with lots of restaurants, bars, gelato shops and stores like Zara. There is a supermarket across the street for snacks and the underground station is a 3-minute walk. It's a quick 3 stops to Marianplatz, or you could walk for about 25 minutes.

Lastly, the breakfast is really good at the hotel and I recommend taking advantage of it. Everything is really tasty and fresh - all kinds of fruit, salads, meats, cheeses, bread and eggs on demand.

And once again, I'd like to highlight the staff, especially the gentlemen manning the front desk and the lady who runs the breakfast. They were so friendly and helpful, not to mention knowledgeable about their city. They gave us great tips on Oktoberfest and some restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

My husband and I just stayed at the Nikolai Hotel for two nights. The hotel is in a great location in the Schwabing district, right off of the main street and across from a small park. The U-bahn was a 5 minute walk and three stops from the Marienplatz. From the hotel, the Englischer Garten was a 10 minute walk. The location could not be beat. The room was cozy and clean, the bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was very modern. The staff could not have been friendlier or more accommodating. The breakfast was plentiful with lots of options and a nice array of fresh fruits. You can't go wrong at this hotel and if I find myself in Munich again, this is where I'll stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room 304 - it has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I would give this a 4.5 if available. A lovely small hotel with an excellent location in downtown Munich. Close to the Englischer Garten, Leopoldstrasse and there are many charming shop and home lined streets to comfortably wander without going onto any crowded areas. The staff at this hotel ranks a 5*****, they are gracious, eager to please, professional and delightful. (I left a tip in the room for one and came down to find him putting it in a piggy bank, "We work as a team." is what he told me!) The breakfast is delicious and has great variety and good hours; there is a lovely "common area" room. I would definitely stay here again! I think it could be a very home like atmosphere for both short and long trips.

Room Tip: One of the rooms I was first given was tiny - maybe ok for a one night, but not for a multiple night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auntbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in July at Das Nikolai. I have to say, this was one of the nicest hotel stays we have had for many reasons. Its a nice, small boutique-like hotel in an excellent location.

1. Staff - The entire staff of Das Nikolai (Marco, Isabelle, sorry forgetting a couple of names) was excellent. They were considerate and helpful. They always had great recommendations, and went out of their way to make sure our stay was comfortable
2. Location: The location of Leopoldstrasse is excellent. Metro stops were 5-7 minutes walking, and more importantly there were great restaurants very close by. This helped a lot when we got back tired from a day full of activities. Do try out the Osteria (thanks Marco), and the ice cream places close by. There is a Starbucks and a SF Coffee company close by for those who miss it :). Apart from that, if you need a sim card, there are mobile companies very close by too
3. Breakfast: The best breakfast spread I have seen. The selection was great, the fruits were yum!, the baked treats were super and you were served fresh coffee, espresso (and eggs if you wish). The breakfast area overlooks a street and it is nice to sit in the morning.

The room was good, a little small, but that was expected. The bed was awesome, and the decor was contemporary and really well done.

I am very glad we ended up staying at Das Nikolai. Would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Munich.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TP_Travel_Chronicles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
H'Otello H'09
H'Otello H'09
#228 of 390 in Munich
211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel la maison
Hotel la maison
#239 of 390 in Munich
143 reviews
1.3 mi away
INNSIDE by Melia Muenchen Parkstadt Schwabing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
0.4 mi away
Hotel Biederstein
Hotel Biederstein
#222 of 390 in Munich
58 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hauser an der Universitaet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Nikolai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Nikolai Hotel

Address: Nikolaistr. 9, 80802 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Astoria Hotel)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #235 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £136 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Das Nikolai Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Das Nikolai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing