We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Leonardo Boutique Hotel
Ranked #268 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 17 May 2010

The location of the hotel is good. Not far from the U-bahn. (Closest is Universitat/Odeonplatz)

The lobby is small but has very modern design. We stayed in Level 1 and our room has modern fittings. Bed was comfortable, shower and toilet are tiny ; room was stuffy. The heater was still on in May (even though the heater in our room has been turned off). We tried to get the reception staff to turn the air condition but they wasn't successful. We ended up having to open the windows .

There is a Thai restaurant next door (Nam Nam). The food and service was good.

We did not have breakfast at the hotel. We walk on Amalienstrasse towards Universitat U-Bahn and there were lots of cafes around there. The Black Bean Cafe has great coffee and free wifi.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highgater1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
There are newer reviews for Leonardo Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2010

We booked this hotel at the last minute as a result of being stranded in Munich because our flight home was cancelled due to the ash cloud. We needed something that was good value when the hotel we were staying in, Le Meridien, would not offer us a reasonable deal on a room although they knew why we needed to stay another night. An avid supporter of Tripadvisor we tood a gamble after reading the hotel was newly refurbished and liking the look of the pictures on their website. We paid 59 euros for the room booking directly with the hotel. It is a small hotel, but has been very recently renovated, our room smelt really new. The room (604) was not large but the bedding was lovely and the towels were superior to those we'd been given in Le Meridien. Our room was spotless with a flat screen TV. There is air coniditioning but apparently it is operated on a seasonal basis and we were comfortable without it. The hotel reception is really lovely and they have an espresso machine which meant we could have a good cup of coffee in the morning (there is also instant coffee and kettle in the room). We didn't try the breakfast which I think was 15 euros.

This is a clean, contemporary hotel which we wouldn't hesitate to recommend. It is about a five minute walk to Odeon Platz to get the underground and there are several lovely bars and restaurants within a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moonbather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

When we got there we were told that the hotel is located in an up and coming area of town. The lobby appears to be newly remodeled so it gives a good first impression. I would have to say that we were slightly surprised by the hotel room. I think that our expectations for the room were more along the lines of what you find in a hotel chain in the States. The room was dated compared to the lobby. The first impression was along the lines of a dorm room with 2 twin beds staggered so each person had some space for luggage. There was a mini fridge and the bathroom was decent if not slightly small. The staff was friendly and very helpful with recommendations for dinning and shopping. The only thing we were slightly disappointed with was the fact that there was no air conditioning or vent in the room and we had to have the window open. The reason this was a disappointment was because at night there was a lot of street noise from cars/trucks and the few bars around and we had the window open because the room was stuffy. To end the review on a good note it is in a good location, only a few blocks from the U- and S-bahn.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

Not like pictures on the internet. Worn carpets, stuffy smelling hallways and room. Antique small elevator. Our assigned room too small for two adults, sink in bedroom. We left our luggage and immediately went looking for another hotel nearby. Upon returning we advised them that we would not be staying and wanted a refund for the remaining two nights, willing to pay for the first night even though we did not use the room. They said no and after two emails to management we have had to replies.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Professionals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

the old building with small rooms not convinient for stay, most of the rooms face two major streets, significantly overpriced

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mborodovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

For the location the price of 51 GBP per night is good value, but the rooms on the 4th floor are in a bad state. This mean smokey smell in the rooms, and below average cleanliness. Cannot have been really decorated since the 1970s. However the bathrooms were newer and showers good. It does tend to be noisy, and in the summer you want to have the windows open. The street is noisy, but also other guests are noisy when they play loud music through the night. Didn't try breakfast as it was 10 GBP each, and there are certainly loads of cafes and bakeries in the same block with excellent breakfasts for half that price. Walking distance to the Pinokathek and Museum Brandhorst, which is great. If you want a wonderful location for a low price, this is a good place to stay. Rooms are small, but that probably goes with the central location. Staff are great. Lift only takes 2 people, which is pretty rubbish in the 21st century!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liveandletlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2009

This hotel, now the Leonardo Hotel Savoy, needs a major overhaul. I gather Leonardo Hotels has recently acquired the property but they have yet to invest.

Reception was old-fashioned with lots of wooden panels and a threadbare carpet. The staff were friendly, but I guess they knew what they had was not much, and they were putting a polite face on it. The old elevator had room for 1.5 people.

Upstairs the corridors were musty. Our room had clean beds, but was very hot. Two sets of windows (really, a window and then another, separate window) opened to the noisy street. It was quiet with them closed but we needed them open to get the fresh air in. The bathroom was tiny and the liquid soap dispenser needed a refill.

The WiFi from restaurant NamNam on the ground floor had a better signal and was cheaper than the hotel's own WiFi.

Breakfast was fine: simple but with enough variation to keep folk happy.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayIss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
das Hotel in Munchen
das Hotel in Munchen
#246 of 385 in Munich
145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#185 of 385 in Munich
167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hauser an der Universitaet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Carlton Astoria
Hotel Carlton Astoria
#215 of 385 in Munich
82 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golden Leaf Parkhotel im Lehel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Adria Munchen
Hotel Adria Munchen
#117 of 385 in Munich
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Boutique Hotel

Address: Amalienstr. 25, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #268 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £61 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leonardo Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A house full of history, revived by a sophisticated, modern design concept welcomes its guests in Munich's trendy district of Schwabing on Amalienstraße surrounded by many exceptional boutiques. Stylishly designed rooms with strong colors characterize the charming Leonardo Boutique Savoy Hotel Munich and give the historic building an exceptional atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Leonardo Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing