We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Leonardo Boutique Hotel
Ranked #262 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Just lovely and a great location. Very trendy and clean room, would definitely stay again and soon! Super value too as got a great last minute deal.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doughtycaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
There are newer reviews for Leonardo Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2011

The hotel is well placed near odenplatz and has a very complete breakfast.
And now for the flaws of this stay. All the hotel is badly influenced by design, i.e. the room is small and the bed occupies most of it; the bathroom is small and with a disfunctional shower and washbasin. Adding to this is a poor cleanliness and a price above average.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank istant_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

It is hard to understand why this hotel is labelled as a "boutique" hotel. Its main feature is the lack of space: virtually no lobby, small rooms (with a microscopic table and no chairs), and the bathrooms are just minuscule, to the point of being ridiculous. The elevator is very small too (and old and noisy). The carpet in the corridors is stained. There is no way to have air conditioning to work in a reliable way. They charge internet (4.90 euros per hour) and the connection is very slow. Pluses: rooms are clean, breakfast is good (and the breakfast room is very classy). Altogether, no reason to come back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YouBeeTs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We didnt read the rebiews for this hotel, and we regretted it the moment we got there.
Small and dark rooms. Super small bathrooms, similar tl the ones of cruises ships. We Could hear everything from the rooms next door. Walls were literally cracked. Supposed to be boutique but nothing about this hotel was boutique at all.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank evroth13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Appaling, poor service, poorly maintained, very dissapointing.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tavish2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We booked this without reading any reviews first and mostly because the price was relatively reasonable. I must remember to check reviews first!

It's actually quite stylish and the small size of the rooms and miniature bathrooms can be forgiven considering the fair price... but lack of hygiene is unforgivable:

The first room key we were handed was for a room which was under refurbishment. We returned to reception and explained that all the furniture was moved out of the way for carpet cleaning (?)... The receptionist apologised profusely and we headed to the 4th floor for room #2

Apart from a slightly musty smell it was ok at first sight - until you entered the unpractically small bathroom. It's so small everything is on display. Unfortunately in this case it was a toilet brush that probably should have been replaced 20 years ago. It was covered in unspeakable hideousness, yukk, awful. The bed had the previous visitors long brunette hair. And to top things off the shower leaked soaking half the bedroom carpet (resulting in the musty smell)

I wouldn't come back, even if it's cheap.

If you do stay here - skip the extortionate rate they charge for breakfast and go to the French style bakery opposite instead. That one's lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank styleflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here the first week of August to celebrate our 10 yr anniversary. I had read all of the reviews and knew what I was getting into so I expected it to be small. That it is! We had a regular guest room and had I known about the larger deluxe room I would have requested an upgrade. Size aside, we didn't mind since we were spending most of our time touring and only used the room for sleeping. We never had any trouble with noise (except one night of some noisy neighbors next door with adult activities) and housekeeping never bothered us either. We actually left the sign on the door so they did not come in and we just found the cart in the morning and traded out our own towels. The staff is incredible! The girls at the desk were supper helpful in locating a grocery store, laundromat, whatever we needed. The bakery across the street is phenomenal and the staff there was fantastic. By the third day they had our coffees ready when we walked in the door. The Italian restaraunt next door is just as spectacular! This hotel is in an area of town near a university......it's meant for college students people!......not adults who want the lap of luxury. We are in our early 30's and loved having a return to college days with all of the bars and shops near by. Regardless of all of the other reviews on here, we would stay here again without any question.

Room Tip: ask for the deluxe room if you want extra space!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
das Hotel in Munchen
das Hotel in Munchen
#249 of 385 in Munich
145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#184 of 385 in Munich
167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hauser an der Universitaet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Carlton Astoria
Hotel Carlton Astoria
#212 of 385 in Munich
82 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golden Leaf Parkhotel im Lehel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Adria Munchen
Hotel Adria Munchen
#117 of 385 in Munich
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Boutique Hotel

Address: Amalienstr. 25, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #262 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £58 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leonardo Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A house full of history, revived by a sophisticated, modern design concept welcomes its guests in Munich's trendy district of Schwabing on Amalienstraße surrounded by many exceptional boutiques. Stylishly designed rooms with strong colors characterize the charming Leonardo Boutique Savoy Hotel Munich and give the historic building an exceptional atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Leonardo Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing