We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish, centrally located. Ideal for a city break.”
Review of LOUIS Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
LOUIS Hotel
Ranked #15 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
469 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Stylish, centrally located. Ideal for a city break.”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Stayed for a quick overnighter. Place is in a great, great location in the centre of the city close by to markets and shops – ideal location for a weekender in Munich. Not sure where you would park if you had a car, but that was not a problem for me and taxis. Hotel is very stylish and contemporary. Young, trendy looking staff were very friendly and efficient. Lobby area is small with a bar and seating area overlooked by two modern fireplaces. Cosy. Restaurant alongside is Japanese/Euro contemporary. Didn’t have dinner there but the menu looked very interesting. Breakfast was good, but nothing special. Room was large and modern, with bath/shower, separate WC. Room also had a safe and free wifi for guests. High end toiletries provided (Ren) which added to the whole sophisticated feel of the place. All in all a very nice experience and yes, spotlessly clean. Hotel is part of the Design Hotels Group which specialises in upmarket boutique style places. Whilst not quite boutique, the Louis is small enough to feel like one coupled with some character. Will come back for a long weekend and stay here. What more can I say.

Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Malim27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doina K, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at LOUIS Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear Malim27,

thank you for your comment.
We are very happy to hear you had such a good time at the LOUIS HOTEL and would be very happy to see you again at our house soon.

Kind regards,
Doina Kocherhans
Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    199
    46
    9
    6
See reviews for
115
290
46
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

This hotel is in a great location, next to the Marienplatz and Viktualienmarkt. We requested a room that overlooked the Viktualienmarkt upon booking, and that is what we got. However, you cannot hear much noise from the street and market - when the windows are closed, it is very quiet. The room was very clean and nicely furnished.

Breakfast is good, but expensive. It is a buffet of Japanese-style bites, fruits, pastries, sausages and cheese, and then you can order eggs prepared as you like.

My only complaint is that it is nearly impossible to hear someone knocking on the door, and our maid walked in on us several times before realizing the room was not vacant. Also, laundry services were very expensive.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the Viktualienmarkt
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DixieLee2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doina K, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at LOUIS Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear LBranden,

thank you for your feedback.

It’s true both, our doors as well as our windows are extremely good isolated. The doors are very heavy and thick due to their high fire protection. The windows are on a very high noise protection level, that’s why the rooms to the market are very quiet too.

We would be happy to welcome you again at the LOUIS HOTEL soon.

Kind regards,
Doina Kocherhans
Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugal
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

The hotel is very well located on the Central Market and its stylish decoration and lovely food make it worth staying there. The rooms are very comfortable, with a charming bathroom with window to the room, the pillows and bed covers are not too good, but they're ok, so apart from that the place is great. The breakfast is lovely, gourmet-like and original. Dinner at the restaurant was simply excellent (Japanese/Fusion) and the cocktails at the bar are fantastic. We'd definitely go back.

Room Tip: ask for a room towards the inner patio, not towards the market
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettinaPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doina K, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at LOUIS Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear BettinaPortugal,

thank you for this lovely comment.
We hope to welcome you back again soon at the LOUIS HOTEL.

Kind regards,
Doina Kocherhans
Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We decided Munich would be a great get away for xmas for my partner and I to enjoy a bit of the city, the Christmas markets and a bit of downtime over the holiday season. We specifically chose the Louis Hotel as it came highly recommended and to take advantage of the special offer. We couldn't have been happier with our decision. The staff were extremely helpful and courteous; they provided and made dinner reservations for us prior to our arrival, especially helpful as we did not realise most places would be closed on Christmas Eve as that is when the holiday is celebrated. Our room was absolutely perfect, immaculate, quiet (sound-proof windows) even overlooking a busy square and extremely convenient. Special Thank You to Sandra Ebert from the front office for going above and beyond and making us feel so welcomed.

Breakfast was included and we could not have been happier with the selection, by the 2nd morning, the staff knew how we liked our coffee and eggs! Dinner at Emiko restaurant was exceptional, some of the best Japanese food I've enjoyed outside of Japan and all of the staff we're incredibly friendly and demonstrated a strong understanding of the foods and wine. The bar staff were also extremely knowledgable about all the Sake's and Shochu's on stock and we enjoyed a few late night drinks with them.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Munich, it's well worth the price and you will be treated with respect and made to feel special. Thanks to Louis Hotel for providing a fantastic Christmas holiday!!

Room Tip: We chose the Market Deluxe Room which was very good size, modern, very comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukcurtisnish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doina K, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at LOUIS Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear ukcurtisnish,

thank you for your nice comment! We are very happy to hear that you liked the LOUIS HOTEL and hope to welcome you again at our house soon.
Best wishes also from Sandra Ebert!

Kind regards,
Doina Kocherhans
Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
116 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Llegar a este hotel fue una agradable sorpresa de calidez, comfort, calidad, detalles, buen gusto, y excelente locación …

Locacion: esta ubicado en EL corazón de Munich … desde donde iras y volveras a todos los sitios de interés … frente a la plaza y junto a la Iglesia St Peter desde donde tendras la vista mas espectacular de toda Munich … incluyendo los Alpes …

Hotel: es moderno y minimalista, con una decoración de calidad y llena de detalles de diseño. Calido y moderno, es un hotel perfecto. El lobby lleno de Lounges muy modernos y comodos, el restaurante lindísimo y con excelentes vistas a la plaza. Los pasillos al igual que las habitaciones todos tienen pisos de madera, puertas y mobiliarios de la mayor calidad y buen gusto.

Habitacion: la habitación que tuvimos fue una Superior Courtyard, q entiendo es la mas básica del hotel … fue perfecta, la vista hacia el interior de un patio del hotel era muy linda y a lo lejos se veía la torre de la iglesia. El tamaño fue el adecuado, con un escritorio, una cama doble, un mueble de diseño y decoración excelentes donde estaba la caja de seguridad, la tv y el mini bar … Un closet rebatible ultra moderno, muy practico e inteligentemente usado el poco lugar. Las sabanas y toallas de buena calidad. Todas las noches al hacer la apertura de sabanas, tiraban un spray sobre las almohadas. Productos de muy buena calidad de Amenities.

El bano super moderno, impecable la limpieza.

Atencion: la recepción es super servicial, todos fueron extremadamente atentos y serviciales. En la habitación había frutas y mini cupcakes de bienvenida.

Todo fue perfecto y no dudaría en recomendar este hotel o en volver al mismo si vuelvo a Munich, GRAN hallazgo!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarianaVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Once again the reviews at Tripadvisor helped us choose a great hotel. Location is really important to us as we like to walk everywhere and be in the middle of things. The Louis Hotel is absolutely central - right next to Marienplatz and the famous Glockenspiel, Viktualienmarkt, lots of shopping, restaurants, beer halls and the S-Bahn and U-Bahn stations.

We got to Munich on a train and from the main train station Hauptbahnhof, the hotel was a short taxi ride away. When we left Munich, we could take the train to the airport from Marienplatz station, which is less than 5 min walk from the hotel. We could push our luggage easily even on the cobbled streets.

From the hotel, we walked everywhere - to our Grayline day tours pick-up point, to most of the attractions and sights in Munich, great shopping and best of all, the Christmas markets at Marienplatz is just practically around the corner! There are branches of several famous Munich beer halls within comfortable walking distance - the Augustiner, Hobrauhaus, Lowenbrau etc - and they were great places for lunch or dinner. The famous farmer's market, the Viktualienmarkt, is right at the Louis' doorstep and we bought lots of German ham and sausages to bring home for our family!

This is a hotel that prides itself on being trendy and it does exude oodles of cool vibes - from the young hip and attractive staff members and their streamlined uniforms, to the interesting decor in the rooms especially the nifty designer cabinets, the snazzy music playing in the lobby, the subtle scent in the walkways ... the list goes on. I love Ren toiletries and was pleasantly surprised to have them in bathroom! Loved the heated bathroom floor and the heated mirror which didn't steam up after a hot shower. The rain shower was great as was the clear glass window between the shower and the room which gives your partner/spouse a nice sexy peekaboo whilst you are having a shower!There is no coffee or tea making facilities but the staff will bring a pot of hot water to the room if you ask for it.

I thought the price was fairly reasonable for such an excellent hotel with a modern trendy vibe and friendly staff in a fantastic central location. We couldn't ask for more ...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rach212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doina K, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at LOUIS Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear rach212,

Thank you so much for this nice review about the LOUIS HOTEL.
It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay this much. We would be very happy to see you back soon at the LOUIS HOTEL.

Kind regards,
Doina Kocherhans
Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Oh my goodness me, just back from a weekend stay at the Louis Hotel and I can see why there are so many good reviews on here! Everything wonderful that is written here is true. From the truly central location, ease of access to the S-Bahn & U-Bahn station at the Marienplatz (and therefore direct access from the airport) to the well-designed hotel.

The lobby and bar have a lovely buzz with a modern fireplace and attentive table service from an extensive cocktail list. Breakfast was just amazing – superb quality food, much of it from the produce market outside (the smoked ham is divine!) – freshly squeezed blood orange juice, mango lassi, chocolate croissants. Take your time over breakfast and enjoy.

The bedroom was lovely – the quietest air-conditioning I have ever known (I very nearly rang reception to say it wasn’t working), a thunderstorm showerhead, heated bathroom floor, gorgeous toiletries and a fluffy robe & slippers.

There has been so much attention to detail planned into the design of this hotel you just have to visit it to appreciate it – that said it isn’t a stuffy “you’ve got to be hip to stay here” hotel at all. And weirdly it smells nice too with lots of plug-in air fresheners! Thoroughly recommended for those that don’t like the big, busy 4 or 5-star hotels and want something high quality but more personal.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Firstclasslad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doina K, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at LOUIS Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2011
Dear Firstclasslad,

thank you so much for this wonderful, detailed comment about the Louis Hotel.
We are very happy you had such a good time here and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Doina Kocherhans
Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#12 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#13 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LOUIS Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LOUIS Hotel

Property: LOUIS Hotel
Address: Viktualienmarkt 6, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — LOUIS Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Many great ideas arise from the heart. This is also true for the LOUIS Hotel, located in the heart of Munich, right on the Viktualienmarkt. The elegant Kull & Weinzierl boutique hotel opened its doors in September 2009 – panoramic view included. With one of the most prominent Munich sights right on its doorstep and the others in walking distance, the LOUIS Hotel is the perfect starting point to discover Munich’s opera, theatres, the Maximilianstrasse, the Fuenf Hoefe shopping arcades and the many restaurants. In 72 rooms globetrotters feel at home. Carefully selected details and high quality materials create the perfect place to relax. The handcrafted interior is best described as elegant, high class, modern and relaxed – with great attention to detail. Handmade furnishings from nut and oak wood, natural stone and elegant tiling, that are reminiscent of the Parisian Metro, make your stay an unforgettable experience. There are two additional quite and bright meeting rooms with daylight and a Japanese restaurant & bar, EMIKO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your LOUIS Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing