We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOnderful”
Review of Das Nikolai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Das Nikolai Hotel
Ranked #206 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Spent 2 nights at the hotel on a recommendation by a friend. clean, excellent location. The breakfast is one of the best we have ever seen. The staff were all friendly and excellent. We are going back to Germany next year and will be staying here again when in munich

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bergmaninCDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
There are newer reviews for Das Nikolai Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

Our recent stay at the boutique hotel, Das Nikolai in Schwabing, is all we expected from earlier reviews on Trip Adviser. It sits in convenient and quiet corner just a few steps from the busy Leopold Str, between two u-bahn stations--Gisela Str and Muncher Friehiet--and only a very few minutes ride to the Marianplatz. It is also within walking distance of many restaurants and shops and the English Garden.. I would say the location is as convenient as those in the middle of the city, maybe even more so. The rooms are attractive with a softer atmosphere than the usual colorless German hotel rooms. Rather than two duvet covered beds, this room included a desk, sofa, two chairs, duvet covers, colorful lamps, a small dresser with a pale green color scheme. (very nice for quiet conversations with friends who we had arranged to meet in Munich.) The bath is small, but efficient The breakfast buffet with rolls, breads, eggs, fruit, meats, cheeses, vegetables, yogurt, salmon, jams, and a variety of other spreads is more than ample. Best of all is the very friendly staff, ready to assist at any time of day with any sort of problem. I will certainly stay at the Nikolai during my next visit to Munich.

Room Tip: The location is quiet enough that any room would offer a good night's sleep.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

If you're looking for an independent hotel in a local neighborhood close to central Munich, this is the place for you. We loved this neighborhood (Schwabing), as it was a long walk or very quick subway ride to the old town and was full of shops, restaurants, cafes and beer gardens. It was a quiet location even though you are only 1 block from the main retail and dining street. It is also just a few blocks from the English Gardens, which we enjoyed walking through to reach the city.

We stayed in room 304, which had a great balcony overlooking a small park. It seems like there may be quite a variance in the rooms, so worth paying a bit more for a double and requesting a specific room in my opinion. Service was friendly and helpful and the breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 304 and loved the balcony with a view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite with our son in a rollaway bed. Overall it was a comfortable stay. Room was clean with all the usual amenities although only 1 luggage stand. I would also prefer a door on the bathroom. Although it is no smoking, there was a smell of it in our hallway (no where else thankfully). As others say the breakfast is good and is open for an extended period 7am-11am. Jobst is the most friendly and helpful staff member. Located near many restaurants, a laundry and shops. 3 stops from Giselastrasse U-bahn to Marienplatz. Also on the same line to BMW Welt which is worthwhile (the plant tour - best to book). Booked it based on the positive TA reviews which were a very reliable representation of the hotel as well as location and good value.

Room Tip: Suite is good for a little extra room. We were on 3rd floor over the entry - it was quiet and we did...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Familygdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My husband and I stayed 4 nights at Das Nikolai on the days leading up to and the first day of Oktoberfest. I picked this hotel specifically because it was a little outside of the main square and away from all the craziness that would ensue over the next couple of days and I am so glad I did because they did not disappoint. The young man at the reception (I can't remember his name now!) was there every single morning to help us and answer any questions we had about where to go and getting around town.
The rooms were spacious and clean and as everyone has already mentioned, the breakfast is absolutely wonderful - pastries, breads, a plethora of fresh fruit, meats, cheeses and eggs made to order every morning.
It was our first time to Munich, so we had a lot to learn about the upcoming Oktoberfest but the young man at reception gave us a ton of tips and even printed us out maps of the parade routes and a map of the fairgrounds and the best beer tents to go to. The hotel is situated in a nice quiet neighborhood close to tons of restaurants and cafes and only two U-Bahn stops from Marienplatz. I could not recommend this hotel more - the staff and owners really made our stay in Munich perfect!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank auzigirl03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

The rooms are fantastic, we requested the balcony room as read on trip advisor which was lovely as it meant on sunny mornings we could sit outside. Cleaned and tidied everything every day. The breakfast was incredible and the staff were willing to help in every way. Location is at the bar and restaurant center of Munich and a very short ubahn ride to the city center, plus a short walk to entrances to the englischer garten.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erikakh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed M-F for a conference at the university. Great breakfast (great fresh fruit--berries, melon, pineapple---yoghurt, plus the typical bread, cheese, meat, eggs), really comfy bed. One thing I really liked was the way the owners treated the guests... really competent and friendly. Fantastic location in a cool neighbourhood. Will definitely stay again when I return to Munich.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
H'Otello H'09
H'Otello H'09
#219 of 385 in Munich
203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel la maison
Hotel la maison
#224 of 385 in Munich
133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Biederstein
Hotel Biederstein
#211 of 385 in Munich
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen Schwabing
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hauser an der Universitaet
0.6 mi away
Fleming's Hotel Munchen-Schwabing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Nikolai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Nikolai Hotel

Address: Nikolaistr. 9, 80802 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Astoria Hotel)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £140 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Das Nikolai Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Das Nikolai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing